We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoyed before even getting there!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora to your Saves list
InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Annoyed before even getting there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have booked our honeymoon at IC Bora Bora and are due to fly there in about 2 weeks. I have so far emailed them (based on the email address on their website) and have had no response. So I sent them another one 4 days ago, yet again nothing!

I've now decided to call them but the phone number on their website is not correct! It says that it is not in service!

We haven't even arrived there yet and I'm having doubts about this hotel's level of service. For a 5 star resort that charges over $1k a night i would expect better than this. We travel often and to both luxurious and non luxurious places and have yet to experience such bad service. They better be performing above expectations from here on out for us to be satisfied!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, Directeur général at InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to to give us your feedback. The email address on the website is the correct one and we are really attentive to answer our guest's demand very quickly. Could you please send it back to my intention at intercontinental.borabora.thalasso@ihg.com and I will make sure that you have a response immediately.
It is very important for us to provide the best experience to our guest, so be sure that we will do our maximum to make sure that you have an unforgetable moment with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    162
    47
    27
    12
See reviews for
101
1,063
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The InterContinential Thalasso Spa - Bora Bora is incredibly beautiful and well maintained and in a great location, sheltered from the wind. This is important when choosing your hotel in Bora Bora.
I cannot fault this resort and its location. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way. Happy hour with the bartenders is loads of fun and the cocktails are incredible!
There are also fantastic activities run by locals including the 2 hour jetski tour and the Motu Experience - 5 hour tour around the island.
We also indulged in the honeymoon package in the Thalasso Spa which was also amazing. If you choose this resort, I do recommend you indulge in the spa as the facilities within the spa itself are incredible.We travelled in October and it was fantastic weather.
While everything in Bora Bora is expensive, I believe Thalasso offers great value for money.
I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: The diamond bungalows have the best view of Bora Bora and are slightly further out which offers a mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from a week at the IC Thalasso. The property itself is beautiful and the rooms are so spacious and well laid out. We enjoyed the OWB Diamond with a direct view of the mountain. The abiity to walk out the door and float in the lagoon was wonderful. We did bring a raft but only used it 2 or 3 times.

Overall we found the service at this property to be lacking in the area of food and beverage and front desk. We arrived from LA at approximately 10 am and told our room was not available and we would be alterted when it was by 2 pm. Unfortunately this did not happen. We spent the morning at the pool and then enjoyed lunch at the Sands where we literally had to chase down our server for the check. At approximately 230 we went to the front desk to ask if our room was available and the nice gentleman said it had been for a while. Unfortunately the person that checked us in, had us sign all the release forms and took our credit card forgot to tell us.

In terms of the restaurants, the Nui Nui at the other property was horrible. Incredibly poor service and the quality of food was low. I ordered a steak that was filled with fat and gristle and we were never offered any more to drink once our bottle of water was empty.

In terms of the Reef, the buffets and breakfast are nice. Good variety of food. The plated evenings are alright. Some of the dishes came out in preparations I was not expecting based on the description. Very elegant. Again, service lacking. We brought this to the F & B Managers attention and he did send a written note of apology and half bottle of champagne to our room.

Overall this was a good trip. The pool is very nice, eventhough you have this beautiful beach right in front of you. They came around with the most beautiful smelling cool towels to refresh in the early afternoon and a fruit appetizer. Additionally some of the demonstrations they did such as coconut husking were interesting.

Room Tip: Room 220 was located in a phenomenal spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a great spot! Be sure to get an overwater room as deep as possible near the end for best views and great swimming! Place lovely,staff friendly,food great...but not for the faint of heart financially! Transfers and organization very structured and good.Day rooms very usefull. We really relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. This property far outweighs the older Moana property.Dont bother eating there either...only worth it for great boat ride over!

Room Tip: Become ambassador club member or priority gold member for upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This place is truly a once in a lifetime get away. The staff was awesome! We hit up happy hour with the awesome bartenders each night! The best part was we got to enjoy two resorts for the price of one! Great location!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The most exotic vacation ever. Staying at the IC Thalasso in their beautiful over water cottages was a real treat. Its a top notch resort where u are treated like royalty from check in where they do all the work and u just sit and sip on a fresh juice and have a warm refreshing towel to a day at the pool where the poolside staff make u feel like family to dining where the staff is warm and welcoming and remember ur name. We did a lot of fun excursions. One hint is to try to book them before u go. That way, u can pay for them before u go and don't have to worry about exchange fees, etc. Also, we did find that when the hotel concierge "helped" us out with reservations, it ended up costing us more than we paid doing it ourselves. Don't forget ur water shoes...Lots of spikey sea urchins. Go on the half-day Lagoonarium trip...We did the full day and it was nice but I think the half day would be plenty of time. The Helmet Dive was awesome. The helicopter tour a must do. Jet skis loads of fun. The jeep safari tour was fun. Bloody Mary's a different dining experience which we enjoyed. Bora Bora has the most beautiful waters u can ever imagine.

Room Tip: Ask for an end cottage so your view of the mountain is unobstructed. It's worth the extra walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staying at the IC Thalasso was, without a doubt, the highlight of our honeymoon. I had spent a lot of time on trip advisor prior to the trip, so I thought I knew what to expect. But it was so much better. The property is situated on a beautiful spot on the island. We loved just sitting on the beach with a view of the mountain.

We got the ambassador membership (highly recommended) and booked a saphire bungalow so we were updgraded to a diamond bungalow. We had a beautiful view of the mountain from our balcony. The bungalow was huge, modern, and had great amenties. We loved the Nespresso maching. (tip: bring your own pods) The service at the resort was incredible. Everyone really tried to make our trip special and they did!

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. We had room service, ate at Sands, and at The Reef. All of the meals were delicious! Lunch was pricey, but you have to expect that when you go to a place like Bora Bora.

We took a few trips to the main island for dinner and sight seeing. It was really nice to have hte free shuttle. Highly recommend Villa Mahana for dinner. We also ate at Bloody Mary's and could have skipped it.

All in all, we had an amazing time and absolutely loved the IC Thalasso!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora

Address: Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.