We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top but...wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Over the top but...wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came from less awesome places: the rooms (over-water bungalows) are sensational, enormous and splendid. When we arrived the place seemed so vast and groomed and manicured it was almost laughable. The prices for extras are, by any measure, insane. and yet....after 4 languorous and luxurious days we wept when we had to leave. If you can manage to ignore the angst of the prices and relax into the experience it is truly wonderful. Is it worth it? Who can say? With all French Polynesia has to offer -- water, fish, glorious reefs, charm and beauty this is likely among the best. But beware the cost. We went as a family and if we had bothered to leave for dinner on the main island (the hotel is on a motu) the cost of the shuttle boat alone would have been about $240. My husband called it the "penalty" for leaving. But we couldn't be bothered and we had lovely meals in our bungalow instead.
The marine biologist Olivier is charming and inspiring and offers one of the highlight (and best value) experiences. My sons reported the (exorbitant) Jet Ski excursion was their highlight....we mostly avoided the spa and the honeymooners and were relieved to see there were families too.

Room Tip: Further away from the main hotel are quieter but they are further - that's a toss up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Jane - and thank you for the great review! We're thrilled to know that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and that you found Bora Bora to be such a paradise. In this destination, the boats are a very expensive operation, and all resorts have the same challenges with private charter costs. We are, however, very happy to offer a complimentary shared boat to the main island during the day, and an evening transfer at nominal cost. Also, great to hear you enjoyed your time with Oliver in our Lagoon Sanctuary, and that your sons enjoyed their Jet Ski excursion (a great way to see the island!) Thanks again for choosing Four Seasons, and for taking the time to share your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    113
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
177
1,016
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Could not have been more thrilled with the Four Seasons Bora Bora. The service and staff were unreal. The property was gorgeous. It might have been more expensive than some but it was well worth it. We had Custom Tahiti Travel help plan our anniversary vacation and they didn't steer us wrong. Their guidance and the Four Seasons made this a dream vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Tracie! Thank you for the fantastic review, we're so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We love hearing that you most enjoyed our staff and Four Seasons service. Thank you for choosing Four Seasons, and we hope to welcome you back again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was my second hotel in Bora Bora and it is the gold standard. The service as you would expect was exceptional. Concierge service, beach activities, pool-side and beach-side service, spa services - all excellent. While a bit pricey, many thoughtful things are included - even the sun screen! The over water rooms are very spacious.

If I have one complaint it's the number of staff running around in golf carts. One could not walk 100 feet without having to step off or aside on the paths to allow a cart to go by. Frequently, it was a single staff person without guest, luggage or any other baggage - use bikes! We joked with other guests it was like crossing an LA freeway.

Room Tip: Two considerations: mountain view and sunny deck. Only a few have both. If you have to chose, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Ia Ora na GC - thank for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here, and are so happy you had such a great stay in paradise. Great to know that you enjoyed Four Seasons service, the range of activities, our Spa and all the little inclusions along the way. We also appreciate your feedback on the golf carts, and we are working on minimizing traffic where we can! Thanks again and we'd love to see you back here in paradise again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

by far the best resort experience. The hotel location is stunning, the rooms are beautiful, the staff was amazingly friendly. a real treat and a resort I would recommend to anyone who wants to spoil themselves and get some real R&R.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Natacha - thank you very much for the fantastic review! We're so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular the location, rooms and our wonderful staff. We really appreciate your time in sharing this with us, and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Four Seasons in Bora Bora is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff made our honeymoon very memorable and enjoyable! We will be going back in the near future. Frederico was our favorite staff member and really handled his job professionally, but was really personal and warm with us! We highly recommend the Four Seasons Bora Bora!!!

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows are a must when you go to the Four Seasons in Bora Bora!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Ia Ora na Robin! Thank you for the great review, and what an honor to know that Four Seasons was the best hotel you have ever stayed at! That makes us feel great, and we'll definitely make sure Frederico's manager hears your praise for him (thank you for sharing.) Looking forward to welcoming you back to paradise again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

As all the other posts say, this is the most amazing resort in Bora Bora. When deciding where to stay, I looked at other resorts online and always came back to the FS. It is expensive, but I didn't want to miss out on staying at the best resort in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Also, we have kids (8 and 10 yo) and know the FS provides a warm welcome to little travelers. From the minute we arrived and were greeted by name until the boat trip back to the airport, we were in constant awe of the level of service and attention to details here. We were delighted at every encounter. Handsome Frederico greeted us upon arrival and gave us the news that we were upgraded to the Presidential Villa! Wow, talk about a fantastic surprise! The kids had their own rooms (and were thrilled to have a spotted eagle ray stuffed animal waiting for them) the master bathroom was a retreat of its own, the infinity pool overlooks the huge private beach which has an unobstructed view of Mt.Otamanu. Nespresso machine in the kitchenette. We felt like rock stars. Breakfast buffet is good, make sure that is included. Be prepared to spend probably 3 times what you normally would expect to pay for a meal back home. Room service seemed to be the way to go for us (didn't have to get the kids out of their swim suits and into respectable clothes...) the menu was the same (selection and cost) as if you went to the Sunset Bar or the main restaurant, Tere Nui. Fine dining at Arii Moana, the resort's 3rd restaurant, offered a more diverse/adventurous menu but was not up to our expectations. All have the same kid's menu (typical pasta/burger/chicken) for lunch or dinner, just portion size (and price) differ.

