We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rohotu Fare Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Rohotu Fare Lodge
Save Saved
You added Rohotu Fare Lodge to your Saves list
P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rohotu Fare is the combination of all things rare and incredible. Before you arrive at your bungalow, you will be lucky enough to meet Nir, the owner of the property and, in all of our experience, the most accommodating, friendly, unbelievable host that has ever existed. To say that Nir made our entire experience in Bora Bora (both while we stayed at Rohotu Fare and another location) what it was is an understatement. He went out of his way daily for us and assisted us in making our stay absolutely amazing.

As you walk to your open air bungalow, your anticipation will mount as you view all of the other beauty around you. Walking on the cobblestone path through the jungle, passing birds brought in from Namibia, viewing the library that overlooks the water (with a hammock for your use), and seeing the gorgeous Bay below, you can only imagine what your bungalow will look like. And then, when you get to your bungalow, you will be blown away. You walk in to the kitchen area. It is fully stocked with everything you could want to make your stay easier. The bathroom is off to the side. The "tiled" shower floor is surrounded by lush trees and vegetation; it makes you feel like a god / goodess as you shower! The water comes through the hands of a gorgeous and seductive statue and all the while, you hear the birds chirpping. The bedroom, too, is luxurious. The bed is a romantic four poster bed. When you open the double doors to your porch, you can lay in the bed and see glimpses of the beautiful bay. Or, sit outside on your gorgeous teak porch at night while you share a glass of wine and look at the mountains and the water. It really cannot get much better than this.

The location is also ideal. Nir provides you with bicycles so that you can get around the island. It is a 15 minute bike ride to Matira, the most incredible beach that exists. It is also a 15 minute bike ride into town in the event that you want to do a bit of shopping, go to the bank, or purchase groceries. Nir also arranges for a free shuttle to pick you up at Rohotu if and when you wish to go to dinner at night. The location and the help of Nir makes everything easy.

We hesitated to write this review because we want Rohotu to remain our little secret! But, it is too exquisite and too incredible a place for everyone not to visit. You will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a unique experience where relaxation is mandatory, Rohotu is it. You can literally sit in the lounge chair on your porch and listen to the sounds of the island. If you do not know how to enjoy peacefulness and tranquility - to take a break from your cell phone and computer - this is the place to learn how to do it-however, there is wi-fi for email to home. And you will not regret it. There is no better experience and no better host than Rohotu Fare and Nir and we cannot encourage you strongly enough to go there!!

Room Tip: No room is a bad room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We absolutely loved staying at the Rohotu fare Lodge. Nir is a very good host. He does everything for his guests. Nir drives you around the island, when you need to do some foodshopping or if you just want to go to the Beach.

You can even pick some delicious
Sappotille fruits directly from the balcony of our room.

And everyday there were waiting tons of Mangoes in our room.

We enjoyed our honeymoon in our unique room and the beautiful botanical garden a lot.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and my wife spent 7 days in French Polynesia, of which 4 nights were in Bora Bora. Having stayed in Hawaii for over three years, we were no strangers to the welcoming sights of the pacific ocean but the islands of French Polynesia blew us away with its sheer beauty. And so did Rohotu Fare Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised by what greeted us.

We were accommodated in a partial ocean facing thatched roof bungalow - the mesmerizing view of the blue lagoon waters and sunset scene was totally out of this world. It felt awesome. The interior decor was very artistic with a myriad of stone sculptures and wood carvings (we later found out that some of which were done by the Nir, the lodge owner) giving it a rustic ambiance. The surroundings set against a tropical backdrop were so beautiful, we fell in love with the place immediately and my wife wished that she could remain in this paradise forever.

