We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Words... Spicy Tuna Roll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matira Beach Restaurant

Matira Beach Restaurant
Matira | Matira Beach, 97830 , French Polynesia
67 79 09 or 794 704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 restaurants in Bora Bora
Cuisines: Sushi, French, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 Words... Spicy Tuna Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Best. Sushi. Ever. We ordered the tuna tartar and spicy tuna roll for entrees and it was so good we ordered the Spicy Tuna Roll for dessert. This was the only restaurant we attended twice for dinner. Sushi back home will never be the same. The location is perfect as it is located right on the beach where you can see the water if you are there before sunset.

The shrimp tempura was light and fluffy and not over fried.

The chef came out and greeted us and we found out he trained under a Japanese sushi chef. Explained why it was so good. We stayed at the IC Le Moana so we could walk 5 mins there if we wanted to.

We can't comment on any of the entrees as we stuffed ourselves with the sushi rolls. This was easily our best meal while in Bora Bora.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    69
    19
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I came to matira beach yesterday - hands down the best sushi I've ever eaten. I'm not one to continually order more rolls after putting in my order however this sushi was too good to pass up and we ended up ordering two more rolls after having split three rolls.

The praise on the tuna is absolutely correct - freshest and tastiest tuna you'll ever consume!

Morgan, the co-owner and chef's wife, was extremely pleasant and hospitable. Our interactions with the natives in Bora bora have not been extremely favorable so meeting Morgan and chatting with her was a very nice surprise and change of pace.

Highly recommend!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Food is ok, extremely overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Food was good, but was small portions and extremely overpriced. We paid less at our hotel restaurant that was on a secluded island and meals were larger and better. Service was bland. Good looking dining area. Nice that its on a beach, but can't see anything anyway at night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bora Bora - by FAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow - this place was great! We were so tired of sub-par meals on Bora Bora that were also overpriced. We were so happy we found Matira Beach.

This place has a great atmosphere and reasonable prices. The food was absolutely amazing......all courses. We had the veggie and shrimp tempura which was an A+. I had the coconut curry shrimp (to die for) and my parnter had the ginger shrimp (also amazing). We both had dessert which I highly recommend the lava cake and the bananas tempura.

Don't pay the outrageous hotel prices for average food.......go to Matira Beach....it was our best meal in 10 days. They will pick you up at the main island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST TUNA of my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

First of all, the ambiance of the restaurant is awesome! The décor and lagoon views are to die for. My husband and I had 6:30pm reservations (a quick walk from the Intercontinental Le Moeana Resort) and got to pick our table (we chose right in front of the large open doors which open to the lagoon). My husband and I started with the spicy tuna rolls.... AWESOME! Then we followed up with a Tuna entrée and a Mahi Mahi entrée. Both of these dishes were amazing but I must say that the tuna was sooo good that we decided to another entrée of Tuna as our dessert. Seriously... It was that good! There were only two servers on staff (one was the owners wife) and both of them were very gracious, friendly and helpful however as many restaurants in Bora Bora, the wait staff is a skeleton crew and they are stretched thin. We did have to wait a considerable amount of time for our after dinner drink and for the check, but YES! This place still earns an excellent status from me, a very tough critic as the ambiance and food were some of the best of my life! Best wishes to you at Matira Beach Restaurant! A MUST while on Bora Bora!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matira Beach Restaurant also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
Vaitape, Bora Bora
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Matira Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matira Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.