We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Temanuata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Village Temanuata to your Saves list
Village Temanuata
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Matira, 98 730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Paihia, null, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A friend of ours in Bora Bora helped us book our stay at Village Temanuata - a stay we enjoyed so much that we extended it! Because we knew a local, the manager gave us a good rate on the room - which was amazing! We found her to be very helpful - giving us bikes for the whole day instead of half and helping us find out how to book flights, along with just being very friendly during our whole stay.

The room itself slept five, though there were only four of us, and we found it to be perfect. Very clean, a lovely covered deck outside to eat on, comfortable beds and a huge shower. The bungalows are built in a traditional style but have all mod cons inside - kitchen, good bathroom and ceiling fans to keep cool. We were never uncomfortably hot which was great.

The location of the pension is perfect - it is located right beside Matira beach, the largest public beach on the island and a brilliant one to sit and watch the sunset. The pension also has a small private beach on the other side of the peninsula which has fabulous snorkeling just meters off the beach. We saw tons of fish, which are everywhere, but also saw octopus and even an Eagle Ray! There is a shop directly across the road which offers internet service and a bar/restaurant right next door with a pool in the bar! There a few other restaurants in walking distance - our favourite was Le Bounty, just five minutes walk away.

All in all, a great place to stay and definitely somewhere we would stay again.

Room Tip: If you have small children, ask for one on the left, away from the back of the bar next door as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    19
    6
    17
See reviews for
17
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great pension on the beachfront, the manager was really helpful especially with accommodating us in another pension so we could shower and change after our checkout time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our friend in Tahiti had booked this accomodation for us so we were not sure what to expect.
After touching down in amazing Bora Bora a van picked us up and dropped us off at Temanuata. We were welcomed by Martine (in English) who quickly explained the must see spot and showed us our room. The bungalow was needly done with a straw roof, fridge, nice undercover area and only metres from the beach!!
We found it good value for money.
We had a late flight back to Tahiti and needed to leave the cabin early. We were offered free use of a seperate bath room and towels.

Room Tip: No need for car rental on Bora, the action is under water as we snorkeled and dived! We also rented...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our arrival at the Temanuata was not good. Although only my wife and myself, we had booked and paid for the 5 bed family bungalow which was self-catering and would give us plenty of space. The owner, Jacques denied all knowledge of this even although we had the voucher and e.mail confirmation with us. By now we were aware of noisy building work next door from the Pizza restaurant where a swimming pool and bar were being built. We were finally allowed into a larger family bungalow which we then discovered had a catering unit built on for Temanuata to offer evening meals. We could hear all conversation from there. On our first night we were awoken by kitchen noise and the smell of cooking bacon at 4 am and then drilling from building work next door started at 7.45 am. We decided a week with this was not for us. Jacques offered us accommodation in tiny alternatives with no cooking facilities but was unable to accept that this was not what we wanted for our stay. We moved to Le Maitai Hotel which was very comfortable and enjoyed the rest of our time on Bora Bora. Our travel agent has not been able to obtain any element of refund whatsoever for the missed 6 nights at Temanuata caused as a result of the unacceptable building work noise. Jacques has acknowledged there is a problem but says it is out of his control. We, on holiday from the other side of the world, had to put up with it! Avoid Temanuata at all costs if you want peace because the Pizza restaurant next door with a swimming pool and bar is open all hours and will interfere with your holiday peace even after the building work is completed. Also the bungalows are utterly inadequate to even think of a comfortable stay. There have been no English reviews since 2009 and since our visit there are now several French reviews which are scathing. You have been warned.

Room Tip: One of the two huts on the beach if you want to risk it against better value elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Pluses:
+ Owner Jacques is a gentleman - friendly, helpful and fully fluent English
+ Fantastic location. You're in Bora for the beach, right ... the beach owned by the village is highly mediocre, however you are just 5 mins walk from a fantastic public beach (opposite the Intercon Moana)
+ Good standard of accommodation, fairly humble but you have hot water and have a sense of being well looked after. The village is lovingly tended.
- Really nice restaurant (La Bounty) just 12 minutes walk up the road

