We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for diving - great house reef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gorgonia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gorgonia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Gorgonia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   International Road 48 KM, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for diving - great house reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Even though I heard several complaints from other people in the resort I can state that I was more than happy with the hotel. The only negative would be the personell with their speed and friendlyness. Yes, it was Ramadan, but especially the personell at the bar were bad.
We had a sea view room right at the beach which was perfect.
The diving base next to the hotel provided everything I needed and I was able to do my 11 dives within 5 days.
Food was sufficient and good. Also it changed regularly.
The animation shows in the evening are not worth visiting.
The pool area is nice and the beach is perfect to relax. The beach is cleaned everyday and due to the set-up you always have privacy.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the animation teams base as it is getting very loud in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    422
    100
    40
    23
See reviews for
404
551
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice and friendly hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, good furnished.
Hotel staff is friendly, helpfull, ....
Cleanless, enough umbrellas and sun loungers
Hotel was almost full but you don´t feel it....
You have no possibilities for shopping, historical center, ....BUT if you know it, no problem. The resort is space. Close to the Wadi Gamal National Park.

Delicious cuisine, 1 main restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants - pizzeria and fish restaurant. International cuisine, every day - egyptian corner. The food is really excellent, wide choice - maybe too wide :-) (many bars)

The local reef wonderful for snorkellers :-) It´s like a dream ....

I heard mostly italian, german and french.

Would go back and would recommend it to anyone...:-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hello again.

Me and my fiance spent a week here after a fabulous cruise on the Nile.

The hotel is not something extraordinary although it was a totally okay place to unwind and relax while working on your tan. The beach is not the white soft sandy beach you would want to find, but a hostile rocky place where you really need to use shoes. The pool is better but it's not a resort for complete relaxation since there are Animators there that, as always, encourages normal calm people to become a nuisance for others.
A guess it's more of a family hotel, and not so much for couples.

It gets a 4 from us, but barely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in May for 2 weeks
So, the best things first:
The outer coral reef is outstanding, one of the best we have ever seen! The outer wall grows and branches in beautiful coral gardens mostly of the porites solida family, hundred of years old, healthy from bottom to the top, reaching 7 metres in height. There are also some nice fire-blade corals, star corals.
Surprisingly the fish variety was poor, maybe depending on the season or overfishing. Anyway we saw some fishes we have never seen before: zebra shark, honeycomb filefish, star puffer,broom filefish, orbicular spadefish. There are hundreds surgeon fish on the top of the reef, some turtles, guitar fish... Not many groups of fish.
The visibility was good on the far left and poor on the right (also depending on the season, they say July is far better, but you have to stand the heat!) due to the cold current catching more the left-north part.
The outer reef is from 150m far from the beach entry on the left-north ( enter at the tip of the small bay past the hotel grounds) to 20m far right-enter at the dive center.
The small book you get in your room is excellent, explaining the reef,entries, etc!
Inside lagoons are murky, the left one is good for swimming, if you are a serious snorkeller, don’t waste your time there, go out, you will be mostly alone!
The wind constantly blows, sometimes strong. It is good, you don’t feel the heat and it is bad, it lowers the visibility, sometimes the sea is too rough for the outer reef. Check the tides for snorkelling!
Diving centre is very helpful and professional, we’ve been to El Qulaan islands, Sharm el Luly, Marsa Figuera.
The hotel: nice big rooms, quiet, little animation (could be even less or none!). The right hand rooms are more noisy due to the generator plant in the vicinity, the staff is very kind and professional- more freely speaking than during our visit to Egypt years before. The inside restaurant is badly aerated and poorly air-conditioned, so we ate outside- not enough space outside,you have to wait for the table.
The food: lots of choice, we avoided the cold starters and salads and nevertheless we got a stomach infection. We were surprised and annoyed, it never happened to us in last 15 years travelling around and eating in low and high places! Possibly we got it in the fish restaurant ( you have a free meal there once a week, if you reserve), from the seafood salad or the nauseating sleazy grouper fillet we only tried. We overheard some others complaining with high fever and vomit,we didn`t have nothing like that,”only” cramps and diarrhoea, cured with homoeopathy, anise tea, gin and 85% dark chocolate in two days!There seems to be an endemic problem in the food chain.
Conclusion: If you are a real reef lover it is definitely worth it !
By the way: In the desert there is a lot of plastic flying around, the Bedouin no longer live in tents, they live now in cardboard shacks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismailia, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

It's really a beautiful hotel restaurants are excellent and the service very good
Administration wonderful people
Beach and very beauty and magnificence beautiful coral reefs
And it is really a nature reserve
Thank you to staff

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

this hotel is relaxing, quiet, good service, beauitful beach, beautiful snorkling, nice people, we played tennis, the pool was heated, animation team left us alone when we said we don't want to join, the fresh towels on the beach, the snorkling guide ahmet guided us through, in and out the reef, and we did a free introducting course kite-surfing with mohamed on hamata, a half hour beautiful drive away. very good kite-spot, trendy, a lot of kites, nice people again, good intstructor charlie, our daughters were very enthusiastic. very good place this hotel to have a nice quiet week with also al lot of activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Worth the drive from Marsa Alam airport for the peace and tranquility of this location. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Beach was quiet with separated bed with own wind break. (the only down to here is a frequent wind)

The grounds are beautifully maintained and everywhere was clean. The restaurant had a good choice of food each day and it was well presented and prepared.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
49.4 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
69.1 mi away
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort
68.6 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#2 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 mi away
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
#37 of 69 in Marsa Alam
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
29.2 mi away
Fantazia Resort
Fantazia Resort
#13 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shams Alam Beach Resort
Shams Alam Beach Resort
#24 of 69 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorgonia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorgonia Beach Resort

Address: International Road 48 KM, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gorgonia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Gorgonia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgonia Beach Hotel Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorgonia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.