We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location! Perfection - and yet...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location, location, location! Perfection - and yet...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Fantastic view of the famous mountain and the sunset. Awoke every morning to a view of the beautiful aqua of the lagoon and view of Mt. Otemanu. Paying for the mountain view room was worth it. Well laid out floor plan and spacious bungalow, tastefully furnished with a Polynesian influence.

Everyone was very friendly; smiling, greeting us, surprised us multiple times by calling us by name.

The whole tone was peaceful, tranquil, relaxed.

Sure there were some minor glitches - no turn down service one night, no water available at the tennis court two days in a row, keys not working one day, no t.v. reception for a day and a half and then again on another day, a washing machine that wouldn't work and a dryer that wouldn't dry. Were those enough to spoil a vacation? No way - minor inconveniences. Was that acceptable for a Four Seasons? Probably not, we've never stayed at one before, would have expected a little better.

One thing that I do not recall reading about in anyone else's comments is the very strange way the mini bar works. It is empty upon arrival and one must order things from the menu to stock it. The drawback is that things are only sold in quantities of 6. So you must order a 6-pack of tonic water at 30 dollars, or 6 bags of chips, or 6 cookies - everything priced quite expensively. You pay for it when you order it, so you need to be committed to consuming 6 of whatever it is. (Exception to the minimum order of 6 pieces, was the liquor - large bottles sold individually, Grey Goose about $200). None the less, I found this rather inconvenient.

I needed a doctor one day. That was handled marvelously by the hotel. One arrived at our room in 2 hours with the appropriate medication in hand. Approximately $300, worth it.

One thing we found out of character for a 5 star property was that they charge to pick you up at the airport or to take you into town. It seems quite "cheap" of them. Do they really need that $15.00 or so? It was really just the principal of the thing - for a luxury resort, include it in, don't nickel and dime the guests - bury the cost in the room rate. In our minds it was the equivalent of a cruise ship that can't dock - do they charge for the tender?

The only thing we were disappointed in was the lack of visible fish from our overwater bungalow, and the lack of snorkeling right off your own deck. We were expecting what we had experienced in Moorea three years ago - fantastic swimming and snorkeling right off our own deck and a parade of tropical fish right under our glass floor. The hotel actually advises against snorkeling off your deck - there is a sign in four languages warning about the strong currents and winds in the lagoon. They do provide life jackets. I just wish we had known this beforehand - not that we would have altered our plans, maybe nowhere in Bora Bora is there great snorkeling in the lagoon, I don't know - I just like to know the downside in advance and not arrive expecting something and then be disappointed. (Why do they have those glass panels in the floor?)

The grounds were extensive, well laid out, and well kept up. Walking to see the wild open ocean with the crashing waves is well worth it. The whole resort has fantastic views around every curve.

The tennis court was wonderful. Most days someone would bring us cold water - a most welcome treat - one that we came to rely on - so the two days there was no water available left us parched and unprepared.

The restaurants had a nice ambiance and the food was good. Don't bother with the steak - if you are used to what we get in the states, this does not live up to ours in either tenderness nor taste. We did wish that they varied the menu in their nicer restaurant, Ari Moana. It got a little repetitive after a while. I wished they had a cheese plate offered on their dessert menu. At the buffet restaurant, Tere Nui, they had cheese offered which makes a nice treat, rather than a sweet. The breakfast buffet was nice.

I don't wish to sound like I am complaining, we'd go again. (Actually we might go back to Moorea next time.)

Room Tip: Mountain view overwater bungalow worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    128
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
198
1,192
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was the most amazing leisure vacation EVER, and Four Seasons played a large part in that. Bora Bora is amazing on it's own, but when you introduce outstanding service, immaculate room conditions and food that you will remember for the rest of your life (I can still taste that chocolate fondant now!) you can honestly tell your family that you've vacationed in a screen saver. Four Seasons Bora Bora is the epitome of luxury and elegance. Here, you don't even need to think... they do it for you, giving you ultimate relaxation.
We stayed in an over-water hut, number 217. We had a beautiful view of the lagoon and Mt. Otemanu (Mountain View rooms have the best views). What more can you ask for waking up to that view, and jumping right into the lagoon for a morning swim? We didn't see many fish from our hut, but there are plenty in the resort's lagoon where you can snorkel with hundreds of species.
The Kahaia Spa suite package is a MUST (book this at the beginning of your stay). They take you and your spouse to a private hut on a private lagoon and pamper you like you've never been pampered before. Plus you get to look down into the water at the beautiful fish while they massage you... it's heaven. Don't forget to take home some Monoi Tiare massage oil so you can relive the experience again at home!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

The Four Seasons Bora Bora is beyond amazing. The service was outstanding and the staff knows you by name.

