We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Superior, Colorado
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary here. Everything was top notch. 1st off of the plane and they are there waiting for you and getting your bags. Once we had the bags it was on to their Private Shuttle while everyone else was still waiting in line for the water taxi. The Room was ready upon arrival as well as a welcome glass of Champagne. Room with a Private pool & a private beach, THIS WAS PARADISE!! Butler took care of everything from day 1. Rides to dinner & back, booked tours on the island, took care of dinner reservations, nothing was left out. The staff in every department were perfect. Its not inexpensive, but what do you expect. I would return here without even thinking twice!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private pool & beach for the most privacy, if you want water bungalows choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey_Fentem, Director of Sales and Marketing at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your amazing response!!! We are so happy you loved your stay with us and we do hope you will come back and see us in the not so distant future! Please feel free to reach out to me if you ever need anything!

Tracey
tracey.fentem@stregisborabora
936 588 3933
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    112
    43
    25
    13
See reviews for
103
1,044
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were stopping for a week in Tahiti at St Regis, Bora Bora -a Starwood Property. Lets put some context on this review. We love good activities, culture, food, wine and history and have been lucky enough to travel in comfort.

So, beautiful Polynesia here we come. Only we never felt we got there. This is the first holiday, ever, where we discovered we had an extra day and immediately thought "damn, another day stuck in paradise, we just want to go home". So what of the turquoise waters, the sun and the fun? Hardly a "Tahitian" in sight. Where to start?

The flight in was spectacular , the view of the lagoon on the way in,dreamy. We were welcomed onto the St Regis Catamaran with a bottle of water (not even a welcome champagne) and headed for the place where "Couples Retreat" was filmed ... or, after a week, should that be Trapped in Eden ?

The service was excellent, if sometimes wooden. Most staff are doing their jobs well. However, some were not so good. We had a personal butler introduce himself on arrival and we never saw him again. This contrasts with other places where the butler was there every day and genuinely interested in the guests.

There were also 3 brilliant people. First, a special thanks to Aurelie who went out of her way to delight us. Similarly to Jerome the Manager of the Japanese Restaurant and Vanessa the Manager of the Te Anau Restaurant.The beach boys were also great, wonderfully friendly and helpful - as was the maintenance man. All staff are friendly and helpful. They just did it as we felt they were franchised to do it. All formula, no soul and apart from the beach boys, not a Polynesian in sight.

St Regis is the most expensive resort on Bora Bora. So, you'd expect a Villa that was, well, up to standard. Ours wasn't. First, it wasn't ready when we arrived and when we finally got there a few things were a little broken. No hot water, shutters that didn't work, curtains that sprang open when you drew them closed and drapes without hooks, scratched furniture, no place to hang wet clothes after swimming and a large glass window that was literally falling apart were a few things that needed repair. To be fair, when we pointed these out they were attended to immediately and graciously. However, When you're paying $,000 a night it's just not on. You expect to walk into a functioning room. Especially since place is only 6 years old. The view of Mt Otemanu from the resort is spectacular. The lagoon glorious. Don't pay more for a villa with a mountain view, step outside. The sweeping currents running at about 8kmh an hour mean swimming off the villas further out in the lagoon is unadvisable. Villas closer to the beach are better placed for this.

The villas are a little too close together for my liking and not very private. Open the blinds in one villas bedroom or hall and you will be looking directly looking into the next bedroom. At this level of accommodation, we are used to privacy and a certain standard (quality) of finish. Villa doors that don't close properly and allow the wind to howl through; Otherwise, the villas are spacious and quiet. Although no noise barrier between the lounge and bedroom meant if the tv or stereo was on in one you were disturbed in the other. I'm not in favour of TV but note there is no BBC, CNN is the only english channel. The hotel is also tacky enough to show Couples Retreat on a continuous loop.

The gents toilet at the beach hut that always smells of ingrained urine; no change rooms near the pool/beach give it can be a 15 min journey to your villa - this disappoints.

The Lagoonarium, where you can snorkel with the fishes was a lovely touch. However, there was only one Hobie Cat without a tiller and no windsurfers on account of breakages. Not good enough at the price of the resort. There's the usual paddle boards and canoes. As long as you are happy paddling or sailing in a limited stretch of bay repeatedly it's okay. The novelty wore off after a few days.On the positive side, the waters and swimming were sublime. In the spirit of Bora Bora - We sat on our deck one afternoon waiting for something to happen. It didn't.

Anything else, you pay a lot for (e.g. I took to kite surfing (r.r.p a 2 hr lesson XPF 40,000 ~ $500). It would take 4 or 5 lessons to stand up.). Outside the resort there is nothing much. Viatape, the main village on BoraBora was a 3 hour break from the resort (1/2 travel time) and nothing to write home about.

