We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYTHING WAS ...WRONG !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bora Bora Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bora Bora Beach Resort
Save
You added Bora Bora Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 174, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING WAS ...WRONG !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The hotel is not beach side but is actually located hillside between a municipal dump and a favella with errant aggressive dogs. So don’t be fooled by set up brochure pictures.
Large disgusting stains on walls and on bed cover in our guestroom.
Pillows were so used, soft and smelly that they were useless. However I am still waiting for the extra ones I requested from the reception. Toilets were heavily leaking and gave us a sample of the maintenance level all over this property.
Bathroom towels were ridiculously small and there was mildew all over the shower tiles.
Beds were particularly uncomfortable made by the reunion of two narrow twins.
Spider webs with giant spiders were found in each and every corners of the ceiling and I had to kill them in order not to be bitten during the night.
TV remote control unit was useless with no batteries inside. TV unit was not working properly though.
There is no card to access the guests bedrooms but oldish heavy keys.
You have to cross the island belt road whenever you want to reach the reception or the dining area. Their so called private beach has nothing to dream of since it is a man made sand strip with errant dogs not inviting like most of the beaches on Bora Bora.
Do consider that the rooms in units close to the island belt road are VERY noisy : inhabitants ride on motorcycles with noisy exhaust pipes 24/7 when others drive 4WD around the island with extra powerful sound systems taking themselves for moving DJs and imposing their decibels days and nights to the rest of the island !!!
Both check-in and check out were ridiculously long and bothering without any welcoming or any sign of respect to guests like anywhere in French Polynesia explaining why tourists are fleeing this destination or staying on cruise ships in order to avoid having to experience the terrible French Polynesia service.
Needless to say that we only staid 2 nights at this hotel and quickly moved to Manureva House a beautiful well appointed modern self contained vacation rental located north of the island with a gorgeous view.

Last Minute : The ACCOR hospitality brand (NOVOTEL, IBIS, PULLMAN, ...) has terminated its contract since January 1rst, 2010 due to a deluge of unsatisfied customers . The hotel is hardly trying to stay in business under the new name Bora Bora Beach Resort but the situation is currently critical and .bankruptcy imminent : you’d better stay away !!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is the worst Hotel I have ever stayed at!! I have stayed at over 400 differnt hotels and this is #1 as the worst. You would be better sleeping in the jungle.....
Pillows Horrible
Internet Horrible
Food Horrible and over priced
Bugs in rooms
Televisions - Horrible - Small and bad reception
Air Con - Smells and does not work correctly
Can not create a correct bill on check out after 5 times and then late charged me for charges that were not mine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk, ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I must admit that I went in to this trip a little bit nervous after reading some reviews. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed staying at the Novotel. Going to Bora Bora was a must for my honeymoon and staying at the Novotel was the most financially savvy choice to make it possible. We were greated with leis and mai tai drinks at the lobby upon arrival, check in was painless, we were given a map of the facilities, and the info on the restaurant and bar. The rooms are fairly simple but had what we needed; it was cleaned everyday which included floors being mopped. We enjoyed the balcony, sitting out each afternoon after long days in the sun. There's a small fridge, coffee pot with instant coffee etc.
The food:
Breakfast: buffet style- prices seemed consistent with other locales and Tahiti, approx. 2000 francs per person. Lots of fruits, meats, cheeses, BREADS! (which are to die for), cereal, nutella, eggs (fried, scrambled, or omelets). Coffee, juices, milk. Not much to complain about.

Lunch- usually ate outside at the pool/bar area. Chicken Caesar salad was awesome, moist, with a really great marinade. Chicken sandwich, burger and fries all worth it. Salads were awesome here. Huge portion, fresh, crisp, really great dressing.

Dinner- I had Chicken supreme which had this amazing vanilla sauce with shallots, white wine, and cream it was to die for. The mahi mahi with the vanilla sauce was equally as delicious. Both came with veggies and rice or french fries. My husband had the red tuna which was great, pasta napolean which was ok, muscles with wine sauce which were yummy, and pasta with fish (salmon).

This is definitely not the intercontinental or four seasons. But you can't beat the price and really you aren't stuck at the resort or the restuarant. The market is a 2 minute walk away as well as several restaurants (La Bounty= wonderful) and an awesome pizza place. Don't be affraid to try it if you are on a budget.

