We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Catering Apartment - Daughters pre wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hengoed B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport -Trefdraeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hengoed B & B
Save
You added Hengoed B & B to your Saves list
East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY , Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
free sandwich lunch
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Self Catering Apartment - Daughters pre wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We could not wish for a better nor well provided for apartment. We were delighted and enjoyed a great stay. The owner was extremely generous and helpful. They even helped with preparations for our daughters wedding nearby. Thank you. Dave & Margaret

Room Tip: Hengoed has the apartment and B&B rooms. All very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stallingborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We were lucky enough to be able to return to Hengoed early this autumn. Nothing has changed really - same delightful location, comfortable, pristine accommodation and a pair of fabulous hosts who seem to be as fond of dogs as we are. Our dog Pearl loves staying here with us in the special annex. Cath and Brian will always go that extra mile for any of their guests. A very special couple in a very special town in a very special county. We can recommend them highly having been several times, indeed we would come more often were it not for the long distance we have to travel from the east coast.

Room Tip: Can only speak for the annex we have used but when we have met other guests they seem to rate the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We stayed three nights at Hengeod this week and had a really nice time with Brian and Catherine as Hosts. They made us extremely welcome and kept us entertained with local tales and suggestions on where to visit.
We would thoroughly redcomend this B&B for your stay in Newport.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

while Catherine was gone on holiday, Alex took care of me for my one night stay. She couldn't have been more warm, welcoming and friendly to a lone walker on the Permbrokeshire Coast Path. The small, compact town of Newport reflects the ambiance of this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spent 6 enjoyable nights at Brian & Cath's , Hengoed B&B. The idea of having optional 1/2 (cereal,toast,fruit,yogurt etc) or a full cooked breakfast (including fresh eggs from their own chickens) suited us and we thought it a great idea. Brian and Cath were lovely hosts, very welcoming and provided all the information needed to explore the area. We had the downstairs room which had a lovely kitchen adjoining the bedroom.
Would definitely recommend Hengoed
Margaret & Dave

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering room for 4 nights and I have to say it was lovely. Clean comfy modern and well kitted. With lovely friendly hosts. We had spent a week in a similar set up in Little Haven which was much more expensive but far inferior.....we really loved it...hope to go back soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We received a lovely welcome from both Brian and then Cath, and the room was lovely. Very friendly atmosphere! Many thanks to Brian for the brilliant breakfast (highlight for vegetarians: bubble and squeak!) and to Cath for the yummy lunch packet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hengoed B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hengoed B & B

Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hengoed is in a prime location, close to the centre of the ancient town of Newport, Pembrokeshire. The accommodation is stylish, clean and comfortable; affordable luxury. Our breakfasts are an optional extra, a leisurely affair, a feast of local produce. Brian is a Welsh speaking native of Newport and between us we have an immense knowledge of the local area, we can help you discover our area. We are recessed off the A487 with good free parking. From the front door you can follow a footpath down to the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path and explore the Nevern Estuary, the Parrog and the beaches. Or walk the other way and in less than two minutes you will be standing outside the Golden Lion, a pub with an exceptional restaurant, continue up the road and you will see Newport Castle, St Mary's Church, a selection of shops and more cafes and taverns. Newport, Pembrokeshire is small and beautiful. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hengoed B & B Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hengoed B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.