We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this resort and had a fantastic time. My wife has limited mobility and the staff was VERY accommodating from the very beginning. We had a beautiful over-water villa [word cannot describe how terrific and spacious they are], huge deck with jacuzzi, a fantastic view of Mount Otemanu and the beautiful blue water of the lagoon. Each villa is configured to be private and secluded from the other units. Nightly turn-down service includes a tin of cookies and bottles of water. First class all the way.

The staff, from the gardeners to the management, could not have been nicer at the resort. The servers were fantastic, the management [Marc was our contact] was happy to meet every need.

We ate most meals at the resort and found the food and variety to be very good.

Overall, and excellent resort and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    945
    95
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
74
894
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here for I think 4 nights for our honeymoon. It was our second stop after Moorea.
Upon arrival Bora Bora takes your breath away with the awesome lagoon and the St. Regis picks you up in style. My husband and I were really excited and expected great things. We arrived early and only had to wait for a room for a bit and told we were upgraded to a “Superior” Villa, from the Standard Villa. The only difference noted online is that the Superior villas “offer seclusion” which means they are as far as you could get from the resort on the overwater side. It was always easy to call and get a golf cart ride and they also offered to bring us bikes for getting around. The grounds were very nicely laid out. The main pool is not anything special but it does have a swim up bar which is neat. There are two hammocks on the beach and a lot of beach chairs and everything was breathtaking on arrival .... mostly because the surrounding lagoon is amazing.

Pros: Our room was amazing, excellent housekeeping and turn down service. Watch the movie Couples Retreat (which by the way is playing non-stop in every room) and you’ll see a basic overwater villa...with the exception of the private deck pool which not all the villas have. The Lagoon restaurant was delicious. The grounds are generally* quiet (* not always, see note below about kids) and well maintained* (*also see note below about adult pool). The breakfast was included in our package and was tasty and pretty basic French Polynesian resort breakfast. Everything we ordered to eat at the bar was also good with the exception of a sushi box which tasted like grocery store pre-packages sushi – do not recommend. There is a Hobie Cat you can take out as well as kayaks and a canoe ride available. The Lagoonarium they have on the premises is also nice, with a good mix of fish, corals and two sea turtles which my husband found. There’s also supposed to be an octopus in the lagoon but we didn’t find him.
Cons:
1. Children...children everywhere. Teens, toddlers, young kids...mostly they were well-behaved but some were definitely running around unsupervised and one had a massive tantrum at the pool. There were even kids at the "adult" pool. If you are expecting adults only, the St. Regis is not for you. We met a couple who was staying at the Novotel Bora Bora, they said it was all honeymooners and older couples.
This may have explained also why there were candy wrappers floating in the adult pool. We also tried to use one of the cabanas but they all either had dirty towels, had the blinds broken and one had broken glass. We called to get one cleaned and ultimately gave up and headed to the beach.
2. The concierge was very difficult to get a hold of to book activities through or answer basic questions about getting to the main island for dinner and the front desk was not much help.
We tried to have them make a dinner reservation for us and they asked us when we wanted the reservation...which is silly because you have no choice. The boat leaves the St. Regis at 6pm and takes you to the main island where taxi cabs pick you up and drive you to the restaurant. You must be done at 9pm when the shuttle boat picks you back up. At least this is what we thought...our host at the restaurant told us the pick up was at 9:45pm....it was an annoying mix-up and we were left wondering when we were supposed to be back...as others have mentioned you may get stuck on the dock waiting to get picked up if you miss the boat or it comes at a later time than planned.
Overall service was lacking at various times. We could not get our DVD player to work on a rainy day and were asked to leave our room so it could be fixed...so we left the room for an early dinner without showering.
A couple’s massage was included in our package but they had no record of it so we had to bring our itinerary to show them which was inconvenient but probably something that was overlooked by our travel agent. You check-in on board en route to the hotel at which point we handed over our itinerary so we did have champagne waiting for us in our room ... after we brought the itinerary to them again we got the other items in our package which was the massage and a flower turn down service.
In summary...Bora Bora is amazing for the scenery and I don’t think we needed to stay at the St. Regis to enjoy this...one note is that there was recently a cyclone in the area and we would not have known it because really, all the villas and grounds were in good shape. We saw some hotels on the main island that had tarps over them and chunks of the roof missing. The Intercontinental on the island looked to be in good shape and the Sofitel on the private motu did as well. This Sofitel is also right by a huge coral garden which we saw on a reef tour.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

After leaving the Hilton in Moorea, my husband and I stayed for 3 nights at St Regis. We were blown away by the turquoise waters which greeted us as we left the airport by the St Regis luxury catamaran. We were given gardenia leis & water on route,which was great because after a 2 hour wait at Moorea airport we were pretty parched.

