We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension Hotu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Hotu

Save Saved
You added Pension Hotu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Hotu
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Tuherahera | BP 29, 98778, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Tikehau B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Pension Hotu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

great place to stay in Tikehau. I came to this atol for diving and it was very satisfactory :)
the bungalows are fine with a nice view and setting right on the beach looking at the lagoon with plenty of shade from all the palms and trees around.
alexandre is a great host who knows how to treat his clients and the food is really nice and i ate something different every night i had dinner (4x)
wifi is available but quiet expensive (hotspot-wdg)
personally i think kayaks and bikes should be free for clients but the charged fee for the bike was only little.
also i think staff should daily check bungalows for toiletpaper etc as this would add more quality to your stay and its only little more effort
i would defintely return to Pension Hotu if I would return to Tikewaw ;)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
29
55
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This was our last stop on this trip (and 3rd trip to F.P and to the Tuamotus!) and we felt that once again being in the Tuamotu was like living in paradise (or in the perfect postcard)... All the bungalows are on the beach and have a covered terrasse where you can sit on and watch the sunset. Actually we could enjoy that fantastic view from our bed...

At Pension Hotu we found a very friendly welcome by Vanina and Camille, nice evening meals which we enjoyed sharing at the large table with the other guests (better off with half board as there are no restaurants on the island and most snack places are open only over lunch time and afternoon). Mojito's barbecue slow cooked lagoon fish was very tasty too...

On the Saturday evening we had the pleasure of listening to traditional polynesian music song and played by 2 locals. It was full house at Pension Hotu and there was a great atmosphere (obviously if you speak some French you're likely to enjoy more your stay and share more with the other guests)!
You can also have lunch there (sandwiches as well as grilled fish and the classic tuna tartar, tuna carpaccio, tuna sashimi, Tahitian style fish with coconut milk...).
There is a fridge in the "dining room" where you can keep some drinks cold as there isn't any in the bungalow.

Our bungalow (the one which has the solar panels at the back of it) had 4 (double) beds -all equipped with mosquito nets- and a wardrobe. The bathroom is equipped with a very large shower area, a washbasin and a toilet, nothing fancy but perfectly functioning. No heated water yet, but that's quite common for this kind of place ("pension de famille" /B&B) in the outer islands, but they were working on connecting the solar panels to provide guests with hot water (although I never found water temperature a problem). We were also provided with anti mosquito "coils" to burn either in the room or on the balcony... because mosquitoes will take any opportunity to bite!

There was plenty space to hang up stuff to dry outside on the line on the balcony which was handy since we wanted our diving gear dried before we packed it in the suitcases. It would have been even better if there had been an oversized crate in which we could have rinsed our diving gear...since the Raie Manta Club picked us up and dropped us back at the pension by boat.

As we had come primarily to dive we didn't get the chance to do the day trips they organise, but the guests who went game fishing with Hervé and Mojito had a great day out and looked forward to tasting their catch.
We took advantage of the bicycles to go for a " tour of the island" and go to the village's shop. By the way, the post office hours are very short and only in the morning!
We were told you can use the kayaks to go to a nearby motu with pink sands, but again we didn't get the time to do it... oh well, that's for the next time we go back to Tikehau then!!!
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back there on another visit to Tikehau...
Thank you Vanina and Camille to make us feel so welcome, and to Cathy for sharing her knowledge of Tikehau and Polynesia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our last stop on our 3 week holiday in polynesia.
After having delicious food we were disappointed about the poor quality of the meals provided. Since the island is so small, you pretty much have to eat what they are serving. Example of a dinner: a salad ( think carrot and a squeeze of lime juice), plain rice and a overcooked fish with vanilla, for dessert mixed fruit from a can(!) with whipped cream on top.
Breakfast was baguette and some strange homemade marmalade of mango and banana. Horrible, and not really what your body needs in the morning.

The rooms were basic, and cleaned but felt dirty because of the dry bamboo falling from the ceiling getting everywhere. Our bed was also full of tiny, tiny ants crawling on us making it really unpleasant to go to bed. Water pressure was really weak, something that was very inconvenient since I have long hair and when there is only cold water you dont want to spend too much time in the shower. There was no ridge in the room but there was one in the common area.

The excursions were held by his son, that didnt care about us and barely said goodbye when ee were leaving. We went to bird island and saw some birds do their thing, kind of boring. we also went to see garden of eden wich is like a farm were people grow their own crops etc to escape "modern civilization" and technology. It was a little funny to see the propaganda poster with their spiritual leader, the prophet. It is always interesting to visit a cult. Apart from that, the day was not very exciting at all. I f you have to go, make it a half day tour as the only thing after the pink sable is lunch with smelly fish.

The beach is nice and cean, but not worth going for. If I went back, I would skip Tikehau and go to Rangiroa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The Hotu guest house is probably the best value on the island : simple but nice bungalows that the owners keep on improving, ideal location on the beach, and a most friendly service of the owners' parents. Great food also. a very good choice

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealande
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Lovely beach bungalows right by a beautiful beach facing the lagoon. Very clean and tidy. Alexandre and his nice family make your stay very enjoyable. The food is delicious. Kayaks and bicycles available. We had a great relaxing holiday and hope to be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocatello
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The Pension Hotu is a great place to stay for those looking for a friendly place that is not necessarily luxurious, but genuine. Alex, the owner, is very nice and helpful. The food was awesome. We had great local fish almost every night and it was really good. He made arrangements for a variety of excusions around the atoll. The hammocks on the beach in front of the rooms were nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Hotu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Hotu

Address: Tuherahera | BP 29, 98778, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Tikehau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tikehau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Hotu 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pension Hotu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Hotu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.