Nir, our host and the owner of the lodge, is extremely friendly and helpful going out of the way to assist us in making our trip the most memorable one we have had to-date.We really enjoyed our stay at his lodge and will definitely return to Rohotu Fare Lodge on our next trip to Bora Bora. We would strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience paradiso.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake forest, calif. usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

You will not be disappointed when you book your stay at Rohotu Fare! My husband and I stay here every time we come to Bora Bora. It’s Bora Bora’s secret Polynesian paradise. You are surrounded by a beautifully decorated garden that contains tropical fruit trees, flowers, orchids, palms and other vegetation that Nir the owner takes great pride in its placement and up keep. There are 3 fully equipped bungalows (1 is family size) located on the hillside. Each has a wonderful view of the turquoise lagoon and the mountain side. The bungalows are comfortable and each are painstakingly decorated Polynesian style. The best feature of these bungalows, are the outdoor showers! You feel like you are taking a shower in a remote part of the tropics under a waterfall, except with your choice of hot or cold water! There is a wonderful outdoor library where you can relax in the garden with a view of the lagoon. There are bicycles for use and of course Nir will schedule for you any type of excursion you desire. Nir has a wealth of knowledge of French Polynesia and with his sense of humor it makes for interesting story telling! This is a family owned and run Fare which provide that extra special touch that make you feel at home and want to come back year after year.

Room Tip: Select the family bungalow to comfortably sleep 3-4 people. For a romantic setting and best view se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My family spent three happy days with Nir at the Rohotu Fare Lodge in April and it was one of the highlights of our trip. All the reviews here are true: the place is a gem, tucked away in a tropical garden on a hillside. Each bungalow is private and peaceful, built with both whimsical and thoughtful touches plus great care and quality. It's not just the facilities that are great - large refrigerator, two ring burner stove, large kitchen sink, fully equipped cabinet with all necessary flatware, coffeemaker etc, it's the little touches, the attention to detail, that really make this place special eg. Nir taking the trouble the wrap the stove's propane tank with material so it looked more elegant - even though it was hidden in a cabinet. Other small but important details including the mosquito coils in small pots, the selection of shampoos and body washes in the bathrooms. Other thoughtful touches are the fruit that you can pluck from your balcony for breakfast, and the enchanting little 'library' where you can lounge in a hammock, get some sun or read a book from the small bookcase -or check your email via wireless internet. Plus Nir was so helpful in taking us places in his Land Rover so we could avoid the high price of taxis. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Bora Bora

Room Tip: Take lots of mosquito repellent. Be vigilant about keeping the doors closed towards sunset and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Wow! No photographs can capture the absolute wonder and beauty of this little slice of heaven. It is obvious to all that are lucky to visit that the owner has poured his heart and soul into establishing this unique hideaway. This VERY reasonable priced accomodation in Bora Bora had it all. Beautiful views, private balcony, own kitchen and unique bathroom. The owner Nir will go out of his way to make your stay memorable. He found out that we wanted to experience drinking from a real coconut and he arranged for his tahitian friend to climb a coconut palm tree and for us and we were able to try real coconut water from a real coconut in Bora Bora - going the extra mile. The bungalows are surrounded by a celebration of tropical flora and with every turn there is something beautiful to gaze at. I highly recommend this slice of heaven to everyone. Beautiful, beautiful, BEAUTIFUL!

Allens - Gisborne, NEW ZEALAND

Room Tip: Just like everywhere esle in Tahiti and other tropical places bring your bug repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I will start by saying that one day in bora I was chatting with a local the works for bora bora diving and that knows most of the places to stay and I have asked her what was her favorite and she immediately respond the rohotu lodge... She didn't knew that I was staying there!
It's an amazing place created by someone that has traveled around the world and tried to recreate is dream accommodation.
For a very decent price you get a very nice room, a kitchenette, an outdoor shower and bathrooom all decorated with amazing taste. You will never forget your showers looking at the stars.
The view from the balcony is breathaking specially later in the afternoon. You will not have a view to bora bora amazing lagoon because the lodge looks toward the town and harbor, but you will have an awesome view of the bora bora main mountain.
The owner is a great traveller that tries to give no less than what we would expect for himself. Is always keen to help or to take you to the supermarket.
Bikes are for free but they are a bit run down. The only drawback of this place is the access road that is very steep.
If you are looking for a beautifull place, comfortable, clean, in the main island and with a great view you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rohotu Fare Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rohotu Fare Lodge

Address: P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rohotu Fare Hotel Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rohotu Fare Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.