We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We would like to thank the Four Seasons Crew for making our honeymoon perfect. After having seen the other resorts on the Island I am very confident to say that The Four Seasons is the best resort on Bora Bora. The Bungalows are wonderful and the whole resort is jaw-dropping. I mean, they even have their own marine biologist to go snorkeling with you in the lagoon (thank you Olivier!). How impressive is that?

But what really made our stay special was the staff! The staff really has hospitality in their blood! We never experienced such attention to detail and such dedication to perfectionism before. Thank you very much for the late check out and the "special suprise" on our last day!

I don't understand the people who complain about the pricing of the food. We loved the food and found the restaurants to actually be good value. For example the mediterranean buffet at only 60$/pp was very good value for a 3 course "all you can eat" dinner, especially when you consider the quality of the food. The deserts were the best we ever had! Don't go for the meal plan that your travel agency will probably be trying to sell you - you might very well overpay.

We will never forget the beauty of the resort and are looking forward to our next stay at a Four Seasons Resort.

Best Regards
DS&AS (Room 306)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on here, and for the lovely review! We couldn't be any happier than knowing we helped make your honeymoon everything you wanted it to be.

We're also happy to hear that you particulary enjoyed your overwater bungalow, the food, our marine biologist Oliver and most of all Four Seasons staff and service.

We hope to welcome you back one day to celebrate with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    110
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
177
1007
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It'll cost you, but they really treat you right at the Four Seasons, Bora Bora. The motu (island) where the hotel is located is private, lush and amazingly situated. The beach is a pristine expanse of white sand, the pool is lovely and there's not a bad view from any of the lounge chairs. The bungalows are without peer -- incredibly well thought out and executed with the highest quality finishings. You will sleep better in these beds than you knew was possible. Get a 5:30 am wake up call and enjoy the greatest sunrise of your life. Take their 1/2 day snorkeling trip with Cristophe. Go jetskiing around the lagoon. Wake up early one day, snag a poolside bungalow and take a long nap after a big buffet breakfast. Go to the sunset bar at 5 pm and watch the sun sink over the main island and light up the sky that surrounds you. The food is really, really good and the drinks are really, really expensive. It's heaven, paradise, a miracle on this earth so if you go, make it for something special and memorable and really take the time to enjoy yourselves.

Room Tip: Bungalow 426, while further from the restaurants and pool had a SPECTACULAR sunrise and was very, ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi there - thank you for the great review, and for taking the time to share this here!
We're very happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed our motu, the beach, the pool and its views, your overwater bungalow, the food and all the activities/excursions (sounds like you did a lot!)

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons, and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything we could have asked for and more for our honeymoon. Already trying to figure out how to come back. Top shelf everything, from service to accommodations. And the food is fabulous. Many different restaurants to choose and all are great. Incredible sunsets. Do you need more convincing?

Room Tip: Save up, but it is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi David! Thanks so much for your review and for sharing you experience with us here.

We're so happy to know that you had such a great honeymoon stay at the Resort - and especially that you're working on a return plan already! We're also thrilled to hear that you particularly enjoyed Four Seasons service, your accommodations, the food, restaurants and of course those beautiful Bora Bora sunsets!

Thanks again for choosing Four Seasons, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and hoping everything back on the East Coast is ok for you after the storm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

What can you say that hasn't already been said? We came here for the main part of our honeymoon and the memories will stay with us forever. From the moment you are met at the airport you are in the height of luxury with nothing too much trouble for the staff. We had an overwater bungalow facing the mountain which was spectacular to wake up to and to also gaze at of an evening watching the sunset with a glass of wine. The flight from Papette into Bora Bora is free seating so make sure you sit on the left side of the plane for the views of the island as you arrive. The pool and beach areas are great with water that feels like a bath it's so warm. Great service from the pool staff continuously bringing round iced water, fresh towels, sorbet or coconut! The food quality is excellent but we felt there could have been more choice of an evening as there was a limited menu at 2 of the restaurants and although a great buffet at the main one, the choices were repetitive. The spa is expensive but for a honeymoon, the couples session should not be missed. There are always plenty of loungers and no one running out to put towels on them! They even have free suntan lotion by the pool. It is incredibly quiet and you do wonder where everyone is of an evening. We were the last people in the bar which closes at 11pm so it's early nights for everyone and entertainment is limited to a Polynesian night one day of the week with an occasional live singer in the sunset bar. Excursions during the day are fantastic. We did snorkelling with manta rays, sting rays, black tip sharks and lemon sharks which was amazing. All the guides are great and really informative. We also did the Love Boat photo session which we found out about onTrip advisor which should not be missed as we got a cd with 330 professional photos of our honeymoon and a fantastic morning on a speed boat just for the 2 of us finishing with a bottle of champagne served in a fresh coconut! Book ideally before you arrive as they get booked up very quickly. Overall we could not fault the hotel, staff or experience. It was a memorable honeymoon andwe would recommend it to anyone lucky enough to come here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Rachel! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, and for the great feedback!

