We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimate with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Lion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Golden Lion
East Street, Newport, Dyfed, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
01239 820321
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bordeaux
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“intimate with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

the pub is very homely, with good parking facilities opposite the pub. the interior is well done and has a nice atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.There is a nice area at the back the pub with an airy room with plenty of seats. Reservation a good idea. the food was vartied and tasty. The shredded beef in soya sauce was exceptional as a starter and so was the green curry. the price was reasonable for pub food and i definitely would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    61
    27
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the best pub meals I've had in along time, fish cooked to perfection, great service on a Saturday night when the place was packed to the rafters. Very varied menu and great atmosphere, the bar was bouncing but the restaurant was calm oasis and we didn't feel in the least bit rushed to finish our meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have visited this pub on a number of occasions and the food is usually of a high standard. However the manager is sometime quite rude, she tends to break off conversations with customers to talk to staff. Some training in basic communication skills would probably help.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed our meals and the service was very good although they were very busy at the time. My husband had the Farmhouse platter and I had the fishcakes which were delicious. The presentation of the meals was very appetising and I am surre we will visit again before our holiday is over..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We ate here over and over again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

There are numerous pubs in Newport, but this one is the best. Any of their fish is excellent. There is lots of outdoor seating as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.