The food is uninteresting, unhealthy, unflavoured and unbelievably priced. On average XPF 3300 for pizza or a burger or a BLT and that was all you could get for a "normal" meal. That is approximately $40. An entree the same. A main XPF 4500ish. A beer, mineral water or coconut juice $10. A bottle of wine XPF 5000+. I'm not sure how you de flavour food (perhaps just add fat and carbs) but St Regis manages. Almost everything tasted like McDonalds, only unseasoned. In one week at St Regis we spent about XPF 140,000 ($1750) on food. The prices are noteworthy here only because we DO mind paying through the nose for bad food.

Breakfast is standard hotel fare with greasy eggs, waffles and crepes all available. Stick to fresh fruit and lemon crepes or poached eggs if you want a healthier option.The "special" restaurant called "Lagoon", served dead wine and an octopus entree so rubbery I had to retire to the restroom after 5 min chewing to spit it out. They replaced it. And a fish main so ordinary that a $10 lunch at an Asian food bar has more sophistry.The resort serves sushi, which at XPF 20,000 ~ $250 for some sashimi, sushi rolls and a seaweed salad with a couple of beers and a sake was the only healthy meal we ate all week. We could eat better for less than $100 in much nicer settings.

Be warned. Once you are in the resort you are stuck with the food. We didn't appreciate the limited choices or the lack of quality. In all, the cost is exorbidant and unjustifiable. We are happy to pay a significant or all inclusive rates (more than for all we could ever consume) if the overall experience is good. We had just come from Easter Island (separate review). At St Regis, by the end of the stay I was sick of signing tabs for rubbish food that reminded me it was expensive and unhealthy tasteless food most of the time.

Everything costs the guest. That shouldn't be a problem if its any good. Paying for an expensive Italian tailored suits gives you quality. Paying for St Regis, I'm not so sure. Something is not right at St Regis Bora Bora - it's formula honeymoon or something. Other guests seemed to enjoy it. I just hope it's not a case of the Emperor's new clothes.

The only thing we can say this was one of our most disappointing holidays that has put us off Tahiti forever. There was no Polynesian culture in sight. Starwood what are you doing? Profitable, probably. Pleasurable, probably not. Return custom. From us, No.

I wrote this on the day we discovered we had an extra day. On other holidays we've madly calculated if we can fit in a couple of extra days. Not so here, 4 days is more than enough. We had 7 nights and we couldn't wait to leave at the thought of another unhealthy meal. We actually skipped a few at the thought.

The Experience: Trapped in Eden, Soulless.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the island are better than the ones far out on the pontoon if you want to swim o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey_Fentem, Director of Sales and Marketing at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your response and we apologize for any inconvenience or issue which you experienced with us during your stay. We pride ourselves with knowing everything that is going on with our guest's with our lovely Butlers and we do not have your information noted. I would like to review this with you at your convenience. Please feel free to contact me at tracey.fentem@stregisborabora.com or 936 588 3933.

I look forward to hearing from you. Have a lovely weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at the st Regis for our honeymoon for approximately 1 week. The location is really unbeatable and the water bungalows are really a dream.
It's such a pitty that the service sometimes really shows weaknesses and communication problems. Management urgently needs to work on processes and better education of staff as well as higher sizing per guest. The food offered is not bad but not really great. Nothing you remember ... Only exception is the lagoon restaurant which is really good. We spoke with many guests and all shares this view - Europeans and Americans ...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey_Fentem, Director of Sales and Marketing at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused with the weakness you referenced. We value our guest's comments and will be sure to address any and all weaknesses that are shared with us. We hope you do come back and see us in the future and if there is anything that you need please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Tracey tracey.fentem@stregisborabora.com, 936 588 3933
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and l have just returned from our spectacular 'heaven on earth' vacation at the St Regis Bora Bora where we were married. From our private butler Marine to our Wedding Co-Ordinators Rose and Natacha, we could not have imagined a more magical experience. Our photographer, Helene was a delight as were my make-up Artist and Hairdresser that made this important event run so effortlessly. Mr Sebastien Tailpied, Executiev Assistant Manager preformed our beautiful 'Joining of the Hearts' Ceremony and made this day for us truly special. My husband and l are extremely well traveled and do have a certain level of expectation which is often not met. The St Regis is a resort that surpasses your expectations and runs to perfection on every level....we will definitely return soon
A very special THANK YOU to Marine for her exceptional service.
Dr Vivienne and Sam. Melbourne. Australia.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic at this level of luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisBoraBora, RMI Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Vivienne and Sam,

CONGRATULATIONS on your wedding and for your words that are as sweet as coconut and chocolate mixed together !
It is so rewarding to be able to read such words, and we will definitely share them with Marine, Natacha, Rose and Mr. Tailpied !
Rest assured, it has been a real pleasure to open our doors, arms and hearts for you and hope to be able to reiterate for one of your anniversaries !

