We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Golden Lion Country Inn to your Saves list
Golden Lion Country Inn
East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a group of 13 ramblers walking the coastal path we were booked in to eat for Saturday night. Our meal was pre-ordered from a menu with a varied selection. My onion soup was the best I've had eating out and my hake was cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and efficient with a good selection of wines to choose from.

The bar area was very lively with a live band, but that didn't intrude on us chatting whilst dining and added to the atmosphere for a Saturday night.

We would thoroughly recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    53
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What can I say? The accommodation was lovely, very comfortable indeed. The pub was very busy, but, it was a Bank Holiday weekend. The food in the resteraunt was the best we had had out, for a long time, and the service off all the waitresses was second to none. We would thoroughly recommend it. We love Newport and normally rent a cottage, but decided to go down for the BH, and when I enquired there was by chance a room, what luck! If staying in Newport elsewhere, just book in the resteraunt for the food alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely country pub, full of cosy nooks & crannies! It was a lovely day, so we sat in the extension/marquee section which was great on a summers day, but had heaters ready for evening and the colder months! There's also a chilled and airy restaurant section, cosy local-style pub, and plenty of outdoor chairs & tables to suit everyone's fancy/occasion. Food was really tasty and plenty of it! Slightly off the beaten track, a little gem, definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a tour group with Dragon Tours and 7 of us just stayed one night. Spotlessly clean and very modern rooms (although a tad small). Nice pressure and hot water with shower. I was in room 10 and very quiet (near the back), so a good nights sleep. Very nice staff. Breakfast was fine – a selection of yoghurt, fruit, juice at the buffet, and then we ordered a veggie or full English breakfast. I did not eat dinner there, but a few in our group did and said service was very good – it was very busy so you need to make reservations. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 10 is near the back and quiet - single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As the title suggests, a pleasant stay in this characterful Inn that is conveniently placed for what Trefdraeth (Newport) and north Pembrokeshire has to offer. Stayed for two nights, wined and dined on the first. Food was excellent with service elements being very efficient and extremely friendly. Breakfasts provided excellent starts to the day, again served in a pleasant and efficient manner. The beer is certainly commendable. Bedrooms are modern, well presented and spotlessly clean. There was an issue with our allocated room (see room tips), but it was more of an annoyance than a problem, but it did affect sleep quality on the first night with the kitchen extractor whirring away in the background until the small hours. Safe parking is provided across the road. I would recommend this Inn and hope to return sometime in the future, as do other members of the group we were staying with.

Room Tip: Room 3, the kitchen extractor is adjacent to the window so noise and slight cooking smells can be an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful B&B a very short distance from the coastal walk. Excellent, modern rooms with nice design and great bathroom. Very friendly, personable staff. Excellent restaurant (make reservations) and pub. Would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Lion Inn for one night while walking the Pembrokeshire Coast. The en-suite room was comfortable with modern finishes and decor, with a large bathroom. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant and received very good service. The food was excellent with many items to choose from. It was larger than the B&B's we had been staying at previously, so it lacked that personal touch, but still a very good experience overall. We would recommend this spot to others who are interested in staying in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Country Inn

Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 4* by the Welsh Tourist Board. Located in one of the most attractive villages in North Pembrokeshire, The Golden Lion lies within the shelter of the Preseli Hills and only minutes, on foot, from Newport Bay with its estuary and wide sandy beach. The hotel offers accommodation to suit a variety of travellers including families, couples, singles or groups. All fourteen rooms within the main hotel are en-suite with colour televisions and hot and cold refreshments. The hotel boasts a very popular restaurant where residents take breakfast and dinner is served from 6pm till 9pm. A variety of bar snacks can be obtained from 12am onwards. The Golden Lion has a very well stocked bar which offers a good selection of beers, lagers and real ales and also has an extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lion Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Country Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Country Inn Newport
Newport Country Inn
Golden Lion Country Inn Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.