We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Dining At It's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matira Beach Restaurant

Matira Beach Restaurant
Matira | Matira Beach, 97830 , French Polynesia
67 79 09 or 794 704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 restaurants in Bora Bora
Cuisines: Sushi, French, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ojai, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Island Dining At It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is our favourite restaurant on Bora Bora!
The food was so delicious. The sushi (which is only available for dinner) was the most fresh and exquisite sushi we have ever eaten. We loved the Spicy Tuna Maki Roll, the Maki Fusion and the Tempura Vegetables. We also loved the Duck dish and the Shrimp Curry. And you have to try the Melted Chocolate Cake (Mouelleux) for dessert! OH MY!!
The service was so warm and polite. The chef and waitress own the restaurant so it has a real island homely charm about it. The prices were very reasonable for French Polynesia.
It is located right on the beach, so if you visit for lunch you can gaze out at the turquoise lagoon. The atmosphere was lovely with natural timber beams, large + airy windows, and good music. There are a couple of snack bars/restaurants on Matira Beach and you don't want to mistake one of them for Matira Beach Restaurant, so look for the restaurant with red curtains. We have visited this restaurant a few times now and can't wait to visit again. Loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    70
    19
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 Words... Spicy Tuna Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best. Sushi. Ever. We ordered the tuna tartar and spicy tuna roll for entrees and it was so good we ordered the Spicy Tuna Roll for dessert. This was the only restaurant we attended twice for dinner. Sushi back home will never be the same. The location is perfect as it is located right on the beach where you can see the water if you are there before sunset.

The shrimp tempura was light and fluffy and not over fried.

The chef came out and greeted us and we found out he trained under a Japanese sushi chef. Explained why it was so good. We stayed at the IC Le Moana so we could walk 5 mins there if we wanted to.

We can't comment on any of the entrees as we stuffed ourselves with the sushi rolls. This was easily our best meal while in Bora Bora.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I came to matira beach yesterday - hands down the best sushi I've ever eaten. I'm not one to continually order more rolls after putting in my order however this sushi was too good to pass up and we ended up ordering two more rolls after having split three rolls.

The praise on the tuna is absolutely correct - freshest and tastiest tuna you'll ever consume!

Morgan, the co-owner and chef's wife, was extremely pleasant and hospitable. Our interactions with the natives in Bora bora have not been extremely favorable so meeting Morgan and chatting with her was a very nice surprise and change of pace.

Highly recommend!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Food is ok, extremely overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Food was good, but was small portions and extremely overpriced. We paid less at our hotel restaurant that was on a secluded island and meals were larger and better. Service was bland. Good looking dining area. Nice that its on a beach, but can't see anything anyway at night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bora Bora - by FAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow - this place was great! We were so tired of sub-par meals on Bora Bora that were also overpriced. We were so happy we found Matira Beach.

This place has a great atmosphere and reasonable prices. The food was absolutely amazing......all courses. We had the veggie and shrimp tempura which was an A+. I had the coconut curry shrimp (to die for) and my parnter had the ginger shrimp (also amazing). We both had dessert which I highly recommend the lava cake and the bananas tempura.

Don't pay the outrageous hotel prices for average food.......go to Matira Beach....it was our best meal in 10 days. They will pick you up at the main island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matira Beach Restaurant also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
Vaitape, Bora Bora
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Vaitape, Bora Bora

Been to Matira Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matira Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.