Again, Thank you and Congratulations !
With our very best regards,
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel in November (I am only just getting around to posting my review) in fact this was where he proposed and we got engaged!!!

When we arrived at the St. Regis we were greeted by our butler and he took us to our over water bungalow - we opted for the premier over water bungalow with the whirlpool.

It was just fantastic, huge bathroom with an open shower and his and hers sinks. The bed was extremely comfortable and we even had a lovely ocean printed pillow. There was a separate room for the TV and a big sofa where you could sit and enjoy couples retreat (the film). We had plenty of space and were very pleased with our room choice. Outside on the deck was a superb whirlpool (with cold water) which we loved in the day time but it was a bit cold to use in the evenings. There are deck chairs and plenty of sun to enjoy and you could jump right off the deck into the different shades of blue beneath you. There was a separate area for in room dining with a blind to one side for extra privacy and of course the most stunning views across the ocean to the mountain. Serenity!

The staff here were fantastic and helpful and our butler on arrival opened our complimentary champagne with a sword. The bar staff in particular were great and also the staff at breakfast who always remembered us.

We enjoyed all of the restaurants - Sushi Take was brilliant and we loved the red dragon roll. Our favourite was Lagoon which we did manage to try a couple of times and received the best service. They also had wonderful cocktails here!

We ate dinner in our room a couple of times and the staff were brilliant at setting the table and even candles for us it was just like being at a restaurant of our own with the most spectacular views you could imagine.

The spa and lagoon area was tranquil and we also loved spending time here during the day. If you buy some fish food from the shop you can take it down and feed all the colourful fish. It was great to swim here and boasted splendid views. We enjoyed lovely spa treatments. They were a little expensive but this is the same in most resorts! The gym was well equipped and situated among the greenery around the lagoon - it was a nice stroll in the mornings too.

The beach of course was pristine and the water was warm and just about the prettiest colours I have ever seen anywhere in the world, we also liked the oasis pool as it was private with numerous secluded cabanas.

The grounds in general here were well kept and just stunning it was a pleasure to take little walks and enjoy the resort.
We also enjoyed a private sunset cruise with a photographer and fizz in coconuts after getting engaged which was just beautiful (and a little choppy) :).

Overall, we loved the St Regis and would recommend it to anyone wanting a lovely break in paradise - pure luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisBoraBora, RMI Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear missmetal, Ia Orana !

Wow, CONGRATULATIONS on your engagement !! We are extremely happy for you !
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your past stay with us - we love you loving your villa, the Resort's grouds, the staff service, our various outlets... It feels so empowering to read our guests satisfaction !

We would love to receive a picture of your wedding, if you wish, send us the picture at sales@stregisborabora.com :)

Warm Regards and Wishes of eternal love from
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

After constant prodding for the resort to add a warning sign to the beach, my wife was told no such problem exists.
My wife had to have surgery on her heel after returning home.
She fell onto a Sea Urchin, and showed the Hotel staff, only to be given an ice bucket to soak her foot.
Never was Sea Urchin mentioned, and we were too uninformed to know what occurred.
No physician was called for treatment or education.
My wife is permanently scarred, with black marks on her heel.
We missed the last three days of our vacation because my wife was I. Such pain and discomfort.
No apology was forthcoming until my wife barraged the resort management with emails.
In the end, they told my wife it was not the Sea Urchin that was the problem, it was my wife's reaction to hundreds of prickles in her foot.
I AMA surgeon, and my wife's foot looked like it had buckshot in it!
To fault my wife in any way further exacerbates her pain.
I am sure that the danger still persists, and as a physician, I would warn any vacationers to stay away for. This resort with wanton disregard for their guest's safety.
I know when we stay at any Four Season, there is a sign with warnings listed...jellyfish, riptide, etc.
This resort was not at all five star-
I wouldn't even give it two stars for it's cavalier management and unhelpful staff in the face of a critical situation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Awful vacation here, I should have chosen Four Seasons, Bora Bora!
Please don't go here if you are looking for high end vacation.
I was lied to about how many children would be at the resort-
The pool was full of screaming children.
The person at the Front Desk was extremely rude.
The bathrooms at the pool and lobby we disgusting.
The Spa is so low end, I was amazed.
The fitness center doesn't even have a shower...my husband had to walk a long distance to the Spa for a shower.
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't go. We stayed in the overwater bungalow...the ladder to the water was green with algea-it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey_Fentem, Director of Sales and Marketing at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We would like to review this with you however we do not have your information from your stay with us. We pride ourselves in knowing all of our guest's issues whilst on property given our lovely Butler team. Please let me know how we may contact you to discuss in further detail. Again we apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us.

I look forward to speaking with you. I am also available at 936 588 3933 or tracey.fentem@stregisborabora.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.