We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, amazing, amazing.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora to your Saves list
InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Hobart
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing, amazing.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent six nights here for our honeymoon and it was just amazing.

Upon arriving by boat I was blown away by how beautiful it was, the water was so clear and blue!

We had a Diamond bungalow and were one from the end, a great view and spot!

We had no problem with any of the staff here, everyone was so friendly and whenever you passed a staff member they always smiled and said hello.

A couple of activities we did included:
shark and ray tour with raanui tours - excellent tour, beautiful snorkeling and get up close with sharks and sting rays, we even saw manta rays.

Helicopter tour - this was just amazing, we did a 15 min tour and was such a great way to see the island, we got some great photos of the resorts.

Jet ski tour - did a 2 hour jet ski tour, this was great, we stopped on a motu for a coconut showing, was lots of fun!

Day spa - we got a 2 hour package at the day spa, it was very nice but the day spa is very very expensive!! they have nice facilities as well you can use before and after your spa treatment.

We got breakfast delivered to our bungalow one morning by canoe, this is about $200 AUD expensive but they bring you a massive breakfast!! we had fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, cereal, juice etc.

We had a half board meal plan while we were there, this included buffet breakfast and 3 courses for dinner each night, I strongly suggest getting a meal plan as the food at the resort is very expensive!
If we were to go back we would even go the full board meal plan as this includes lunch as well. We spent around $60+ for lunch, so if you are there a little while it all adds up by the end of the trip!

We went to Bloody Marys one lunch time but they werent serving lunch on this particular day so we just had tapas, reasonably priced cocktails and food.

We had dinner at both the Sands and the Reef restaurants, the reef was mainly seafood.

We got the boat over to Le Moana one night for dinner just for something different but it wasnt worth it, service wasnt as good and the food was a bit poor. But if you are sick of the sands and reef and want something different, the boat will take you over to the Moana.

We also joined the intercontinental ambassder program before leaving, I suggest this as well.

We got a room upgrade from a sapphire to a diamond bungalow, water in our room daily, fruit on arrival and late check out.

We arrived quite early when we got there, our room wasnt ready but they have day rooms for you to store your luggage and have a shower, this was really handy we just got into our bathers and went swimming until our room was ready and also had lunch.

Cocktails at bubbles bar were great, they were about $30 AUD. very yummy and professional bartenders here.

I definetly recommend this resort, it was just perfect and so amazing, we were so lucky and had amazing weather the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    156
    45
    25
    12
See reviews for
96
1,017
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is hard to discribe just how beautiful this resort is. But I will try. You get there by boat, there are no roads thus no cars and trucks and noise. All you will hear is the sound of the surf from the Pacifis Ocean pounding on the reef and the birds. The villas are on the lagoon and the depth is from 3 feet to 8 feet plus. The villas themselves are large units with every thing you will need to be happy. At the foot of the bed is a picture window and a view to kill for. Snorkel right off your own private deck and dock. Fish and abundunt(sting-rays, tropical fish, needle fish you name it).
The food is great and the servings are just right not too big or too small. If there was a down side to this resort it could only be the cost. This place doesn't come cheap. Just the opposite. If you order water with your meal is will cost you around $6.50us. But I think anyone who wants to go to Bora Bora knows this in advance and it will be all part of this wonderful experence.Check out their web site as there is just too much to put down here.

Room Tip: All the villas have great views and the price goes up as you go out farther on the spit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would like to mention a few members of staff first that made the stay memorable for us.

They were Godwin, Shamelle, Lania, Margret and Caeser.

They all gave fantastic service to us and loved our little boy Freddie.

The hotel is quite business like but offered a nice varity of restaurants although they were expensive.

The room that we had originally was very noisy due to building work going on outside so they moved us to the beach view which was very good. They also gave us comp tea/coffee etc in the business lounge every day for the hassle as the service on our first day was dreadful.

After that it was a very nice holiday xx

Thank you xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have booked our honeymoon at IC Bora Bora and are due to fly there in about 2 weeks. I have so far emailed them (based on the email address on their website) and have had no response. So I sent them another one 4 days ago, yet again nothing!

I've now decided to call them but the phone number on their website is not correct! It says that it is not in service!

We haven't even arrived there yet and I'm having doubts about this hotel's level of service. For a 5 star resort that charges over $1k a night i would expect better than this. We travel often and to both luxurious and non luxurious places and have yet to experience such bad service. They better be performing above expectations from here on out for us to be satisfied!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, Directeur général at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to to give us your feedback. The email address on the website is the correct one and we are really attentive to answer our guest's demand very quickly. Could you please send it back to my intention at intercontinental.borabora.thalasso@ihg.com and I will make sure that you have a response immediately.
It is very important for us to provide the best experience to our guest, so be sure that we will do our maximum to make sure that you have an unforgetable moment with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The InterContinential Thalasso Spa - Bora Bora is incredibly beautiful and well maintained and in a great location, sheltered from the wind. This is important when choosing your hotel in Bora Bora.
I cannot fault this resort and its location. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way. Happy hour with the bartenders is loads of fun and the cocktails are incredible!
There are also fantastic activities run by locals including the 2 hour jetski tour and the Motu Experience - 5 hour tour around the island.
We also indulged in the honeymoon package in the Thalasso Spa which was also amazing. If you choose this resort, I do recommend you indulge in the spa as the facilities within the spa itself are incredible.We travelled in October and it was fantastic weather.
While everything in Bora Bora is expensive, I believe Thalasso offers great value for money.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: The diamond bungalows have the best view of Bora Bora and are slightly further out which offers a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from a week at the IC Thalasso. The property itself is beautiful and the rooms are so spacious and well laid out. We enjoyed the OWB Diamond with a direct view of the mountain. The abiity to walk out the door and float in the lagoon was wonderful. We did bring a raft but only used it 2 or 3 times.

Overall we found the service at this property to be lacking in the area of food and beverage and front desk. We arrived from LA at approximately 10 am and told our room was not available and we would be alterted when it was by 2 pm. Unfortunately this did not happen. We spent the morning at the pool and then enjoyed lunch at the Sands where we literally had to chase down our server for the check. At approximately 230 we went to the front desk to ask if our room was available and the nice gentleman said it had been for a while. Unfortunately the person that checked us in, had us sign all the release forms and took our credit card forgot to tell us.

In terms of the restaurants, the Nui Nui at the other property was horrible. Incredibly poor service and the quality of food was low. I ordered a steak that was filled with fat and gristle and we were never offered any more to drink once our bottle of water was empty.

In terms of the Reef, the buffets and breakfast are nice. Good variety of food. The plated evenings are alright. Some of the dishes came out in preparations I was not expecting based on the description. Very elegant. Again, service lacking. We brought this to the F & B Managers attention and he did send a written note of apology and half bottle of champagne to our room.

Overall this was a good trip. The pool is very nice, eventhough you have this beautiful beach right in front of you. They came around with the most beautiful smelling cool towels to refresh in the early afternoon and a fruit appetizer. Additionally some of the demonstrations they did such as coconut husking were interesting.

Room Tip: Room 220 was located in a phenomenal spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a great spot! Be sure to get an overwater room as deep as possible near the end for best views and great swimming! Place lovely,staff friendly,food great...but not for the faint of heart financially! Transfers and organization very structured and good.Day rooms very usefull. We really relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. This property far outweighs the older Moana property.Dont bother eating there either...only worth it for great boat ride over!

Room Tip: Become ambassador club member or priority gold member for upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Address: Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.