We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice, more than you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Super Nice, more than you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ok, so we did it.. On our third trip to Tahiti we decided to go all out. Bora Bora and the St Regis.. Stayed for five days at the end of our trip. Booked through Pacific for Less. It really lived up to all the hype. The resort was absolutely beautiful.. The OWB room was huge, and very well appointed Five Start +++. . The staff was over the top nice to us.. The resort never felt crowed at all.. it was so quiet and perfectly clean. Had a little problem with the AC and they gave us a free dinner at the lagoon rest.. ($350 value).. can't beat that. if you want "it" it's available for the price. I am glad that we went, and would recommend to do it once, However, having done it, we would not go back.. Sure it's beautiful, but it's sadly overpriced and a little too quiet. We got a great deal from PFL but still i thought overpriced compared to other resorts all around Tahiti and Bora. The best way i can say it is that it is 10% nicer for 75% more money. The food was crazy expensive, like $40 for individual pizza, or $30 burger, or $80 cuban cigar. Plus it gets a little lame being so stuck on the resort's secluded motu. Yes there is a free boat, and free taxi to the shops, but then you are on their time scheduled and not much to do on main island. The best part of bora is the lagoon itself.. the snorkeling, the scuba, and swimming etc. but you can launch an excursion for all of that from any resort. There is no real coral or snorkeling at the resort itself.. Nothing to see off of your OWB but 10 feet of water. Their man-made contained lagoon is kinda cool, once, but rather sparse. I would suggest that the St Regis lease part of a motu beach with actually coral and fish and have a free ferry for half day excursions. Now that would be the bomb. Four-five days is plenty of time at this resort. If it rains be prepared to be bored on bora. As there is not much at all going on at this resort. No planed beach games, no live music, no nightlife what-so-ever. The spa was very nice, but way overpriced.. about $200 for 50 min of anything massage/facial etc. A real meal is about $100-150 pp for dinner without drinks. Pacific for less really hooked us up. They arraigned a free late check out (5 pm) and it was like having an extra day. I met two other couples on the boat back to airport that had to pay $200 each for their late check out. Thanks again Claudia. We spent a lot of our time around the beach and the pool bar- a special thanks to their staff that was very very friendly- Maureen, Steven and Dave all made our experience there more pleasant. So all and all a mixed review. Very nice place, a little too quiet, and just overpriced for their "perfection".

Room Tip: We stayed on the lagoon side. Not worth the extra money to see the mountain, as you can see it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    127
    50
    26
    15
See reviews for
116
1,153
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We' been at St Regis for our honeymoon and it was great. The view was amazing and we haveThree excellent restaurants for our dinner. Local food or shushi, steak or salads, everything is super.
Ask for shark and sting rays feeding tour. It's worth it.
We had to ride bicycles to go for our breakfast but you can have it in your room. Our overwater villa was the best part. We really had great time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I visited 3 islands on our honeymoon--Moorea, Bora Bora and Taha'a. If we could do it over again, we would have stayed in Bora Bora the entire 11 nights! There are no words to describe the hotel, the service, the staff....every detail is attended to. We were upgraded to a villa and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. Moetini was our butler and took care of us like we were family. Restaurants were great, spa was nice, but very expensive! We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a luxurious stay in paradise. Jet ski tour was great, as was the half day we spent on a private fishing/snorkeling boat tour. Restaurants were all good, but Jean-Georges was our favorite. Worth going off property to Villa Mahana one night for a romantic dinner!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Royal Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazing hotel, amazing staff, amazing facilities.....etc. A real dream vacation and true paradise :D
Not enough stars for this island paradise. Absolute perfection in a hotel
From the moment you landed at the airport, which is on an islet, you will be taken back by the mesmerizing neon blue lagoon with fantastic Otemanu Mountain as the back drop

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent 5 days at the St. Regis. An amazing resort with great food (the Lagoon restaurant is spectacular), wonderful service, beautiful views, and rooms that are comfy but large and include a bathroom you could live in (rain shower and large tub included). We got a package that included the large buffet breakfast, which was also wonderful and allowed one to eat breakfast and dinner only with never being hungry. The staff was absolutely outstanding, ever present, always helpful. The resort is enormous, but if you don't wish to walk, the staff is always available to pick you up. Treat yourself to the spa, I had the best massage of my life.

The resort also has a shuttle to the main base, and I would recommend evenings out to try other restaurants. The Saint James was absolutely excellent but go to Bloody Mary's for drinks only. Also if a cruise ship is in town, Valtepe becomes a very busy city with lots of vendors selling their homemade wares. I thought I would hate it but had a ball, taking one rainy day to spend on the main island.

One more hint, if you are at all interested in buying pearls, go with a bit of education on your side.

Have fun!!!

Room Tip: The lagoon overwater bungalows are cheaper and were wonderful. I wouldn't spend the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have arrived! Wow! Yes, this is the word, pretty much sums it all to describe the island of Bora Bora. From the moment you landed at the airport, which is on an islet, you will be taken back by the mesmerizing neon blue lagoon with fantastic Otemanu Mountain as the back drop. It seemed as though I was transported and became part of the familiar film The South Pacific. The St. Regis Resort was a welcoming sight, these splendid Overwater Villas, which became my home for 8 nights, the entire experience was flawless. The Deluxe Overwater is worth the upgrade from Overwater Villa, ask for the a unit facing the Otemanu Mountain, do take advantage of the pay 6 stay 8(2 nights free), this is the extended promo of pay 3 stay 4 with free breakfast daily, also ask for the Couples Retreat package, from Deluxe Overwater to free upgrade to the Premier Overwater Villa. "This deal is terrific" pointed out by Geri Miller at Tahiti Discount Travel in Newport Beach, Calif.
She prepared my 15th year Anniversary trip with getting us the best money can buy and added free jet ski excursion for two, very romantic way to see Bora Bora from the water. Also, she recommended and reserved a dinner for two at the resort's restaurant, this is a must , the famous Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges, take the sunset deck seating, just amazing & gastronomic experience all together!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Not enough stars for this island paradise. Absolute perfection in a hotel. From arriving with a butler waiting at the airport/dock, to having a golf cart ready at all times to take you around the island if you are too lazy to ride. Food was absolutely sensational, and the most friendly staff I have ever met. The ultimate in decadence

Room Tip: Definately an overwater bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 18 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
#13 of 18 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.