We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw, Remote and Just What we Needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kia Ora Sauvage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rangiroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kia Ora Sauvage
Save
You added Kia Ora Sauvage to your Saves list
Avea Rahi Motu, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rangiroa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Raw, Remote and Just What we Needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Sauvage with our two daughters (ages 13 & 14). This was an excellent break with no electricity and no distractions. Fortunately, there are flush toilets and hot showers. The hosts cook three meals a day and there is a full bar. They offer daily snorkeling or other explorations to adjacent motus. They have paddle canoes and kayaks that you can use any time. Reef sharks circle the island and it's fun to snorkel with them - we fed the sharks daily after lunch. The moon and the stars at night were unforgettable. This was the highlight of our 17 day trip to French Polynesia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Not much to add to Dave P and Afvf123 reviews, they explain very well the resort but more importantly the feeling of staying there.

This hotel provides a unique experience you will remember all your life, the moments spent there will keep in sweetest memories no doubt.

The resort is really authentic and charming, this is real luxury, being in paradise and feeling in paradise.

If you enjoy looking at the sky in the night, you will stare for hours, the most beautiful sky I've ever seen, the lack of light pollution makes you realize how much we miss those living in cities.

Compliments to Fisher, Lucienne and the whole team working at the Kia Ora Sauvage, they are key for making the experience as good as it can get.

Regarding Kia Ora main hotel, we did not spend a night there however we spent a few hours there waiting for our plane and also did excursion with them a day before. The resort is fabulous, similar to the best resorts you can get in Bora Bora. The renovation they did in 2011 is excellent, really nice choice if you don't want the sauvage or robinson crusoe's experience. I suggest trying the Mahi Mahi burger, it was delicious.

We did the catamaran excursion with Hiria and Wladimir, it was a wonderful time, both Hiria and Wladimir are great and make the excursion really interesting by sharing all their knowledge about Rangiro's life and natural environment.

Room Tip: All bungalows are just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved it here, we wanted to get away from the tourist crowd and away from civilization for a few days on our Rangiroa trip and we were so happy we found this place!

Scenery: unbelievably beautiful, pristine, untouched . . . like a postcard or a screensaver. Amazing blue water from every window of your bungalow.

Accommodations: very nicely constructed, new bungalows, right on a pristine beach. Very simple but nice. There are only 5, and depending on the season you may have the place to yourself! Also if you have been to the atolls you know that water pressure is generally poor and 'hot' water is often not so hot. Not here, you have strong showers with hot water at the Sauvage! Far less bugs here than the main island too. Note: the bungalows DO NOT HAVE POWER, they give you nice camping lamps for light (oil lamps) in the evenings. It feels good to unplug and just be with your spouse and your thoughts. Very peaceful and reflective. If you get bored with your own thoughts, 1) Bring an LED headlamp for reading after dark, 2) put a few audio books on your Ipod. If you need to charge your camera or MP3 player they have power in the kitchen. You just won't have power in your bungalow. Bring a second battery for camera, you will want to take a lot of pics for sure!

Staff: Michelle and the staff are amazing hosts, catering to your every need. Very good food, sometimes freshly caught from the lagoon that day (staff went spearfishing and brought back some fresh fish!). Full choice of beer/wine/liquor if you like.

Activities: If activities are your thing there are enough to keep you happy for a good 2-4 days - but see below if you came to Rangiroa specifically for diving/snorkeling. Anyways: at Sauvage:

Snorkeling: At the Sauvage there is good snorkeling right on the beach (large coral formations in 3-10 ft waters within 100 feet of your bungalow). You can also find snorkeling up and down the coast if you want to take the kayaks or have Michelle drop you off one or two motus away. But, it doesn't compare to Passe Avoturu or Passe Tiputa on the main island.

Motus: Explore some of the other motus and you'll feel the real 'cast away' experience, just you and the palm trees, no sign of humans. Michelle will even pack a picnic for you if you want to stay a little.

Feo: Also you are right next to the 'Feo' or fozzilized coral, which are unique to Rangiroa I believe. People pay 10,000 CFP for a day-long excursion to see these (google the 'ile aux recifs' excursion and you will see pictures). You are fortunately right next to these formations and can explore as you like. During Lobster season (ask the hotel, I believe Nov) you can supposedly catch lobster right in the lagoon.