We stayed in the Lagoon View Overwater Bungalow which was perfect as we could swim to the mini island, the pool area and the pool bar from our room! It is less expensive than the mountain view, but is in calmer water and less current. Plus it is farther from the boat traffic of the outer bungalows. Total privacy, sunset views and unbelievably beautiful water.

All the rooms have in-floor glass so you can see the water & fish below.

The fitness center is deluxe and the spa is incredible. The prices really aren't that much more than any other luxury hotel. But you get what you pay for! It is worth every penny and the staff is just incredible.

Would ONLY recommend the Four Seasons Resort if going to Bora Bora. We already are planning our next trip there. It's a must-do!

ps. Tabu, the Tahitian beer, is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife and I decided to go to French Polynesia for two weeks for our honeymoon. Having never been there before, I bought a guide book and did a lot of online searching in planning our trip. I quickly found out that not only were there many options regarding where to stay but also many types of rooms and different views at each hotel. Trip planning was made more difficult because we were visiting three islands and you can only get so much information from a hotel website.

I realized that I needed to get some help from someone who knows the islands and the accommodations. I contacted True Tahiti Vacations and received invaluable advice and assistance not only in deciding to stay at the Four Seasons but also in planning our entire island-hopping trip. It helps that they are located in Tahiti and have firsthand knowledge of the resorts and restaurants.

The first thing you realize about the Four Seasons is the service. They met us at the airport and took us to the hotel on a private boat (complete with cool towels and refreshments). Smartly, they had us complete the check-in paperwork during the 15 minute boat ride to the hotel, which was very efficient.

The resort is a large place, so they took us to our mountain view overwater bungalow on a golf cart which giving us a brief tour. Most of the overwater bungalows are identical except for the view, except for the most expensive units that have a small pool. Our room was very spacious and had a large sitting area adjacent to a covered deck. The bathroom included a tub with doors that opened out to the deck and a nice shower. The bedroom included a comfortable king size bed and ample room.

On foot, our room was about a ten minute walk from the restaurants, pool, and front desk (and golf cart transportation is readily available for those who prefer not to walk). By walking, you can see the beautiful plants and flowers. Even at night, we never had a problem with insects.

The pool area is very nice with many different areas to relax and be a little pampered with cool washcloths, water, little fruit smoothies, pineapple candy, and other items the staff brings around.

The resort includes a private inland lagoon. The best place to view fish is near the beach near the center of the property rather than the long lagoon behind the villas (the long lagoon will probably be better in a few years after coral has a chance to grow). For the best snorkeling, the front desk can arrange excursions that take you to the best spots, which are at a different part of the island. Excursions can be billed directly to your room.

The restaurants at the resorts are very good. The view from the Sunset Restaurant and Bar is spectacular, especially at dusk.

There was also free laundry facilities at various points in the resort, which is nice if you were on a longer trip like we were.

Overall, there Four Seasons is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the paradise of Bora Bora.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

ABSOLUTE PERFECTION!!!
Other than the cost being a bit steep everything else was amazing!!
From the airport in Bora Bora you are picked up by the resort boat and it"s a mere 10-15 min ride.... breathtaking!!!
The over the water bungalow's are very clean and spacious inside.... we were very impressed with them!!
The beach is clean and well kept..
There is certainly something majestic about Mt. Otemanu.....simply majestic!!
The staff and locals are beautiful and friendly people.... the stay was like a dream.
We couldn't have picked a better place for our Honeymoon!!!!

P.S: The resort is very accessible.... my husband is in a wheel chair and it was very convenient for us to get around!!
Hope to go back one day!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have read a few of the reviews about Tahiti on TA and it is easy to spot those people who are first-timers to French Polynesia because they are always completely shocked at the price of food, hotel rates and other expenses, so let me set the record straight.

Ask any local in Polynesia and they will tell you the same thing, the cost of ALL goods in the islands is super expensive and they try to shop in the USA whenever they can. That is the reality of Tahiti, so as they say if you can't afford it, don't go!

This was our 5th trip to Tahiti and 4th trip to Bora Bora, we try to go 2 years if finances allow and Bora Bora is always on the list. This time we also made our first trip to the Tuamotu islands and that was super cool, defintely off the grid but gorgeous. But Bora Bora is definitely our favorite and yes, it is expensive but if you can afford St Barts, Four Seasons Kona or the Maldives, you can afford Tahiti.

