We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Bora Bora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bora Bora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights in September after a week at La Tahaa'. This is by far the best resort in all of Bora Bora.

Resort- the resort is spread out and the bikes they offer each morning are great. They take the bikes around 4pm from outside of your room if you aren't using them so plan accordingly for dinner. It was always a nice walk before and after dinner. The grounds are beautifully kept.

Spa- the spa was slightly outdated and needed a little sprucing up but the treatments are great. We did massages at the spa and also in our room.

Food- breakfast was great everyday and I never got sick of it. The sushi restaurant was actually our favorite, everything was really fresh. We ate twice at the Lagoon restaurant and it was amazing both times. One night we sat inside and watched the sharks swim under us and another night we sat on the deck and threw bread to the fish.

Room- the rooms were HUGE and really great layout. We loved how the bathrooms have sliding windows that open to the bedroom area. We didn't do a lot of swimming off our deck, the current is a little strong and it wasn't that interesting of a swimming area. We also had solid rain for 4 out of 7 days in early September. We did have cockroaches in our room. I never saw one alive but my husband stepped on a live one in the middle of the night one night an there was also one on his pillow one night. He didn't tell me until we checked out and I mentioned it to the front desk and they were very sweet and took $300 off. I live in NYC and understand that cockroaches are a thing of life and you can't get them off a tropical island. They seem to do evrythibg they can to keep them to a minimum.

Activities- I would strongly recommend the shark and sting ray snorkeling . Such a memorable activity, lots of fun. We also went to Villa Mahana and had a really nice time.

If you are going to Bora Bora this is the place to be and worth the splurge. We averaged approx $1500 a day for all meals, drinks, activities and spa appts. We honesty spared no expense and did everything the way you always dream of on a honeymoon, you could probably scale it back but still expect an average of $800-$1200 per day on top of your room.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    956
    97
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
76
905
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. The staff did everything they could to please us. After the first day, they knew us by name. Rooms were the best I've ever seen. Only downside was that they had several new staff from France just after Christmas, learning the ropes. No issues though.

Room Tip: All over water 1 room bungalows are the same. Price is based on view. Can't really see the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Yes, we really did take our kids (son age 7 and daughter age 11) to Bora Bora, and we all had a wonderful time. Had a fantastic 2 bedroom suite with a large plunge pool at the very end of the pier, with a fantastic view of the "crazy mountain", as the kids called it. Had breakfast on our outdoor deck every morning, and the kids loved jumping off the edge of the pool into the lagoon.
Seeing fish swim through the cut out windows in the floor was a highlight for them too. The resort was very prepared for them, even though they might have been the only kids there. Had kid's menus, brought them to early sittings for dinner at restaurants, and used babysitting services. They didn't use it much, but twice they were the only kids at the club, and were taking on a special fishing trip, and a tour of the property. My daughter loved water skiing on the smooth lagoon waters. They liked wading in the "river current" and swinging in the hammocks too. Did some fun snorkelling trips, sting ray feeding, a private beach BBQ, and some helmet diving. At one of the smaller pools we were usually the only ones there, so we didn't disturb anyone. Even the big pool was not very crowded and the kids liked getting drinks and snacks at the swim up bar. There were a few English kids TV shows available, and they thought the French ones were funny. This was 2 years ago, pre-iPad, but they managed to entertain themselves quite well. We did bring DVDs with us to play in the room.

And we adults had a great time too. Very relaxing, great service, gorgeous scenery, and it wonderful to know that the kids were so thrilled. We were able to enjoy our time there as well.
Spa was great, and the whole family drove me over in the golf cart, and then hung out exploring the pond nearby. I think we have memorized the movie "Couples Retreat" which was playing on a continuous loop on a dedicated loop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The resort offers a wonderful location, great sunsets, nice beach, good food, GREAT DRINKS, and wonderful accomodations
I stayed in an over water and I could sit on my bed and look out at the pristine south pacific water while Sippin' Champagne
Doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great place and staff. Very quiet and relaxing.The lagoon restaurant was just fatastic. The only down side was we felt that the manager had taken his 'eye off the ball' a little as one or two things could do with a little general maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The St. Regis Bora Bora was literally a dream. We were greeted with tea and a private tour of the resort grounds. We were upgraded from one bungalow to a nicer one. The food was outstanding, service was outstanding, it was peaceful and everything you could want in a vacation. The only downside was how expensive it was. I don't think I will ever experience a more expensive hotel, but I knew this going into booking the trip. I doubt the other hotels are much cheaper anyways. I highly highly recommend staying here, especially if you want a trip that cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Splurge on an over water bungalow- it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Pacific for less was great and we got a decent deal through Claudia - thanks ! Perhaps it was the rainy season, out of 8 days there, we only had 1.5 days of sun, but all in all, a bit disappointing... (Vote goes to Maldives as a whole).


We were there for our honeymoon and while we enjoyed the trip overall, everything there was just not as new and nice as expected and frankly, very overpriced. Cocktails were 25 USD, Burgers/Pasta were easily 30-40USD, just really wasn't worth it. The actual island and lagoon/sea was breathetakingly blue and beautiful but at a very expensive price !

The bungalows are big but a bit rundown, bicycles are not guaranteed so it's first come first serve(and had no brakes!). Service is good tho, people very nice.

Ok to miss:
Japanese restuarant in the hotel - very disappointing, served sake in a tea cup!
Jean George - didn't try personally but spoke to other honeymooners and travellers there and no one really strongly recommended it.

Worth checking out:
Feeding and snorkelling in the lagoon, lots of fun!
Going out to Island for dinners - vast choices and the restaurants will pick you up from the dock
Villa Mahana - in particular was a beautiful surprise for french cuisine, hubby and wife partnership in running the restaurant, wonderful experience and yummy food. Not cheap at all but completely worth the money
Taking the sail boat out around the cove
Joining Ranui Tours for day trip to snorkel and feed the sting rays and sharks... this tour is not on the hotel list but definitely worth contacting on your own... better rates and smaller group!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730 , French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.