Be ready to pay baggage excess (at Moorea airport) for any kilos over the allowance.
3 kg MAX for carry on for our ticket class!! Around $170XPF per kilo

Once we arrived at the jetty each couple was allocated a golf cart and their own butler who then showed you around the resort before delivering you to your accom. For us it was overwater bungalow #308.

The bungalow was incredible and much larger than either of us had ever imagined. Bigger than our old apartment in Wellington infact. The glass views through the floor were neat although due to Bora Boras sandy bays there aren't the coral/rocky outcrops like in Moorea so we never saw any fish through the floor. We even received a complimentry bottle of bubbly worth around $200NZD which was a nice surprise.

Be warned that the movie Couples Retreat with Vince Vaughan and Kristen Davis plays 24/7...yes it has its very own channel, as it was filmed at St Regis and nearby motu.

Unfortunately for us the weather was rather windy during our whole stay in Bora Bora, the water was always rough, often white-capped due to the winds. This didnt stop us doing what we came here to do of course.

We did notice that unlike Moorea a majority of the service personnel were made up of imports. This didnt really hit me until now. But my husband and I had booked a private tour with Moana Jet Boat (only jet boat in Bora) http://www.moanajetboat.com/ . Pierre (local tahitian) & Vincent (French national now local) are both passionate about their homeland & are wonderful guides.

Their tour costs $50,000 XPF approx $25,000XPF LESS than St Regis. They will take you to a private motu (where part of Couples Retreat was filmed) and serve you honestly the BEST lunch you will have during your whole stay in French Polynesia. You will then be taken just past the atoll to swim with black tipped reef sharks & trigger fish. After that its off to the stingrays in waist deep water. These rays are MUCH bigger than the ones in Moorea and there aren't the crowds here either. After that its off to the 'Coral Garden' for a bit of snorkelling and then back to the resort. They even threw in a 4 hour guided tour on a jet-ski free, we did this the day before. This costs $12,000XPF alone through the resort on much smaller jet ski's.

While we had booked this tour before coming to Bora Bora, St Regis weren't overly happy that we hadn't booked our tour through them and neglected to pass messages on to us when Pierre would ring!! Apparently they aren't overly keen on 'foreign' tour companies snagging their guests. In my opinion they should be encouraging local involvement not shunning it!! At $25,000XPF less you'd be a fool to go with the resorts tour.

The Lagoonarium near the Spa has a lovely array of fish. It was a little murky at times but the fish tend to congregate near the ends of the lagoon as the current enters & leaves again. Most fish are found near where the fresh water flows in at the far end. The fish are incredibly friendly and a cleaner wrasse even tried cleaning my leg :) Apparently there are baby turtles in the lagoonarium so we were advised to only feed the fish OUTSIDE of the lagoonarium.

The Sushi restaurant is top-notch and Chris our chef was wonderful, he even let us sneak into the kitchen for a few photos with chef hats on!! Waiter service here was excellent too as were the meals. We ate here 2 of 3 nights. Cost approx $300NZD for a meal with roughly 4 dishes. Water approx $25 NZD for 1 litre.. Fish is lovely and fresh..

Breakfast buffet was lovely. Fresh fruits, hams, fish, pasteries, bacon, tomatoes, eggs etc... You can also order items like eggs benedict, french toast etc. The acacia honey is yummy!! Much fresher & tastier than our buffet at the Hilton in Moorea.

Bikes - you can 'hire' push bikes for nothing to get yourself around the resort. We had booked two but were never told to come pick them up and whenever we went to get them they wouldn't be available. So if you manage to nab a bike hold on to it!! Otherwise the golf carts don't take long for pick ups & drop offs.. Its about a 10 minute walk from breakfast to most overwaters and about 20 mins to the spa from the overwaters. Depending how far down you are of course.

Overall we had a fantastic stay, would love to have stayed a little longer but I'm sure everyone says that :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I returned recently from a two week stay at The St. Regis. He is currently deployed to Iraq and this was our two week R&R/first year anniversary/delayed honeymoon. I can agree with all reviews about the beauty and luxury of the resort. It is truly an amazingly gorgeous place. There is not a place on the property that you have gorgeous blue water out of sight. The rooms are well appointed- we stayed in a Pool Beach Villa-lagoon side. Highly recommend this versus the sought after over-water villa. We had originally planned to spend a week in each, but liked the pool villa so much more after viewing the overwater villa, we asked to stay-well worth it, even though it was a 'downgrade' and that they would not refund the difference or offer a resort credit of any kind. Not a biggie in our opinion- but would have been nice considering our length of stay.