We returned to the Four Seasons Hotel, as we vacationed there in 2009, and the hotel looks even better than our last visit and we were plesantly suprised to see lots of familiar faces...their staff appear quite happy and the changes at the hotel are great. The Sunset Bar was by far our favorite casual hangout for dinner and cocktails, we dressed up one night for their elegant restaurant, and did room service a lot and the food was awesome..I love the sirloin burger and my hubby was hooked on the pasta, daily fresh fish, and the best french fries on the planet!!

Since we've been to Bora Bora a few times we tend not to eat at the local restaurants for dinner, but we did grab lunch at Bloody Mary's one day and it was great but yes, lunch was $50....that is Tahiti.

I you are worried about the cost of things, do as we did and buy the meal plan which is about $80 each for dinner....we think this is a great value and you can eat wherever you want at any of the restaurants or room service. Our tour package came with breakfast so we were set for full breakfast and dinner daily.

The overwater bungalows at the Four seasons can't be beat....seriously, they are so decadent and huge...they are monster suites. Lots of privacy, you can sunbathe naked if you wish and the deep tub is big enough for two adults and then some!

If Bora Bora is on your Bucket List, and it should be, you must save your money and go, and don't stay anywhere but the Four Seasons. They make you feel special, and welcomed....for us it is like coming home now, so we will definitely be back!

Oh, if you go ask for concierges Gilles and Eric, Indy and Terry at the pool bar...and Alexander and Jean in the restaurant...and you must meet Oliver the Biologist at the Lagoon Sanctuary. Besides being super smart, he's cute too!!

**Maururu**

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

From fist approach on the Shuttle boat from the airport the Hotel is simply beauty. It’s a 20 acre property with every last inch manicured and groomed daily to perfection. They dug out various canals and motes around the propotery for some nice snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows came as advertised, just perfection. Be prepared to walk especially if you are in the 400’s. I clocked it a 1/2 Mile from our Bungalow to the pool and Restaurants. Walk never bothered us, and with the obscene amount of daily bread consumption, it was welcome.

One draw back for Honeymoon Couples, be prepared for families and Children. The Hotel does cater to families more than others, not something was aware of when booking and were thus surprised at the amount of very young children as well as teen agers that were present. Unfortunalty they were very noisy at the pool. The hotel has no regulations for “ball playing” various floats, rafts etc” “cannon balls” games, shouting etc.. It was very disruptive for those trying to relax, shame on the parents for not respecting other guests.

The service was tremendous, very accommodating, every server from front desk to waiter was so pleasant and attentive It felt like they were faking it.

Food was very good and abundant, I had read many reviews ripping the quality, we didn’t find this at all. Food was always tasty and fresh. The breakfast buffet each day was abundant and bountiful. Lunch selections from salads, to Burgers and frites, to various Raw Tuna Dishes were all fresh as could be and excellent. The Sunset Bar was a nice option a few nights for Sushi and other Asian delights. Very relaxing and our favorite hang out of the property. Thank You Tetu!! We did eat at the high end Restaurant which again was excellent.

Yes this place is very expensive. Knowing this going in we did most of our excursions in Moorea. (rays, sharks, diving, Polynesian Show) I looked into deep sea fishing for 1/2 day but it was $1000 USA Dollars, way too steep with no guarantee of fish. The Polynesian show and buffet was $200 per person for what I was told was boring and sub par. As one of our friends said, “you seen one Polynesian show, you seen them all” Only things we did in Bora was Sunset Cruise (excellent choice) and the Boat to main island (was really a waste of time, don’t even bother going to Bloody Mary’s) If you come from another Island bring some snacks for the room. I would stay away from the Frozen Drinks at the pool, they are $30 USA and very small, not to mention the French do not put much ice in their frozen drinks. They were more Shake like liquid and syrup than the icy frozen concoctions we love so much in the states.. Stick to the Champagne, Hinano Beer and Wine, more reasonable comparatively speaking.

Upon check out besure to closely examine every itemization on your final bill, they definitely make mistakes as reported in other reviews.

All in all the place was paradise, truly a once in a life time property and worth every penny!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On this mystical island with its necklace of white-fringed coral islets, Four Seasons elevates the excitement to redefine South Seas escape. Exotic over-water suites, and beachfront villas with pools, immerse you in ultramodern comforts and the spirit of French Polynesia. Culinary art embraces operatic sunsets over the island’s primeval peaks. Introduce your family to sea turtles. Kite-surf across the impossibly blue lagoon. Spirit yourselves away in a spa by the rolling Pacific surf. Surrender to the liberating service of a luxury resort unmatched on Bora Bora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
4 Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Four Seasons Bora
Four Seasons Hotel Bora
Bora Bora Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.