We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rohotu Fare Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rohotu Fare Lodge
Save
You added Rohotu Fare Lodge to your Saves list
P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Rohotu Fare Lodge was for my new Bride and I, and amazing and unforgetable experience. We stayed at the one of Rohotu's lodges for 3 days during out stay in Bora Bora. Rohotu offers three uniquely carved wooden bungalows to provide for a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Perched on the hillside of Bora Bora's main island, the bungalows are hidden in dense foliage, only to unveil themselves a superb view of the lagoon bay below. Nir, the onwer, is a man of unparalleled generosity and will go to great lengths to make your stay a most enjoyable one. We want to thank him again for 3 perfect days. The bungalows are each unique, offer a basic kitchen, allowing you to cook your own food. This helps keep the cost of your polynesian experience low, and we werre glad to be able to cook for ourselves as we had been eating in restaurants for over a week already. The NoaNoa lodge offers an interrior garden in which one finds a open air shower in the shape of a status pouring water on you. The beds are indeed comfortable, and the we found the mosquito nets to add to the romantic experience created by the uniqueness of the bungalows. The sunsets and sunrises are breathtaking. Nir offers your free wireless Internet, and bycicles to get around the island. We will keep the memory of our stay there for many many years to come...

Room Tip: Ask for the NoaNoa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Bora Bora in general is very expensive so it can be hard to decide where to stay unless cost is no object for you.

My husband decided on this place because of the price, there was a mini kitchen and the photos looked nice.

The owners wife was the only one there when we arrived, she was very helpful and friendly and provided cleaning and new towels every day during our stay. Which surprised us because some bed and breakfasts do not offer that.

There is a beautiful view from the balcony and the rooms have a lot of beautiful woodwork and decoration, but I wish there were some improvements to make it more comfortable.

The property is located on a step and poorly maintained dirt road. On the second day there I slipped and fell down the road because I lost balance and was carrying something in my hand. I am not clumsy and never fall, but was quite hurt before going on a lagoon day trip. I had deep cuts on my toes, shins, knees, elbow and arm. No one had bandaids so it was painful in the sea water that day. Do not stay here if you cannot walk up and down a slippery steep hill, and probably wear runners, flip flops are not good.

The bed is gigantic, it takes up the entire space of the room, so don't bring a lot of luggage there is little room for it inside.

There are not screens for the doors. So if you are sensitive to mosquitoes you'll have to stay under the mosquito net on the bed, or bathe in repellant. I'm really sensitive to mosquito bites so I was bitten quite a bit here compared to the other islands.

The bathroom/kitchen area is outside. There is an awning to protect from rain and a fence for privacy, but it is still outside, so if mosquitoes or creepy crawlies at night freak you out, you may not enjoy this if you need to use it after dusk.

There is no A/C in the room (obviously, it's not a sealed space) and there is one slow moving fan above the bed, you cannot change at all. There was a tiny portable fan that I propped up on the little night stand, but with two people in a tropical place you need more than that. 2 fans, or a bigger fan is necessary, we were sweating all night.

They offer free bikes to use but they are pretty worn, and the foam on the handle bars barely stays on so it's not comfortable to hang on to if you plan on biking every day to town or around the island. You can call for a taxi or rent other bikes though.

We did enjoy the service, the decor and the view it made our stay memorable. It was just tarnished a little from the mosquitoes and the heat at night. We've lived in the tropics before in Costa RIca and Hawaii, but there's either more fans or A/C provided in the bedrooms for a better night sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadur, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is just out of the ordinary!... So amazing throughout the whole place. It is just the perfect place where to stay in Bora Bora for budget-minded travelers. i was so happy my husband and i choose this place because we really enjoy our whole stay, from the destination to the hotel... we can not complain about anything at all.

MY BEST AND ONLY ADVISE: TAKE LOTS OF MOSQUITO REPELLENT WITH U!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Such a beautiful experience! The owner, Nir, is fantastic: he did everithing he could to ensure we had a unforgettable experience during our trip to Bora Bora; the place was very autentic. What I liked more was the fact that you really felt you were surrounded by nature, nothing to do with the other hotels, which felt like thematic-park in comperison. You could hear the sounds of the animals lulling you to sleep....
Very advisable!
Nir, if you read this, I'm Sandra, one of the 4 friens wich were the on november. A big hug & thnks again for everything ;-)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

