We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bora Bora Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora to your Saves list
InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Piti Aau | BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Bora Bora Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

So this is a five star review because it's Bora Bora for goodness sake. If you're complaining about turquoise lagoons, warm pools, coral reefs and blue skies it is time to go to therapy.

The hotel itself was very good; not perfect, but very good. The rooms are large and the eco-friendly air conditioning is extraordinary, the food is delicious (if very expensive) and the facilities generally are excellent. We didn't use the spa but had good reports from other guests. We were there with our 10 and 11 year old who both loved it.

If you're looking at things to think about I would suggest:
1. It is about a 15-20 minute boat ride from the main island so if sight-seeing is your things but we went across to the island a couple of times; it just takes time but the trip to La Villa Mahana was totally worth it
2. Individually the service was exceptional across the resort but the restaurant service was very mixed and on several occasions orders came to the table wrong and only after a long wait. The night the main restaurant was closed for a private party was a particular shambles. No big issue, remember you are in Bora Bora, but could be frustrating for some. Breakfast service and buffet was always good
3. The coral garden is wonderful; make sure you ask where it is as there is very little for snorkellers in the lagoon itself
4. There is a tennis court (AstroTurf) which is fine but the net is fixed and low. Great for fun but not really up to anything more serious
5. Getting the breakfast room service at least once is a must; great fun
6. The snorkel gear from the resort is fine so only take your own if you are serious

Basically, it's brilliant. The hotel is wonderful; the staff could not have been more helpful individually ( thanks to Gwendoline, Sophie who drove to her house to help us, Alisa, Mario and too many others to mention). The ice machines rarely worked, but no big deal, a dip in the ocean was cooling enough.

Final tip. I have rarely seen so many burnt people. Slap on more sun protection people!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Ia Orana Tom B,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience here.

We are extremely happy to read that you have loved our resort and all the services we can offer.

I will personally congratulate all the staff and more specifically, the ones you have mentionned. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again so you can try the Deep Ocean Spa, which is, indeed, a great experience. There are so many incredible massages there, you do not want to miss them...

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    175
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
115
1,158
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The boat transfer to the resort was lovely, check in was average due to the staff's inability to understand English well (a different experience than other countries, they didn't seem to try).

We arrived at our Diamond overwater bungalow and it was truly special, at the far end it offered superior privacy, the suite was very good and the coffee table with the glass bottom was a very special feature. The depth of the water was approx. a metre and we frequently saw beautiful fish and an abundance it was really special.

Communicating with the staff was an uphill battle even when providing visual samples they would return with something different.

The food, we ate on two occasions both at the beachside restaurant, the buffet presentation was poor and regardless of read reviews we didn't think it could be that bad. On the first occasion the dead salad from the salad bar was struck from the bill, the second occasion was chicken breast so overcooked it was tough, again struck from the bill. We then resorted to taking the daily speed boat transfer to Matira Point to attend the local mini mart for our supply of food the mini mart was quite good after I got over being accused of shoplifting by a French matriarch because I elected to use my own bag.

We did eat once at the Le Moana IC and it was very good, unsure why Thalasso can't get it right.

It's certainly worth the boat transfer (complimentary) to Matira Beach (if you like beaches) this is so special, excellent snorkelling and large mantra ray cruising the shallows, very few tourists and the area around Lo Moana is really lovely.

We did have a lovely holiday here despite everything

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guest, Greetings from Bora Bora,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking time to write this review regarding your very recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to read you had a “lovely holiday” and that you liked your Diamond overwater bungalow with view onto the island.

The coffee table with the glass bottom which allows you to see the blue lagoon from your bungalow is a feature that guests love ! We value your advice about going to Matira Beach. We also think it is worth going there as it is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

All the team is always devoted to our guests’ needs so you can have the best experience possible. That is why, we are sorry to read that you had problems communicating with our staff and that you are disappointed with your experience in our restaurants. Please contact us at gmoffice.boraboraspa@ihg.com so we can obtain additional details regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this slightly impacted your experience in our hotel and hope to have another possibility to take care of you in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our second visit to Intercontinental Bora Bora Resort - Thalasso Spa in 2 years. It was one of the main reasons we returned to Bora Bora - the stunning views, the gorgeous rooms, the resort grounds, awesome/friendly staff, prompt service, ease of transfer to/from main island - we love it here - it is truly paradise on earth! Highly recommend the Deep Ocean Spa as well - the staff is exceptionally friendly and well versed in the art of massage! :-) The only con would be service at the restaurant in the evening - too few wait staff spread too thinly, but not a deterrent - great food and friendly staff. We cannot say enough good things about this resort - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All bungalows are gorgeous - you won't be disappointed with any of them!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear szent, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru roa for the time you spent on this review.

We really want to thank you for your loyalty. It was truly a pleasure to welcome you again in our resort.

We approve your description of Bora Bora, as we think it is "paradise on earth" as well. We are glad you also liked the Deep Ocean Spa. It is the perfect place to relax!

