We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location but spoiled by constant noise and repetitive menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Reef Red Sea Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Reef Red Sea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Reef Red Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 km North of Marsa Alam City | 40 KM South of RMF, Marsa Alam, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice location but spoiled by constant noise and repetitive menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were the only Brits there, most of the guests being Italian, French or Polish. The location is perfect - picture perfect beach, big pool (only part of it heated) and nice and green. The rooms are large and clean, but don't expect five-star quality. Unlike larger resorts e.g. sharm, the rooms are all within 3 minutes walk from the beach/pool.

The food: there is a large buffet restaurant with outdoor and indoor seating. The food was very repetitive but edible, and no-one in our family got ill. Every day there is a pasta station offering the same 2 sauces, a buffet with a rice dish, very chewy meat and overcooked chicken, and sometimes a lasagne (with added food colouring to look like the italian flag(!)). The salads are great, and there is a soft drinks vending machine that you can help yourself to. Lunch and supper were basically the same (except thursday evening is egyptian food night, but don't expect anything authentic or particularly tasty). Breakfast is bread and sweet cakes, and eggs cooked as you want. This got very tedious.

The one thing that drove us crazy, though, was the noise. The animation teams (there seemed to be one for each nationality) were constantly playing loud pop music by the pool and by the beach. It was so loud that the two different tracks could be heard at the same time, and even in the room with the door closed! If you want a peaceful trip, look elsewhere.

We didn't snorkel off the beach but we did wade out a long way. The sea is very shallow until the drop off, which can only really be reached at high tide, unless you are extremely thin or don't care about destroying the coral (i.e. don't). I dive but I didn't use the on-site centre because if you're not italian it would not be much fun. Instead a short and nice walk left along the beach will take you to marsa shagra, an 'eco-diving resort' which has a large and very organised diving centre, and where i would stay if i came back to marsa alam, which i would definitely want to. The house reef is great there and they offer excursions by boat or bus. I don't know anything about the food, but the emphasis is on diving and accommodation is very clean and comfortable, but basic if you're on a tight budget.

In conclusion, if you like loud music and are not fussy about food, blue reef may be for you (especially if you are italian, as the resort is clearly set-up almost exclusively for italians, with all the signs is the language etc.). If you want a quiet break with some beautiful diving or snorkelling, go next door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    476
    140
    58
    25
See reviews for
202
417
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Spent a single night over this 4 (???) stars resort. The room had very (very very) poor quality. We've been missing the tap water all the night long and the bathroom was terribly stinking.
The reception didn't help at all while we pointed out these discomforts
the buffet restaurant had the same poor quality of the room.
Beautiful landscape and beach

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Blue Reef hotel is a very good choice if you plan a dive trip or a quiet holiday in Marsa Alam.The resort is small, very clean,with a beautiful garden and built in arabian stlye.Rooms are big,comfy,have a terrace with a nice sea /pool view.The house reef is amazing,the long beach very clean .If you want to reach the drop off to the house reef,you need to walk a little , but it is worth.(don't forget to wear shoes)Dive spots around Marsa Alam are 'a must' for every diver.(dugongs,giant turtles,barracudas,dolphins,sharks).The dive center is just in front of the hotel,the people there very nice ,friendly and polite.The food was very good(don't forget to check every evening the BBQ corner).Everything was fresh ,clean and delicious.Missed vegetables at the breakfast tough,but they were in a huge amount at lunch and dinner.Bottled water was not included(you can buy it at the bar or at the shop just in front of the hotel) No,WIFI ,only one computer with internet access in the lobby.Hotel staff,very nice,polite and friendly.All in one ,I had a very nice stay and I would recommend this hotel to family with kids,divers ,but it isn't really a holiday place for young travellers(a little bit boring at nights).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

i was there for a diving trip. the diving center in the resort is small but people working there were nice and really willing to help. unfortunately we were few divers and was not possible to arrange dives in elphistone, but the dives arranged were anyhow good. the resort is small, nice and clean, and has a really nice reef in front of. unfortunately you have to walk in the water for more than 10 minutes to reach the drop off (remember to take a pair of shoes to be used there, rocks and fishes are not really nice under feet...). real con: italian animation was too noisy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The hotel is a normal one with nice and really clean rooms and dependencies. Is situated directly to the Red Sea beach. I stayed here for one night because I came from Aswan in the way to Hurghada. I paid for a double room with half board included directly to the reception 60 EUR / night. The room had a nice sea and swimming pool view, It was realy big with a nice terace and with a big bathroom. There are two swimming pools, hotel have a private beach and parking for free. The food was average but we find something to eat and drink.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Reef Red Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Reef Red Sea Resort

Address: 20 km North of Marsa Alam City | 40 KM South of RMF, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#25 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Reef Red Sea Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WIFI is Extra Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Reef Red Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Reef Red Sea Hotel Marsa Alam
Blue Reef Hotel
Blue Reef Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Reef Red Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.