We're thrilled to learn you had such a great honeymoon stay and that you particulaly enjoyed your overwater bungalow, the staff and Four Seasons service, the restaurants, spa and excurions (looks like you really made the most of it all!)

Thank you for choosing us, an again for the lovely review. We hope to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've been all around the world, including the best luxury hotels but I've not seen one such this resort hotel. Beginning with the welcome at the tiny but so cute airport, you are made to feel like you are the king and queen of the world. The nature helps a lot but the resort is the best of all. The staff is amazing; they all know you by name. The bungalows on the sea are awsome and you never want to leave the room or the resort.Just to find something to criticize; most of the time you really want to spend time in the bungalows and the sooner your room is made the better it is. But you really have to wait till afternoon for the staff to come and make the room. You can call the reception and ask for it but why not to put a visible sign in the room like tke ones 'Don't disturb', so that we can hang it outside the door, the staff (they are everywhere ready to help you) sees the sign and gives that room priority. Otherwise, the place is like a paradise. It is expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Bungalows are awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello and thanks for sharing your experience with us here! We appreciate you taking the time to do so, and are very happy to hear you had such a great stay.

We're glad to hear that you particularly enjoyed Four Seasons staff and service, the arrival experience and your overwater bungalow. We also appreciate our feedback on housekeeping times. We like to perform housekeeping based on the guest preference, and will consider additional ways to ensure this.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights last week and enjoyed every moment from the airport boat transfer to the farewell.
The overwater bungalows are beautiful and very spacious. The bathtub overlooking the water with big opening doors enables you to bath and enjoy the view all at the same time!
We were in the last bungalow and swam everyday, the current is there but for anyone who can swim in the ocean it is not a problem and means you are more likely to see sea life.
The staff are all amazing! How they remember your name after seeing you once is beyond me, the pool staff keep you refreshed with water and cocktails all day long.
The food is all good and is not much dearer than a good restaurant in Australia, although I can imagine if you are from the US it would seem expensive. The burger by the pool is possibly the best burger ever!
The Polynesian night was fantastic, the dancers really looked like they loved what they were doing and didn't just go through he motions of entertaining the tourists! The food that night was beautiful too, all the local favourites served in a "family style" to be enjoyed by all the table. Wine was included which made it a good value night! It is also a nice way to meet new friends (honeymooners mostly!) from around the world and exchange holiday stories.
I would make sure you take the snorkelling with the sharks and rays trip. It is well worth leaving the luxury of the resort for half a day to have this amazing experience. We had Robert as our guide and a nicer, happier, and adventurous guide can not exist! His ukele playing and singing were also a highlight as we cruised across the turquoise water.
I can not recommend staying here enough, a travel agent who was staying there also said it is the best in Bora Bora and she had seen all the resorts!

Room Tip: The mountain view bungalows are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
G'day Cally! Thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us here.

