We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bora Bora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora to your Saves list
InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Bora Bora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a wonderful spot. The natural beauty of this resort is unbeatable. The overwater villas were great. We packed some rafts and inner tubes and floated around our villa many times. The hotel's paddle boards, kayaks and paddle boats were fun and easy to use. The resort's lagoon was great for snorkeling and it was fun to watch the rays at feeding time. The resort staff was awesome. All of the people we met were welcoming and professional. If we had any questions or concerns the staff was ready and willing to help. In addition to the resort we had great experiences with Top Dive and also the snorkeling excursion. We had a wonderful visit and recommend this to anyone who wants an incredible vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Ia Orana Susie, Greetings from Bora Bora Bora,

What a beautiful review for a wonderful spot! Mauruuru roa!

We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is pleasant to read that you had fun doing the large panel of water activities that provide our resort and Bora Bora. With such a stunning lagoon, it is a blessing!

We hope we will take care of you once again in a near future...

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    162
    46
    27
    12
See reviews for
101
1,060
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just returned from a six day stay at the Thalasso-Spa& Resort. In all, we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to others. The positives:
* A very friendly reception upon arrival. Although check-in is not until 2pm, they provided us with a day room and managed to get us into our room by 10:30AM (we arrived at 8:45AM)
*The room was beautiful. We stayed in the Emerald room category (the least expensive category) and had a very lovely, private view of the beach on the other side of the hotel
*Housekeeping is friendly and efficient. They always got our room done in the morning.
* Service overall is friendly and responsive. They provided us with a wonderful fruit plate, a small bottle of champagne since we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and a small cake since it was also my birthday.
*Outdoor entertainment is great- they had a duo which played several times right on the beach while we were there.
* Lounge chairs by the beach are fabulous. Although the hotel was supposedly full, we were able to get a great spot right on the beach every day.

What keeps this resort from being "5-star":
* The food is incredibly expensive- expect to pay $35 for lunch, per person and more for dinner. The food is good, but not great so the prices don't seem justifiable
* One night my husband ordered the Asian pork belly at the Sands restaurant. It was horrible. most of the dish was bone and gristle. Fortunately, they did remove the cost of his meal from our bill because he could not eat it.
* Sometimes the service is hit or miss. Although overall, it was positive- there was one rather rude woman who made the omelets at breakfast. Overall, the servers are very friendly, but sometimes they aren't able to explain what a dish consists of when you want more details.
*Be careful when you do the sting ray feedings at the beach. Although this is a great, once-in-a -lifetime experience, they do not warn guests about the possibility of being bitten by fish beforehand. I had a skip jack really chomp down on my fingers while holding raw fish to feed the stingrays. I was bleeding profusely and one of the pool boys held of my hand as an example of "what not to do" I can understand that this was all in fun, but they didn't make any effort to assist me with antiseptic and bandages, we had to go track down the concierge to get help with the injury.
The next day, this happened to a guy who was also trying to feed the rays, he came out of the water constantly sucking on his fingers. If I were a parent, I wouldn't let my kids take this risk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru for such a detailed feedback!

First of all, congratulations on your 10 years anniversary. We love to read you have had a fabulous overall experience for such an important occasion.

We take note of your comments. Please rest assured that your those are taken quite seriously and our staff is following up to make improvements as needed. About the stingray feeding, we are sorry that your finger was bleeding and that you received assistance only by going to the Concierge desk. We have a very strict and precise procedure that our pool boys have to respect. It is for instance forbidden to let the guests feed the stingrays to avoid the misadventure you have experienced. We will make sure this is properly respected for the wellness of our valuable guests and we thank you for letting us know.

We hope to see you soon, so you can admire the beauty of Bora Bora once again…

Sunny Regards

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

nice hotel beautiful view, very, very expensive, mazing overwater suites with natural beauty of the lagoon makes this a must see destination. When we arrived, we had an unfortunate incident with a staff at reception, but this was speedily resolved by management who are really on the ball.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Ia Orana Leonardo, Greetings from Bora Bora,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor readers.

We are glad to read you have enjoyed your time in our resort. The spectacular view on the Mount Otemanu from your luxury bungalow is truly one to remember for a lifetime.

Also, it is a satisfaction for us to read you have appreciated the resolution proposed by the Front Office team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryille, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is THE resort to stay at if you are planning a trip to Bora Bora. The property is amazing and the view from the rooms and beach is just stunning. The huts are incredible and decorated beautifully with decks off of the back that drop down into the lagoon.

The ray and shark excursion we booked through the hotel has absolutely ruined me from being able to enjoy a similar experience at another resort. Once you do an activity like that surrounded by 20-30 rays and and equal number of black tip sharks every other encounter pales in comparison.

The Spa was amazing. My wife and I did a couples massage over a glass floor looking into the water. It was like looking into a huge aquarium!

Use the safe when you travel. Several in our party had some money taken from their room on the last day we were there. We were not one of those but there was quite a few that did report missing cash. That was the only downside to this trip.

We went in December 2013 and I have recommended this resort to everyone I know who is considering going to Bora Bora.