Minuses:
- A bit pricey for the standard of accommodation ... but this is Bora Bora
- No eating facilities
- No internet
- The only convenience shop is a good 15 minutes walk (although Jacques may let you borrow a bike for free if you need to pop down)
- Dogs at night if you are walking down the road to/from restaurant. We didn't have any trouble, because the dogs we came across seemed to be owned ... but could be intimidating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Ia orana.
I had the absolute pleasure of staying here this month for two nights in a very comfortable garden bungalow. Hosts Martine ( La perle de Bora Bora ) and Jacques are very friendly and incredibly helpful folk. Between them they keep the establishment very tidy and well organised! Temanuata Village is on Matira Point at the southern end of Bora Bora. About 20 metres to the white, sandy beach and you can watch the sun rise in the east and, as the sun sets, a 3 minute walk will land you on the western side of the point for a gorgeous sunset on another gorgeous beach. There a three good restaurants within a few minutes walk and a rather expensive local store 10 minutes walk away. Bicycles are available for hire at Temanuata Village. Take an anti-clockwise ride around the island and you'll soak it all in at your leisure without too much sweat.
I can't imagine a better location and place to stay on the actual island.
Give those expensive overwater bungalows a miss!
Maururu.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at Temanauata Iti. The hotel has its reception and main bungalows at a place called Temanuata Beach. However, there are 4 delux bungalows which are located approx. 1 km from the main building. The latter is called Temanuata Iti. We stayed in the delux bungalow in Iti.

The advantage of the Iti is that the bungalows are a bit nicer than the standard ones, but a big disadvantage is that it is quite far from the reception and the restaurant located next to Temanuata. Therefore, if you want to arrange for any excursion or just simply contact the reception desk, you must have your own mobile phone to do so. Although each person takes a bike for free of charge if staying at Iti, the transportation is not as handy as from the standard bungalows.

As regards the beach, both types of bungalows are located right at the beach of Matira which is the only beach of Bora Bora on the main island. The beach is quite nice and the world famous hotel Bora Bora is only a 3 minutes walk away from there. You can also find a dive center called Bora Diving right at the beach of Iti.

The bungalow was ok, nicely decorated. However, I really hate that since the roof was made of palm tree leaves which got dry, each morning I woke up my bed was full of black trush, which was actually the leaf of the palm tree which formed the roof. Like everywhere else, also here there was a rooster which sometimes made sleeping impossible.

We were just right next to the street which is sometimes noisy as Bora Bora has only one signle main road which runs around the whole island. Therefore, try to get a bungalow as far from the street as possible.

The free bikes were in a quite good condition. However, since they do not have light and there is no lit in the streets of Bora Bora at night, you cannot use them after 6 pm when the sun goes down.

The nearest supermarket is approx. 2 kms away, therefore, careful planning is required is you cannot ride the bike.

Do not miss the food at Bloody Mary. Many stars regularly visit this restaurant and they have free pick-up services from the hotel and for the return.

The lady at the reception desk is very helpful and practically can arrange for all excrusions you want, even diving.

This hotel is a good option if you want to save money but at the same time want to have a good quality for your bucks as well. However, do not expect something like in the 5 star hotels as the main island of Bora Bora is nothing special. The real beauty of the island can only be discovered from the small motus overlooking the main island after crossing the lagoons. Dream breaches are only on the motus and not on the main island. So if you want to see that dream pictures showed on the postcard, you have to rent a yacht or go to a motu.

And the most important, do not miss the lagonnarium, it is working again, altough at a different location, but still great!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Village Temanuata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Temanuata

Address: Matira, 98 730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Temanuata 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set alongside Matira Beach, Village Temanuata offers traditional Polynesian-style bungalows offering direct beach access. Guests enjoy free snorkelling equipment and there are kayaks available on-site. The family-run Temanuata Village Resort is just 300 metres from dining options and shops. Vaitape village is 7 km away. It is a 40-minute bus and ferry ride from Bora Bora Airport. All bungalows feature a patio, a refrigerator and a ceiling fan. Each has a private bathroom with a shower. Mosquito nets are available upon request. The tour desk books diving, sailing, island trips and submarine tours. You can relax on the beach sun loungers or indulge in a massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Village Temanuata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Temanuata Hotel Vaitape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Temanuata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.