Who should go:
Its not 'roughing it', its not 'camping', but you have to be willing to live on the slow side, without endless activities and without electricity and the modernity of TV/radio/hairdryer/etc. If you came to Rangiroa for snorkeling or true diving, recommend you also stay for a few days on Avoturu or Tiputa (the main part of Rangiroa) where you will have much more activities and excursions available. Sauvage the perfect 2-4d detour if you just want to do little or nothing and be by yourselves in the peaceful beautiful isolation of the island.

When to go:
Consult your guidebook or travel agent for ideal. We went in July which is generally drier, little breezy, not too hot but warm (high 80's in the sun). There is a whale season (when whales come into the Lagoon), a lobster season, and a season when the Rays and Dolphins are more active. Check with the Kia Ora or with your guidebook.

How long to go:
2-4d is probably good if you like to see new things and keep active. Go longer if you know you are comfortable with really doing nothing for a while.

What to bring:
1) Lots of your own sunscreen
2) A few of your own samples of medicine for whatever you typically or occasionally need . . . antacid, immodium AD, whatever . . . they probably won't have 'over the counter' medicine for you
3) Small LED flashlight optional
4) Your own mask/snorkel/fins, I think the main hotel (Kia Ora on Avoturu) can lend but they rarely fit
5) Enough books for the time you'll be there
6) Headlamp if you think you want to read after dark
7) Nice DSLR camera (why go all this way to just have crappy pictures?)
8) Waterproof camera, i.e. GoPro with the wrist mount, or waterproof case for your smaller digital camera, or waterproof kodak disposable camera
9) Audio books on your MP3 player for after dark if you think you'll get bored
10) Swimsuit with pockets (if you kayak to the next motu or get dropped off, you can bring sunscreen, waterproof camera, etc.)
11) Good reef shoes (VERY IMPORTANT)
12) Small backpack for exploring around in the day if you want to walk around one of the other motus

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The Kia Ora Sauvage is the last true luxury hotel in French Polynesia that holds true to the sauvage feeling. All the rooms are hand crafted out of beautiful wood with palm thatched roofs. They all have an excelent bed (new after the two year renovation), a beautify bathroom, and a little porch. all 5 bungalows look out onto water but are not over water (the over water bungalow fad has nothing to do how the Polynesians live). All huts have running hot and cold water, no electricity, hence no air-conditioning. However, during our stay there was always a breez. The huts all have petroleum lamps making for a wonderful romantic lighting (which sometimes is a little low, therefore i recommend you have flashlight with you as a backup when you try to find something in the dark).

The food is excellent and if you tell the team running the kitchen what your preferences are then they will try as hard as they can to accommodate you, keeping in mind the nearest settelment is very small and one hour away from the Kia Ora Sauvage.

This is not necessary a place for children since most of the time you have only honeymooners going there.
Ask that they take you to the Motu (atol) Ai Ai, which makes for great swimming.

In my book this hotel has the unique wild feeling with a beautiful execution in the accommodations. I look for hotels that can offer me something authentic and do not need another Four Seasons or other luxury chain hotel.

Room Tip: Normally the rooms with view on the reef have better ventilation from the breeze and the thundering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kia Ora Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Ora Sauvage

Address: Avea Rahi Motu, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Rangiroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rangiroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one hour cruise from the Hotel Kia Ora Resort & Spa down to the south coast of Rangiroa, takes you to the Avea Rahi motu (islet) where Le Sauvage Private Island greets you in a miniature version of paradise. As soon as you land, the legend of Robinson Crusoe becomes true in a setting of 5 traditional bungalows nestled amid the coconut and palm trees. These bungalows have been built in the purest Polynesian tradition while offering high standard amenities. Precious local materials such as ironwood, woven palms, bamboo, coconut, and local handicraft objects have been tastefully integrated in the design of these bungalows. You will be marveled at the sight of the bathroom with its shellfish curtain, coral tiles, stone washbasin all surrounded by live tropical plants. Indeed, an atmosphere of bliss combined with authenticity awaits you at Le Sauvage Private Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kia Ora Sauvage Hotel Rangiroa
Resort Kia Ora Sauvage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kia Ora Sauvage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.