Another 'minor' was with the restaurant service. We tried every restaurant at the resort a few times, and each was the same- the service was impeccable-when we had it. We noticed that it was common to sit for 20 minutes, minimum, while waiting for the check to be presented, or to ask for a coffee refill, or for water, etc. Again, we were enjoying each other's company so much that it was 'no biggie', but it was definitely noticeable. The 'free' shuttle to town was also never available-we even called on a Tuesday to book for that Saturday-and it was 'not available'. Strange as well. Many more very minor things of this nature began to be noticeable over our stay, but again, not enough to detract from our time together or the overall visit.

The food is amazing. The fish is fresh, and selection is plentiful. After two weeks, we had become just a little bored of the menu (if you can believe it), but no complaints. The sushi restaurant is fantastic, and our waiter, Pierre-Jean, offered excellent service. Lagoon was amazing as well, and we were very impressed with David, our waiter, both times eating there. Earlier in the week, my husband had called to ask the main kitchen if they offered soymilk at all (i'm slightly lactose intolerant-they did), and when we got to the restaurant the first time for our anniversary dinner later that week, David had picked out items from the menu that contained milk that he thought may have caused me problems. Those are the little 5 star touches we loved. :) Room service, oddly enough, was cheaper than the buffets or restaurants, offered the same items, and was a nice change of pace to eat outside at the villa and watch the sunset. The room service service was very good.

Miri Miri Spa was excellent. We each had two treatments during our stay. We opted not to do any excursions except to go into town by shuttle ($60/ea. round trip) and explore the island and do a little grocery shopping for snacks and souveniers a few times. The island is tiny, and really not worth exploring. It takes about an hour to drive all the way around. It's beautiful, but not a must-do. We did take advantage of the Hobie Cat to sail around the lagoon at the resort, and snorkeled almost every day. The lagoonarium was definitely our favorite part of the resort, and ironically, was always empty. At the most one day, we saw two other couples snorkeling. The only thing we could figure is because it's so far away from the over water villas...? It's definitely worth the time though. And take a piece of bread from breakfast to feed the fish-you'll have lots of friends following you around. :)

Again, we opted for a very low-key, very relaxing two weeks to maximize our time together while my husband is deployed. We got exactly what we wanted. Between the super comfy bed, the loungers on the deck and the hammock, we had optimal quality time. You really couldn't ask for a more romantic place. Highly recommend!! And finally, if you don't speak French, be prepared for a slight language barrier at times...but again, not enough to be an issue. Maru'uru roa!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Another satisfied St. Regis customer here. We stayed at the St. Regis after having been at the Hilton in Moorea for 5 nights-no comparison! Our Overwater bungalow here was much bigger and the service at the St. Regis was outstanding. This is not a great location to take kids, but it is a great getaway for couples. The food and adult beverages were fantastic. Most of the wait staff in the restaurants is French, while the other staff is Tahitian. We ate out The Lagoon Restaurant 2 of the 5 nights and could not stop raving about our meals. Te Pahu is their regular restaurant and it is also quite good. The sushi place was so so, but then again, I am used to San Francisco area sushi.
Although we didn't do any excursions here, they are offered. We did take advantage of the free kayaks, the pool, and the free Hobie Cat. We also had a couples massage at the spa, which was first rate! Great couples retreat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I went with my girl friend (why wait for honeymoon?) we had the best time ever. It start with the boat ride from the airport approaching the dock with St. Regis sign. (I was impressed). All of the staff was friendly "La Orana", facility was clean and we really liked the privacy, it was like having the entire resort to ourselves. We stayed in the over the water bungalow and it was fantastic, size of a good size apartment. My girl friend and I referred the place as home away from home. We swam with the sharks and Sting rays, and all of the colorful fishes... My girl friend thought I was silly but I really enjoyed riding the bike to get around the resort. :-) I recommend eating at the Sushi restaurant and having breakfast in bed.

Being there with someone you love helps a great deal, and makes you fall in love with your girl friend/wife all over again. Only thing I would change is we should have stayed another week, one week is not enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I was adviced to stay at this hotel for my honeymoon by thomas cook and what a place it has been ... just amazing. there is not even a single complaint from my side about the hotel and the people out here. they are the BEST. Bora Bora itself is a very beautiful destination and my favourite but St Regis resort has taken it a step further. we have been at the resort for 5 days and our stay was perfect. not even for a moment we regretted our decision and not even for a moment did we feel bored. infact after the 5th day we wanted to stay back for an other week but our schedule din permit us. I am gonna come back to bora bora and am gonna stay at the same hotel but this time for atleast a week. Thanks St Regis for making my honeymoon a very memorable one indeed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.