We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

4* WTB Sunny Retreat Cottage

Sunny Retreat Cottage from Garden
Sunny Retreat Cottage from Garden
Sunny Retreat Cottage from Garden
Hallway to Lounge
180 Miles of Incredible Wild Coast Path to Explore from the Cottage
Another exterior view of the Cottage
Warm and Lively Open Living Room Space
Newport -Trefdraeth
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yvonne w
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dream location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

amazing cottage fully equipped with everything, stunning views from the balcony fields to the back and the sea to the side.
massive garden which our dog loved, 10 minute walk to the beach, milk and welsh cakes on arrival.
management couldn't do enough for you.
will definitely be back

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the views and location
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2013
Thank you very much for coming to our dream location.
So glad that you and your dog loved it and enjoyed that quiet 10 min walk to the beach down the little lane.
We look forward to you coming again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
stueyt
1 review
“Amazing cottage, location and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at this cottage for a week last October and it probably was the best place we've stayed in wales, let alone Pembrokeshire.

The cottage was a very short drive to the beach or if you love walking like we do it's not far at all. The view from the grounds of the sea and coastlines are fantastic.

The cottage was well furnished and the real log burning fire was a nice treat after our walks around Newports coastline.

It appears the owners and management had taken alot of time and pride to make this a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it for anyone wanting a nice relaxing time. 5 stars all round!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2014
Thank you for coming in October. Each month has a precious quality. In October I love the long beach walks with so few people, the vibrant display of heather on the mountains, The streaks of low light and sunsets over the sea, the baby seals seen from the cliffs and log fires at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
pophaz82
1 review
“Peaceful, comfortable and in a beautiful part of the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at this lovely cottage during the coldest time of the year so far. With the snow covering the fields and mountain behind and the stunning clear views over Newport bay out of the window it was just magical and cosy with the log fire lit. A real home from home with everything you could possibly need. Just what was needed after a hectic festive season.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2014
Thanks for coming in winter. There are special moments in the rare times of snow. One wants to take a ton of photos as the light can be amazingly clear, with stark long shadows and subtlety in colour and hue. An exciting time and cozy at home with the log fire and heating under your control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Suzy W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here over New Year's with some friends. The location is beautiful and the cottage itself is charming and spacious, but a couple of issues prevent me from writing a glowing review.

The first issue is owed more to inconsiderate guests I suppose then the management, although you would expect them to check these things. When we arrived there was some rubbish left scattered around by the previous party and the kitchen utensils hadn't been washed properly, just shoved in the cupboard while still dirty.

Second – On the first night we noticed it was a little chilly to say the least. The next day we received a phone call saying that someone had siphoned the gas from the outside gas tank, so we would not have any heating bar the log fire upstairs. The management came while we were out and provided us with just one heater; not enough to keep 5 people warm. Upstairs was very cosy thanks to the log fire but those of us sleeping downstairs froze at night!

There was also very limited hot water, a hot shower was seemingly out of the question as it ran cold most of the time, while a hot bath worked well but you had to wait around for an hour for the water to heat up before you could run another, again not great when there are 5 people waiting to have a wash!

I am not usually one to complain, none of these issues were 'appalling' - we were determined to have a good time and they did not ruin our stay. BUT… we paid a lot of money for this trip and for the price we paid you just don't expect to be left cold and smelly! Without the issues it would definitely be a very enjoyable stay and I do recommend the cottage in itself; providing it was heated, clean and with ample hot water!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The garden & living room
Liked least: The lack of heating & hot water!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2014
Thank you for sending the review. This was the very first time in 26 years that the oil has been stolen as the crime rate is virtually zero in this area. Since then a lock on the oil tank and back up storage of oil has ensured that this never ever happens again. It was unfortunate time of New Year being both cold and having a delay in getting the next oil delivery being a problem. I am most sorry about this and offered a discount to the person booking in the future as an apology. The group that was in The Rectory at the same time as yourself came again this year and had a fantastic time. Also the cleanliness is usually of a very high level as we have a manager that checks the cleaning. At intervals, every item in the kitchen is put through the dishwasher. The Welsh Tourist Board would not keep giving me 4 stars every year as they check all of these details. True we cannot do this every change-over so again I apologise that it was not perfect. My offer holds into the future that any of your party can return with a 15% discount. Welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sirpa a
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Breathtaking views to the sea and mountains. A very powerful feeling of nature there is so inspiring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The cottage is locating close to an ancient village with a castle. Exellent shops, pubs and restaurants are easy to get by car or walking. We loved sunbathing on the south facing deck in complete privacy. We admired the mountain which we had hiked over earlier in tha day. We took the footpath over the fields with my friends and their dogs. We were very impressed how many fabulous walks we could take right from the cottage also to the seacoast. The large garden, spacious deck and an easy comfortable furniture made it very convenient to have young children and dogs on holiday with us. We will be returning many more times "to our second home" as we feeel it. We notice each year that there are some improvements like better furniture, more flowers around, kitchen equipment and details that make the place feel loved.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peaceful nature life with all services nearby and lot of things to do or see.
Liked least: Sometimes Welsh weather is surprising.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2014
Thanks for exploring enough to find so many local treasures. There are so many to enjoy. I promise that there are yet more to find. Welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Di W
Melrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“cottage of delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in April 2011

A lovely place - warm and welcoming and so well designed - and somehow being there is totally relaxing. Love being able to go for wonderful walks from the door, and having the coast and the hills within a very short drive. The landscape is vey much part of the stay - and good places nearby to eat and drink of course, though facilities in the cottage are very good.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: waking in morning in fantastic place
Liked least: I wish it was closer to Scotland
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2014
Thanks for sharing your wonderful relaxing experience. it certainly is a treat to go for so many walks to mountain and sea from the cottage.It has been designed with relaxing in mind and getting sun all day, and having wonderful views to the sea, beach, and mountain. So glad that you liked it. Welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Angelslak...
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical Retreat into Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2011

I took some friends to stay at this Magical cottage so we could get some cycling practice for a charity cycle ride we were doing at the end of the year. The accommodation was ample for our needs, with plenty of space to prepare before and relax after our days in the saddle. During the stay we had torrential rain, windy and sunny days and an amazing full moon on a wind tossed night, which we watched through the huge picture windows that allow you to feel fully part of this wild landscape whilst keeping you cosy and safe at the same time. The cottage is so well appointed and we were so comfortable there that we forgot it wasn't actually our home! My friends are as much in love with this corner of Pembrokeshire as I am now and we can't wait to get back for another stay soon.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Huge windows and deck to look at the views, in all weathers!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2012
How wonderful to have you and your friends come back several times now to explore this magic. Good to hear that even in wild windy weather that you can enjoy the cottage as your home and want to come back often. We are happy to have improved several things since you came last; including new furniture and furnishings. The organisation of everything is also getting better as I have now got a larger team to get all aspects of running the cottage and the Old Rectory next door running more smoothly. Welcome back for more fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$115
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Deanna K
44 1239820277
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2007
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing