We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hidden Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rohotu Fare Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rohotu Fare Lodge
P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
lake forest, calif. usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

You will not be disappointed when you book your stay at Rohotu Fare! My husband and I stay here every time we come to Bora Bora. It’s Bora Bora’s secret Polynesian paradise. You are surrounded by a beautifully decorated garden that contains tropical fruit trees, flowers, orchids, palms and other vegetation that Nir the owner takes great pride in its placement and up keep. There are 3 fully equipped bungalows (1 is family size) located on the hillside. Each has a wonderful view of the turquoise lagoon and the mountain side. The bungalows are comfortable and each are painstakingly decorated Polynesian style. The best feature of these bungalows, are the outdoor showers! You feel like you are taking a shower in a remote part of the tropics under a waterfall, except with your choice of hot or cold water! There is a wonderful outdoor library where you can relax in the garden with a view of the lagoon. There are bicycles for use and of course Nir will schedule for you any type of excursion you desire. Nir has a wealth of knowledge of French Polynesia and with his sense of humor it makes for interesting story telling! This is a family owned and run Fare which provide that extra special touch that make you feel at home and want to come back year after year.

Room Tip: Select the family bungalow to comfortably sleep 3-4 people. For a romantic setting and best view se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My family spent three happy days with Nir at the Rohotu Fare Lodge in April and it was one of the highlights of our trip. All the reviews here are true: the place is a gem, tucked away in a tropical garden on a hillside. Each bungalow is private and peaceful, built with both whimsical and thoughtful touches plus great care and quality. It's not just the facilities that are great - large refrigerator, two ring burner stove, large kitchen sink, fully equipped cabinet with all necessary flatware, coffeemaker etc, it's the little touches, the attention to detail, that really make this place special eg. Nir taking the trouble the wrap the stove's propane tank with material so it looked more elegant - even though it was hidden in a cabinet. Other small but important details including the mosquito coils in small pots, the selection of shampoos and body washes in the bathrooms. Other thoughtful touches are the fruit that you can pluck from your balcony for breakfast, and the enchanting little 'library' where you can lounge in a hammock, get some sun or read a book from the small bookcase -or check your email via wireless internet. Plus Nir was so helpful in taking us places in his Land Rover so we could avoid the high price of taxis. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Bora Bora

Room Tip: Take lots of mosquito repellent. Be vigilant about keeping the doors closed towards sunset and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Wow! No photographs can capture the absolute wonder and beauty of this little slice of heaven. It is obvious to all that are lucky to visit that the owner has poured his heart and soul into establishing this unique hideaway. This VERY reasonable priced accomodation in Bora Bora had it all. Beautiful views, private balcony, own kitchen and unique bathroom. The owner Nir will go out of his way to make your stay memorable. He found out that we wanted to experience drinking from a real coconut and he arranged for his tahitian friend to climb a coconut palm tree and for us and we were able to try real coconut water from a real coconut in Bora Bora - going the extra mile. The bungalows are surrounded by a celebration of tropical flora and with every turn there is something beautiful to gaze at. I highly recommend this slice of heaven to everyone. Beautiful, beautiful, BEAUTIFUL!

Allens - Gisborne, NEW ZEALAND

Room Tip: Just like everywhere esle in Tahiti and other tropical places bring your bug repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I will start by saying that one day in bora I was chatting with a local the works for bora bora diving and that knows most of the places to stay and I have asked her what was her favorite and she immediately respond the rohotu lodge... She didn't knew that I was staying there!
It's an amazing place created by someone that has traveled around the world and tried to recreate is dream accommodation.
For a very decent price you get a very nice room, a kitchenette, an outdoor shower and bathrooom all decorated with amazing taste. You will never forget your showers looking at the stars.
The view from the balcony is breathaking specially later in the afternoon. You will not have a view to bora bora amazing lagoon because the lodge looks toward the town and harbor, but you will have an awesome view of the bora bora main mountain.
The owner is a great traveller that tries to give no less than what we would expect for himself. Is always keen to help or to take you to the supermarket.
Bikes are for free but they are a bit run down. The only drawback of this place is the access road that is very steep.
If you are looking for a beautifull place, comfortable, clean, in the main island and with a great view you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were picked up from the airport by Nir, the owner of the Rohotu Fare Lodge. The reception was very warm. The lodge is up on a slope and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens with lots of wonderful flowers and fruits. Our bungalow was large with elegant dark teak furniture and had a big terrace with spectacular views of the lush vegetation, the sea and Mount Otemanu (the symbol of Bora Bora). The highlight was the great open bathroom with shower lady. When opening the shower tap, there was a jet of water coming out of the Lady's amphora. A delightful shower experience! In a corner of the open bathroom there was also a small kitchenette with a microwave and tea/coffee facilities, etc. It was very practical to warm up something or prepare a small breakfast. On our first evening Nir gave us also some food (biscuits, etc.) until we could buy something on our own. Very kind!
Nir also provided us with free bikes. We twice drove to the nearby village with shopping center, etc. It was a pleasant ride in beautiful surroundings. On our departure day Nir drove us to the boat jetty (super service!) for our onward journey to a Motu.
If we ever will have the chance to go back to Bora Bora, we definitely will stay at Rohotu Fare Lodge. The place is a little gem and Nir is a great host! thanks alot and take care!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Nir the owner has created a paradise away from the beach. I was a little conflicted on whether to stay on the water or at this location. There are just too many overwater bungalows in bora bora now. Considering that they start around $800 and they are basically an overpriced hotel room I could not justify it. I am glad I did not because I stayed in one in Tahiti and regretted the $600 I paid in that location.

Rohuto Fare has outdoor showers that just don't compare to anything else I have ever seen before. Nir, the owner has placed artwork throughout the Pension. He has also created a beautiful garden. Nir was very friendly. He just has a personality that makes you feel happy. Everything was very clean.

The Restaurants will pick you up and drop you off for dinner. Nir will set this up for you. He has bikes for free that allow you to explore the island and go to the grocery store for snacks and lunch if you just want a simple sandwitch. We ate cereal for breakfast as there is a fridge in the bedroom.

The view from the room is great. The deck overlooking the bay is very private and is mostly blocked by plants.

There are a few dogs and roosters that you can hear in the morning but most are far away.

The Tahiti air ferry will take you to the town of Vaitape and then a local tour guide will have a sign Rohotu Fare and pick you up free of charge. The driver does not go up the big hill to drop you off. He will beep and Nir will come down with a car to help get your luggage up. Nir took us to the ferry dock on the return to the airport.

I think it was a good value compared to the other options I looked at. I was able to pay with Visa and the Scuba diving company was able to charge to the room as well.. I don't know if other tours can work the same way.

I stayed two nights but would recommend three. We only planned to Scuba dive but I would have liked one more day to explore but we had two other islands to visit and limited time One of the best beaches is about a 10 minute bike ride away and there are several restaurants in this same area. I think the location is best for Couples in my opinion.

Nir speaks very good English and communication was no trouble at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Rohotu Fare Lodge was for my new Bride and I, and amazing and unforgetable experience. We stayed at the one of Rohotu's lodges for 3 days during out stay in Bora Bora. Rohotu offers three uniquely carved wooden bungalows to provide for a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Perched on the hillside of Bora Bora's main island, the bungalows are hidden in dense foliage, only to unveil themselves a superb view of the lagoon bay below. Nir, the onwer, is a man of unparalleled generosity and will go to great lengths to make your stay a most enjoyable one. We want to thank him again for 3 perfect days. The bungalows are each unique, offer a basic kitchen, allowing you to cook your own food. This helps keep the cost of your polynesian experience low, and we werre glad to be able to cook for ourselves as we had been eating in restaurants for over a week already. The NoaNoa lodge offers an interrior garden in which one finds a open air shower in the shape of a status pouring water on you. The beds are indeed comfortable, and the we found the mosquito nets to add to the romantic experience created by the uniqueness of the bungalows. The sunsets and sunrises are breathtaking. Nir offers your free wireless Internet, and bycicles to get around the island. We will keep the memory of our stay there for many many years to come...

Room Tip: Ask for the NoaNoa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rohotu Fare Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rohotu Fare Lodge

Address: P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Rohotu Fare Hotel Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rohotu Fare Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rohotu Fare Lodge to your Saves list