Room Tip: Try to request a room that has a view of the mountain from the back deck. The rooms have a large win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Ia Orana Gregory, Greetings from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru Gregory for your feedback regarding your stay in December.

We are happy to read that you loved all aspects of the resort, especially the Deep Ocean Spa and its fabulous treatments.

We hope you will have another opportunity to visit the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa ! If you do, no doubt you will have a warm "Ia Orana e Maeva" to welcome you back at the marina.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Amazing overwater suites with natural beauty of the lagoon makes this a must see destination.

When we arrived, we had an unfortunate incident with a staff at reception, but this was speedily resolved by management who are really on the ball.

Overwater bungalow was absolutely beautiful and welcoming. Felt like home away from home, unfortunately the housekeeping staff were not efficient or competent as one would expect of a resort of this nature.

The ambiance was beautiful and In-keeping with a luxury island get away.
Restaurant:
Perhaps the most disappointing thing about this resort was the food. The a la carte menu at the Sands was an absolute joke. Very limited in the selection and definitely does not cater for most tastes. On our first night at this restaurant, we waited for a full hour for our mains to be served. Only to be sadly disappointed with the food. Small serving size that left us unsatisfied.
We asked for butter with our rolls which never came. Not wanting to make a fuss on our firsts night we ignored this and ate dry rolls. But the service got worse as mentioned above.
Dessert was awful to say the least. Flavors did little to compliment each other. Poor and limited choices.

Buffet evening on Mon, Wed. And Friday are not bad. Relatively better variety.
None of the drinks are covered in the half board and are very pricey. Paid around $10.00 for bottled water which the restaurant insists on serving.
Cocktails taste watered down and again are overpriced.
A must is the green coconut cocktail.

If you love Nespresso, bring your own capsules and use the Nespresso machines in the bungalows.

Spa
Was overpriced
Had the Polynesian treat which was an absolute joke and really should not be called a massage. It was more like subtle application of oil to the body with no massage to speak of as no pressure was applied to the body at any point. The so called head massage again felt like light application of oil to the hair without even touching the scalp. Very disappointing. The only good thing about this so called massage was the overwater massage room.

The next day I decided to try the water signature experience, which was amazing. The Absolute affusion and foot reflexology was worth every cent paid. The massage therapist was professional and knowledgable which sort of made up for the previous sham of a massage

The concierge, Laura, was very efficient, friendly and dedicated and made our stay all the more enjoyable by taking care of all day trips and excursions.

Don't waste your time or effort going to the mainland as there is really nothing to do or see that's worth it.

Everything in BoraBora is overpriced. Expect to spend....

Room Tip: Bring your own Nespresso capsules. Bring plenty of snacks. Don't waste your time visiting th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here.

We are glad you had a positive overall experience in our resort as you rated the hotel 4 out of 5 stars.
However, we are very sorry to read the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please, rest assured that the matters you have raised are not common in our property. This will be quickly discussed with the heads of department concerned. Your review is important to us as we strive to provide excellent service in our resort in order to make every occasion a beautiful one.

We hope, we will have another occasion to warmly greet you at the marina.

Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just returned from our honeymoon and stayed in an end-of-pontoon Diamond OWB. Without question the most exceptional weather, views, and serenity I have ever experienced. Every picture and review will pale in comparison to experiencing Bora Bora in person, and it is one bucket list item that really hurts to cross off!

Pros: first impression of the resort, cleanliness, location, complimentary WiFi for Ambassador members, swimming pool and lounge area, fitness center, spa, breakfast, cocktails (Happy Hour), sunrises over the Pacific, star-gazing, unplugging from the world, privacy, boat shuttle to Moana.

We were a little let-down by the lack of food variety (excluding breakfast). Obviously, this is French Polynesia, but food variety on the mainland is far superior than on the motu. We were also caught off guard by the number of beetles/roaches/lizards in our bungalow. We completely understand that this is an outdoor resort, but we "found" significantly more than expected. Last, you will read reviews of some resorts where guests had items stolen, and sadly this resort will make that list. A few days into our stay we had some duty-free liquor stolen by hotel staff, and our complaint was not handled as well as it could have been. Ensure everything of value is in your room safe, and don't hesitate to prevent hotel staff from entering your bungalow.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a mountain view due to the exceptional views (rainbows, sunsets, etc.). If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just returned from a trip to the InterContinental Bora Bora with my husband and two teenaged daughters. We had a fabulous time there! Our over-water bungalow was spacious and comfortable. We loved the kayaks and paddle-boards available for our daily use. The weather and views were exceptional. We appreciated the fine service we received from the entire staff. I especially want to note the excellent service that Rodrigue from the front office provided to us, responding to my email inquiries before we arrived, personally greeting us at the dock upon our arrival, and working hard to address our special requests. Thank you - we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: While the bungalows have the same floor plan, the view and degree of privacy gets better further out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your beautiful family experience in our resort.

We are glad to read that you and your family have found plenty of things to do in our resort. It is true that families love to share moments together by kayaking or paddling onto the lagoon.

A special thanks to Rodrigue who was definitely your reference. We are proud he did an excellent job throughout your stay!

Thank you again for sharing, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Address: Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.