If you are looking for the atypical place to stay in ritzy Bora Bora, this is it! You feel like are you staying in the jungle with many of the comforts of home. Our spacious bungalow had a full kitchen. The unique aspects include an outdoor shower, outdoor toilet and a lot of funky (erotic) Polynesian art.  There is a roof over the shower and toilet, but it's not totally enclosed, and it's very interesting looking. The bungalow architect and ultimate host Nir is the best!  Since other guests were using all of his bicycles, he drove us to the store, the beach, the center of town, and even to the incredible dancing competition as part of the annual Heiva festival. Taxis are really expensive in Bora Bora. He also set up the island tours and dinner reservations for us.  Nir is a tremendous host and a very interesting person to talk to. He's very knowledgeable and has travelled a lot. He knows everything you will need to know to have a great time in Bora Bora. That's for certain. The most memorable part of the trip was when he not only told us about a tour going to see the total eclipse of the sun nearby, but when he kindly convinced us that it was not something to be missed. This eclipse tour's destination was a very un-populated atoll Anaa taking place on July 11th.  He said we must try to see it at 100%, and not the 98+% that could be observed from our planned destination on the island Moorea. Totality or 100% was critical to get the full effect of such an event, the stars returning in the middle of the day, and the ability to look directly at the sun without special lenses/glasses and see parts of it never otherwise observed. After much discussion, we ended up joining the tour to Anaa. On July 11, along with Nir and two other bungalow guests, we saw the total eclipse on the beach of Anaa for 2 and a half minutes.  It is an experience we will never forget. We would never have gone if Nir had not informed us and helped motivate us to see this spectacular event (for which he received no commission of any kind).  Nir went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a great time. When you do stay at the bungalows, don't forget to bring strong mosquito repellant, sleep under the mosquito nets, and be ready for the wild roosters to crow even before the crack of dawn!  The wild dogs make some noise at night as well. We recommend some ear plugs, at least, or white noise headphones if you have them. We spent 6 days here as part of our honeymoon and we plan to stay there again on our next visit. If we could, we would be back there next week! We loved the island, the jungle bungalow, and our gracious and helpful host Nir! I suspect there's a good chance we will run into our new friend Nir again, chasing another solar eclipse somewhere else on planet earth. Anyone for Arizona in 2012?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We spent three nights here and couldn't speak more highly of Nir (the owner) and his beautiful rustic lodges. If your looking for something a little different from your average Bora Bora experience (i.e. very very expensive super hotels), then this is for you. I'm not sure if you would want to spend all your time here, as part of the appeal to Bora Bora is staying on one of the motu's on the lagoon waters edge and Rohotu is up a hill on the main island. But to break up your holiday (and perhaps balance the cost of the horrific prices of the motu hotels) this is perfect for three or so days. Beautiful landscaped paths lead you to your lodge and there is feeling of being encompassed in a tropical forest hideaway. The lodge itself has a fantastic wooden four poster bed which looks out onto a very private balcony. In the back is an indoor/outdoor gardened area which has a funky outdoor shower plus toilet and kitchenette. The kitchenette, with a huge fridge and freezer was a massive bonus as we could semi cater for our selves so not spending all our money at often over priced restraunts and bars. Nothing beats enjoying cold Rose and french nibbles on the balcony for sundowners, or fresh coffee (there was a machine and ground coffee provided) in the morning while only wrapped in your sarong (if anything at all!). The money we saved we put towards fun excursions like hiring a small day boat for the day to explore the lagoon, which i would highly recommend, the best way to see the lagoon, in private. Nir is also extremely helpful so don't hesitate to ask his advice on anything Bora Bora. Another nice touch is there are free Bikes to borrow to explore which we found really handy for popping to the supermarket or nearest beach (approx 15 mins). All in all this is a fantastic alternative to what is offered on Bora Bora at a very very good price, definitely worth a short stay when exploring the island.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I visited Bora Bora with my husband during our honeymoon. We didn't want to have the "expensive over the water all inclusive hotels" honeymoon package so we started looking on tripadvisor and lonelyplanet websites in order to find something special.
Rohotu Fare Lodge in Bora Bora has been the best pick of our trip!
Nir, the owner, is a very kind and welcoming person. He did an amazing work transforming a piece of land on the hill in a tropical paradise garden with 2 amazing lagoon view bungalows. Every single detail has been chosen with good taste and functionality.
The bungalow we stayed had a lovely wooden crafted bed with an amazing 180 degree view of the lagoon. A nice terrace in the front and a kitchen/bathroom in the back. The privacy is guaranteed.
The bungalow is very clean and Nir has all the devices in order to avoid mosquitoes and insects!
With Nir's help we called every night a restaurant and they came and pick us up at the Lodge (transportation in Bora Bora is not so easy).
The location is amazing too. On the side of the hill on the Bora Bora lagoon, 10 minutes bicycle ride from the amazing Matira Point Beach and 10 minutes from downtown.
The price too is very good and he provided the bicycles for free.
We had a lovely time there and we highly recommend the Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rohotu Fare Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rohotu Fare Lodge

Address: P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rohotu Fare Hotel Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rohotu Fare Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.