We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to return to Fakarava” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Havaiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl Havaiki to your Saves list
Pearl Havaiki
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rotoava, 98 763, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Fakarava B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Want to return to Fakarava”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

This was my fifth time to French Polynesia, but my first to Fakarava, and I am glad we stayed at Havaiki. You can't ask for a better location. While simple, the bungalow was clean and comfortable, and the mosquito netting very effective. The food was quite tasty, the poisson cru in particular, and there was plenty. But most of all Joachim and Clotilde made us feel at home. We stayed only 3 nights as this was exploratory for us, but we think we made a good friend in Joachim. Next time we will spend a week at Havaiki. I would recommend Havaiki Pearl Guest House to anyone going to Fakarava.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    92
    17
    15
    14
See reviews for
73
222
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed 4 nights in a wooden garden bungalow,perched among flowers and a few steps away from the beach.matresses are confortable.The space available when you are four is kind of limited but in Polynesia ,the action is outside:
Our kids enjoyed playing ping-pong(1 table),kayaking(6 kayaks available),biking(20 bikes )or just frolicking with the friendly dogs.The one and only road is wide,well paved ,vwith almost no traffic, and flat so it a pleasure to ride to the village .
All diving clubs are in the vicinity,snorkeling in front of the pension is not that exciting but there is little fenced area where some big fish are kept in.Anyway the lagoon is beautiful.
For breakfast,they serve baguette,butter,local jam,local fruits,cheese and ham,good orange juice all you can drink ,corn flakes:a rich breakfast according to the Polynesian pension standards.Diner is also quite generous and tasty we had fish of course (mahi mahi,tuna etc...),lamb,always home made desert and for start "poisson cru"(raw fish) is the usual choice but in different versions(different type of fish) with salads.
Owners are friendly and ready to take you on the various excursions,the most impressive in terms of marine life ,being the south pass excursion .(all day long with lunch directly fished from the sea a few minutes before being cooked in front of you.)
The nickname is pearl guesthouse cause the owner started as a pearl producer and jeweller and he displays in the lobby/dining room some of his work:especially nice necklaces.
Fakarava is a real relaxing place,rich in marine life in the 2 passes through the reef.One of our best choice in Polynesia.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

If you've fantasized about staying on a remote island in a natural setting, Havaiki Pearl is paradise found. 6 traditional fares on the beach look out on a spectacular aqua lagoon & the owner's black pearl farm. Free kayaking & snorkeling off their beach, nearby is a scuba center, but the lagoon pass diving is not for beginners. Rooms are very clean, decorated every AM (while you have a delicious French breakfast) with frangipani & hibiscus. Each fare has a private toilet, sink & shower, double bed, single bed, table/chairs. Note that many of the other B&Bs don't have private bathrooms. Get the full meal plan as they're great cooks, with huge amounts of food & a variety every day. Be sure to try the Poisson Cru (like cerviche w/o the chili pepper). They also have a large fare for families. Joachim, the half-English/half-French owner, has a deep sea fishing boat w/ all the safety gadgets. We enjoyed the tranquility, snorkeled & kayaked off the beach. Meals are communal. No car rental. You can walk to a nearby grocery store to buy liquor, bottled water or snacks, but honestly the food is so ample, I couldn't imagine anyone would want to eat snacks! Sun is very intense WATERPROOF SPF 50 recommend. We used Banana Boat Sportsblock & never burned.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed at the Havaiki Pearl Guest House for 6 nights in August 2008. It is an excellent choice for those staying in Fakarava, and a much better value than the pricey hotels.

Breakfast and dinner are included and were fantastic. Breakfast comes with fresh baguettes, jams, cheeses, ham, juice, coffee and tea. Dinner is a 3 course affair and was delicious every night except one (steak was well done). You eat with your fellow guests at a long table. Almost everyone staying there (including us) was a scuba diver using the nearby dive shop Te Ava Nui, which made for plenty of conversation each night.

Havaiki serves lunch as well which you have to pay for, but it was inexpensive and the portions were generous. Choices ranged from simple sandwiches and baguettes to hamburgers, pasta and fish.

Havaiki is in a great location within walking / biking distance to town (they have free bikes to use). We stayed in a beach bungalow which had a terrific view of the lagoon. There is no way to lock the room from the outside which made me nervous, but our belongings remained safe.

Pros:
Delicious food
Great location near town
Great value
Beautiful views
Colorful flowers planted around the property give a nice ambiance

Cons:
Cold water showers -- brrr!
Roosters crowing around 4am were a nuisance
Many mosquitoes and bugs around (hard to avoid though)
No air conditioning - ceiling fan in the room but ours didn't work...

While we enjoyed our stay here, we were definitely thankful to move on to Bora Bora with its hot showers, air conditioning, and luxurious pampering.

  • Liked — Delicious food
  • Disliked — Cold water showers and roosters
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

Pearl guest House Havaiki - I cannot praise it highly enough, simply fantastic locations, lovely room , food quality and the staff made our stay a real treat. Rated by the local as the best pension in Fakarava, the diving was memorable and organised with Top Dive .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pearl Havaiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Havaiki

Address: Rotoava, 98 763, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Fakarava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fakarava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Havaiki 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bungalows on the beach and 3 gardens with a restaurant in the oldest pearl farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Pearl Havaiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Havaiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.