I believe that the hotel has undergone a management change, and may no longer be part of Novotel. However, I had no problems that would be related to that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was a brand we knew in New Zealand. The brand represents "nothing special, basic and clean for us". So long as you're happy with this then this is probably a good deal for you. It wouldn't be a place to book for a honeymoon unless you are strapped for cash and getting there is a must. You are on the island of BoraBora so not trapped on a motu as I've seen in some reviews. There are several other hotels in the area most of which are probably slightly more expensive and of a higher quality. We ate in a different hotel restaurant every night as the food at our hotel was less than basic. The Maitai seemed to have the best shows and reasonable food. Don't believe the guide book descriptions of some of the "restaurants" - some of them are just shacks selling pizza on the side if the road! Coming from New Zealand we found the prices astonishingly high around 4 times the price we would normally pay. I'm not talking about multistar restaurants here but low star hotels and local stores. You may actually get better "value" eating out in multistar restaurants here. BoraBora has always been an exotic dream for me but the reality was that it was just another island albeit with some of the most lovely sea views I have ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Maybe it was because of the rain but the rooms seemed, outdated, very dark and moldy. This was the smallest room and the worst hotel on my trip to French Polynesia (I stayed on 4 islands). There were some yellow and black stains under the shower, no hot water. After reporting it in the morning this was still not repaired after I came back from a full day trip. The food in the restaurant wasn't good and we decided to switch the restaurant for neighboring Sofitel at a cost. Swimming pool and beach are quite small.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Novotel Bora Bora Beach Resort is a heaven on earth. My husband and I were there for a holiday and I enjoyed it like never before. We booked it through Easy Click web site and we were really happy we found it as It is really one of a kind- exceptional, beautiful and luxurious. Everything there was outstanding and I would really like to come back sometime.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We visited the island of Bora Bora back in 2006 and stayed at this resort for 5 days. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed every minute of the stay. Although it is much cheaper than most of the resorts on the island the treatment we received was 5 star! Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. The beach is beautiful and very private with a pier, the bar and restaurant is right on the beach. The resort has a small infinity pool but still lots of fun relaxing around on the lounges. The rooms are located across the road( the only drawback) so you have to walk across to the main foyer, pool, restaurant and the beach etc but really was not a problem at all. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and are located in a beautiful tropical garden setting. The biggest advantage is the shops are within few minutes walking distance (small supermarket) so you can stock up on food and drinks which is great if you don't want to spend a fortune on food at the resort. ( great lunch alternative- they sell fresh yummy baguettes) Also the car hire company is located there too so if you want to hire a buggy or a car which I highly recommend ( lots of fun cruising around the island and exploring at your own leisure).
All the excursions can be booked through the resort and the staff will recommend the best ones and will arrange everything for you.
Restaurant food was perfect, all you can eat breakfast was delicious and highly recommended. And don't forget the happy hour for 2 for 1 cocktails . There is other restaurants within walking distance too so you don't have to eat at the resort which like anywhere on the island is expensive. But the local eateries and smaller restaurants are much cheaper.
They had a wonderful Polynesian night show with traditional dancing and singing and yes you will get dragged on the dance floor and get to swing your hips as well.
The resort provides free activities like kayaks , snorkling equipment etc although I would recommend to bring your own goggles as these were a bit "tired" and kept leaking. The beach is beautiful with nice views of the motu in the distance. We kayaked one day to the motu from the resort and had a great adventure, we snorkelled , fed the tropical fish... there is plenty tropical fish, bring some left over bread from breakfast hop in the water and enjoy the beautiful marine life.
I would recommend this place for travellers who don't want to break their budget but still have a wonderful holiday in the paradise. Truly this resort is fantastic. It is a smaller resort which gives you the feeling of more privacy and peacefulness.
Staff are wonderful, great food and the easy access to the rest of the island. Great value for money so you can spend more on activities and having fun on the island.
Fast forward a few years and we are going back to Bora Bora cos we just fell in love with the island. It is the most beautiful place on earth. Although we are not going to stay at the same resort because we would like to full fill our dream and experience the overwater bungalows which unfortunately this resort does not have. We are also travelling with 2 young kids this time around( we left them with the grandparents last time ) so opted for a bigger resort to keep them entertained and still have a wonderful experience together. So stay tuned my next review will be for the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort :)
I hope this review was helpful . Have a wonderful time on Bora Bora and believe me you will not want to leave......

  • Liked — Location, convenience, service , friendliness
  • Disliked — Having to cross the road to get to the rest of the resort
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bora Bora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Beach Resort

Address: BP 174, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bora Bora Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Bora Bora Beach Resort is a 3 star resort located on a beautiful white sand beach in French Polynesia. Perfect for a tropical holiday or break with your partner or family, the hotel features ten two-storey Polynesian style buildings set on the mountainside, with 80 rooms overlooking tropical gardens. Boasting an infinity swimming pool and in-house dive centre, the resort also features a restaurant, bar, weekly entertainment program and complimentary water sports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bora Bora Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Novotel Bora Beach Hotel
Accor Bora Beach Hotel
Vaitape Novotel
Novotel Bora Bora Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bora Bora Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.