We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
West Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0TA, Wales
SA42 0TA
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Staff were hopeless didn't have a clue, ordered wine, white and sparkling and got flat rose but the waitress said it was cava it clearly wasn't!!!!. We ordered vindaloo and my fiance ordered madras but they were identical meals...the only way to describe it is like a gravy coloured disgusting slop which had no substance. Starters......were amusing probably bogof from Iceland, definately shop bought. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    5
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The food was so good by pub standards that we returned a few days later. The fish we both had(luckily without batter) was extremely good as were the steak and lamb curry we had on our second visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“wonderful local lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

a great choice of pub / restaurant with a wide choice of good dishes good service and the lamb from the hills behind was amazing 1

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“never dissapointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We eat in the Royal oak serveral times a year for staff do's, birthdays, family meals etc
on this occasion it was my staff Christmas meal , we all had these huge welsh black steaks with all the trimmings , Dean the chef really knows how to cook a steak.
washed down down with plenty of good beer, this is one of the best pubs in North Pembrokeshire to eat in brillant value for money , and a menu to temp any one.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Potentially the worst Indian in Wales - perhaps the UK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Am gobsmacked that anyone would rate this place for food. We saw the chef taking up bags of frozen chips to the kitchen which was an indication of the standard of this pub grub - poor and without care or thought. And the prices were a rip off. Around £12 for a main - and at those prices you would expect decent pub grub.
We ordered two curries - mine was a Balti and it came on a plate rather than in the metal serving dish you'd expect. My husband ordered a chicken curry and I think the chef should be praised for making exactly the same curry - but calling it a different name. The sauce was the same - one was just slightly hotter - and I would imagine they both came from the same v cheap and tarnished tasting jar. Really horrible food and the naan was pretty weird too. At £30 for two crap meals, a diet coke and a beer this was a real let down. Anyone who says this is decent Indian food has clearly been very unfortunate in life - as I can't ever remember tasting Indian food this bad.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.