We're so happy to to hear you had such a great stay with us, and that you particularly enjoyed your overwater bungalow and bathtub, our staff and Four Seasons service, the food and restaurants (including the Polynesian Dinner Show) and snorkelling in the lagoon!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcme you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anonymous
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Four Seasons is worth every penny spent. From the time you arrive at the Bora Bora airport, you are welcomed by the Four Seasons staff and you are transported into their ferry after they pick up your luggage for you. As soon as you arrive in Four Seasons, you are able to check in 1 minute and then you are straight taken into your overwater bungalow in golf cart. We did not have to wait even a minute to be taken into our bungalow. The staff is so friendly and accommodate to every need and demand you have! The bungalows are out of this world! Be prepared to be blown away by the size, decor, furnishings, and I could go on and on. There are two entrances to the huge deck which is super cool and the views from each of the water bungalows are amazing! You will not be disappointed no matter which bungalow you are in! We were at the beach view bungalow since we did not want deep water and we loved the location and water depth (the furthest beach bungalow is not more than 5.5 feet). We saw the sunrise from our bungalow each morning which was breathtaking. The sunsets which you can see from the walkway is equally breathtaking. Dont waste your money for the mountain view bungalow - trust me you wont be missing out on much because you can see Mt Otemanu from the walkway anytime you want! That's what we did, as soon as we stepped out of our bungalow, we had a breathtaking view of Mt Otemanu right outside where we took million pics! I loved the soaking tub in the bungalow - so huge and you get a view of the lagoon right from there. The activities at this resort were so awesome as well: from kayaking to stand up paddle boarding to peddle boating. You can use these anytime for free and they are really fun! We did the jet ski excursion (booked it through four seasons for which you dont have much choice for) with reasonable pricing (was 175 bucks for one jetski which me and my husband shared) and we did the circle island tour with that and stopped at a spot where the water was so gorgeous and clear! Loved it! The guide was awesome! We also did the semi private shark and ray feeding excursion (semi private means only with people from four seasons and is slight more priced than the shared one) and it was an unforgettable experience! Trust me, you dont want to miss this! It doesnt matter if you cant swim because you can wear the life jacket and go. The first sport for stingray feeding was on shallow water anyway. The snorkeling over the barrier reef is GORGEOUS - i even saw a big fat eel there! Then comes with sharks... it was very scary at first but soon as you get into the water, it's not a big deal at all! The sharks were way down below anyway and the huge lemon shark was gorgeous! Amazing experience! Highly recommended. I loved both of the excursions. The spa is mindblowing in four seasons! We both had massages there (i had the kavelia haven one) and i felt so rejuvenated afterwards. Get the polynesian massage there - it's unbelievable! You will feel like butter afterwards. The oils are sooo nice and pleasant to smell. Dont forget to try the steam room and the jacuzzi - AWESOME! I loved the smell of the oil even in the steam room and the jacuzzi faces a beautiful lagoon on the women's side - you can try these amenities in the spa anytime for free.

We booked with Tiffany from South Seas Adventures: highly highly highly recommend her for any trip in the South Pacific. She is awesome and she will share her experiences of the islands with you and give you great tips and hints and make perfect arrangements!

TIPS: If you can get AirFrance, pick that over Air Tahiti Nui because Air Tahiti Nui is officially the worst flight i have been on - the seats are rock hard and the service sucks. Skip even one night in Tahiti (Papeete) as Tahiti sucks. We went straight to Moorea and then Bora Bora and it was the best trip of my life! Do the snorkeling in one of the lagoons in Four Seasons - feed the fish there, great experience. Try the Spa for sure. Go to Vaitape (inner town of bora bora) at least once to visit St James restaurant - was great and reasonably priced. See Matira beach at least once.

Room Tip: We loved our beach view bungalow with only 5.3 feet deep water and on the sunrise side. Dont pick mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to share your experience here! We're very happy to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We're glad to hear that you particlarly enjoyed our friendly staff, your overwater bungalow, the array of water activities (including the JetSki circle-island tour and shark and ray snorkelling), and of course our Spa. Sounds like you did it all!

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons, and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On this mystical island with its necklace of white-fringed coral islets, Four Seasons elevates the excitement to redefine South Seas escape. Exotic over-water suites, and beachfront villas with pools, immerse you in ultramodern comforts and the spirit of French Polynesia. Culinary art embraces operatic sunsets over the island’s primeval peaks. Introduce your family to sea turtles. Kite-surf across the impossibly blue lagoon. Spirit yourselves away in a spa by the rolling Pacific surf. Surrender to the liberating service of a luxury resort unmatched on Bora Bora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
4 Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Four Seasons Bora
Four Seasons Hotel Bora
Bora Bora Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.