Thank you again, we are looking forward to welcoming you again : as we say : "Good things always happen in threes".

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had an incredible honeymoon at the Intercontinental Thalasso Bora Bora. We stayed in room 108, which we selected carefully after we called and asked for a recommendation. The room has privacy and deep waters (but not too deep) and does not face the harbor with ongoing traffic.

Since we were on a honeymoon package, the hotel made an extra effort to treat us with care. They sent us a few bottles of champagne, fresh fruit and pastries. They also gave us towels and goodies to take home. We enrolled for the intercontinental hotel ambassador club which automatically upgraded us, totally worth the money.

Food was pretty good. Breakfast buffet is the same every day. Dinner was included for us and the quality was great. I would highly recommend getting a package that includes breakfast & dinner to help save costs. For lunch, we brought instant noodles and some food, but occasionally ate sandwiches from the restaurant by the pool. Pricey, but good enough.

The room, oh my god. It is AMAZING. There's a big living room, a huge closet (although the toilet is in there--odd), and a bathtub that faces the ocean. The bed faces a floor to ceiling window that opens into the wide ocean. The patio and deck are roomy and ours offered plenty of privacy.

There's not much to do at the hotel...and we didn't bother venturing out to the main island. There's not much on TV either. We downloaded several seasons of Sons of Anarchy, and brought a HDMI cable which connected our laptop to the TV. We were plenty entertained!

p.s. there is cockroach spray in the room. Apparently, this is normal for the bungalow style rooms. I did spot one dead cockroach behind the tv, but never saw a live one.

Room Tip: Room 108 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Erica K, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru roa for this mervellous feedback and for sharing your beautiful memories and advices on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased and very satisfied to hear that you spent an "amazing honeymoon experience" and the staff took care of you.

In Bora Bora the flora and fauna are very diversified. We are always at the guest's disposal if they need help.

All my warm regards,

We hope to welcome you again, and my best wishes for your wedding.

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hotel and location can’t be faulted – the bungalows are better than they look in the photos. If you are paying full price then I would recommend joining the ambassador programme as you will probably make back the fee on this trip alone.

On the down side the hotel is expensive eg £6 for a bottle of water. With a bit of thought you can save some money – one the first day we went to the island and visited the local supermarket and stocked up on water, bottle of rum and some snacks (take the morning boat which is free and a rucksack so you can carry more). The trip is worth doing even if you don’t buy anything. The gym also provides free water.

Despite the cost it is still well worth doing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

Mauruuru roa for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community.

We are thrilled to know you found the location excellent. We are facing the majestic Mount Otemanu and we think it is a great chance to have such a view.

Thank you for saying it is "well worth doing", we are devoted to our guests' needs everyday so they can have a beautiful experience. Your comment rewards us!

We hope to see you soon in our resort, so we can take care of you once again.

Sunny regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were put into Emerald Suite 106. In one word WOW! Three lovely days. The staff were great. The food was just ok. However at 4am on our second night we were awoken to water flowing from the ceiling in the water closet. When we called the front desk, the maintenance guy came quickly. About 40 minutes later he had thd problem fixed and said housekeeping would be by to clean up the mess. No one came. I cleaned it up myself. The disappointing thing is we did not hear one word from any of the management team and they didn'T EVEN offer a token form of compensation such as breakfast, lunch or a drink for our obvious discomfort and lack of sleep. For the extreme cost of staying here this was a let down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went there for our honeymoon back in August 2006. The hotel inaugurated only few months back. This hotel is a Dream hotel. All bungalows are in front of the volcano, which is an amazing view! even if you rent of the first bungalows from the "Y" you will get the view.
Service was amazing, all employees always smiling!

I recommend you to stay here and do not stay on the hotels located in the volcano or main island for the following reasons:
1. You will not get a view to the volcano!
2. Those hotels (bungalows) are located next to the local communities (you will see their houses and day to day living, you may pet their dogs or the dogs will be swimming with you). What I mean is that you will not have privacy, that is all.

Stay in the "Motu Piti A au" side or "Motu Mute". Gloogle it in maps and you will see what I am taking about. I believe there are only two hotels in this thin land area: Intercontinental Thalasso spa and the Four Seasons which is newer than the Thalasso.

Finally, when we stayed there were NO KIDS! so we enjoyed it more! If you plan to bring your kids, I will not recommend it because there are no activities for them at all.

Enjoy it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Almendra1, Ia Orana from Bora Bora,

We are delighted to receive such a wonderful review. Even after eight years, we see that the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso-Spa lets you and your husband incredible memories.

We wanted to thank you for all your advices that will, for sure, help the community to make the good choice. Indeed, our guests can really enjoy a spectacular view on the Mount Otemanu.

Since your stay in 2006, we are now offering several activities such as canoe, paddle, pedal boat… and families really love to share such warm moments.

We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Best Sunny Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso-Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Address: Motu Piti Aau | BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.