Again, the staff is fantastic. Frederico checked in on us daily, and was a preset button on the phone call away. He arranged our dinner reservations and our snorkel/BBQ lunch tour, which was amazing. A must do. Our guide Ramon was the best! He was always making sure my kids were safe and that they got to see the rays and sharks (viewing 8ft lemon sharks was awesome!). He gave them some bread to feed the fish at a coral garden, they were thrilled to have so many fish eating from their hands. He went out of his way to find eels and an octopus during the free snorkel after lunch; we noticed the other guides did not.
My son lost his stuffed animal eagle ray while on the boat from Bora Bora back to the FS, and was visibly upset. Margo and Ami in reception quickly found out what was wrong, and had a new one at our room shortly after. They both were so kind and thoughtful, as everyone we encountered there was- even the other guests! Side suggestion: go to the main island of Bora Bora if only to pick up some food/snacks at the grocery store (Chin Lees) if you want a break from resort prices. Don't bother with water though, as the FS provides unlimited water bottles throughout the resort. Also sunscreen (both 30 and 50 SPF) dispensers are by the beach and pool.
The resort was apparently completely booked solid, but it did not feel crowded at all. The beach area and inner lagoon areas always had an open spot for us. There are only single rows of lounge chairs (and spread far apart), unlike say Maui where there are rows upon rows of lounge chairs.
I can not say enough about this FS. It was the perfect place for a family like ours, honeymooners, empty nesters, etc. If you are thinking of going, GO. Stay here. You will not regret it. The beautiful gorgeous blue lagoons of the South Pacific will stay in your memory forever, enhanced by the incredible grounds (pristinely maintained) and wonderful hospitality of the FS staff. We are now huge fans of the FS Resorts (kids too, they only want to go to FS now, I'm sure this is why they treat the little ones so well).

Room Tip: Beach villas offer a private beach and unobstructed view of Mt.Otamanu
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Ia Ora na Wendy - and thank you for taking the time to share your experience here! We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time in paradise with us at Four Seasons. Great to hear you ventured out for the snorkeling excursion with motu picnic - this is one of our favorite activities and really shows an incredible side of Bora Bora. Thank you for trusting us with your family vacation, and we look forward to welcoming you all back again one day for more adventures in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Myself and my best friend stayed at the Four Seasons Bora Bora for 4 nights to celebrate her 40th birthday. We had very high expectations of the resort based on the cost to stay here and also from the many positive reviews it has received. It certainly didn't disappoint!
The resort itself is stunning. The natural beauty of Bora Bora takes your breath away. The calm turquoise water, most amazing sunsets and the peacefulness of the environment is just perfect.
We stayed in one of the mountain view over water bungalows which I highly recommend. Seeing the mountain and enjoying the sunsets every night was fabulous. The bungalow was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The rooms are very well equipped with iPod docking stations, snorkelling gear, beach towels etc. Stepping out and jumping off the deck into to warm (ish) water was great fun.
The wifi on the resort works very well and can be picked up in most areas.
We enjoyed the most incredible personalised meal on the beach for my friends birthday. The effort that had been made to make this so special really was not wasted on us. We enjoyed everything from the way the flowers had been displayed around the champagne glasses to the beautifully presented food and the wonderful service from the waitress we had looking after us. If you are celebrating an occasion whilst staying here then I would definitely recommend a meal on the beach. It was such a memorable evening. The staff who helped organise the meal for us were so friendly and keen to ensure we had a wonderful night.
On the other nights we enjoyed dining at the sunset bar and particularly liked the Arii Moana restaurant. I am a vegetarian and the resort caters very well for different diets.
We enjoyed the hotel breakfast each morning but found going early was the best time as the restaurant where breakfast is served is small and gets busy and crowded easily. The staff struggle to keep up with replenishing the dishes when it is so busy.
We did a lagoon trip with Oliver the marine biologist which we really enjoyed. After initially going on the trip with him we made several more trips back to the lagoon to see the beautiful variety of fish. It is certainly worth spending time exploring the lagoon.
I absolutely loved Bora Bora and the Four Seasons was a great place to stay. We did have a couple of minor glitches whilst there so we discussed these with the management team and our comments were well received and responded to. It really is worth talking to the management team if you do have any issues that do not meet the standard of the Four Seasons as you would expect.
This is a fabulous resort in the most idyllic setting.

Room Tip: The mountain view over water bungalows are worth paying more for. The sunsets from the deck of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsboraborastaff, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi CLR! Thanks for the lovely review, and for choosing to celebrate your friend's very special 40th birthday with us at Four Seasons! We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your overwater bungalow and private dinner on the beach (isn't that a fun and memorable experience?) and the dining options at the Resort. Also very good to know that you got to meet Oliver and explore our Lagoon Sanctuary, and all the underwater wonders of Bora Bora! Thanks again for choosing Four Seasons, and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On this mystical island with its necklace of white-fringed coral islets, Four Seasons elevates the excitement to redefine South Seas escape. Exotic over-water suites, and beachfront villas with pools, immerse you in ultramodern comforts and the spirit of French Polynesia. Culinary art embraces operatic sunsets over the island’s primeval peaks. Introduce your family to sea turtles. Kite-surf across the impossibly blue lagoon. Spirit yourselves away in a spa by the rolling Pacific surf. Surrender to the liberating service of a luxury resort unmatched on Bora Bora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Four Seasons Bora
Four Seasons Hotel Bora
Bora Bora Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.