We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island to your Saves list
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   BP 516, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%!
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Niagara Falls
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in an overwater bungalow (room 129) for four days during our honeymoon. The hotel is situated in an absolutely beautiful location with excellent opportunities for snorkeling. The bungalows were well appointed and very romantic. I wanted to give the hotel five stars simply because it was the best vacation we have ever had, and because the location is so awe inspiringly beautiful. Since there are many resorts with overwater bungalows competing for your hard earned (honeymoon) dollars, I have to be honest. The service at this resort is slow and lackadaisical. Perhaps we were spoiled on the Paul Gauguin, upon which we spent eleven glorious nights cruising the French Society and Austral Islands, but the service at the Private Island portion of this hotel was far more “laid back” and “island relaxed” than we are used to from our travels in the Caribbean. Dinner at Manu Tuki on the Private Island took a very long time and the wait staff wasn’t very attentive. The food was good, but the portions were small, and it was overpriced. During our stay at this hotel we ate mostly at La Bounty (amazing) or Matira Pizza (with the Pizza Crepes sign) which are a short walk to the left out of the main land resort. La Bounty picks you up for free for dinner. There really isn’t anyone at the bar of the Private Island, so if you want beverages while you sunbathe, I recommend stopping at the store, which is a 3 minute walk to the left out the front entrance of the mainland resort. We experienced a few issues (all of which have easy fixes). We were delivered a bottle of wine to our room with a cork, but there are no bottle openers in the room and only one to share between all of the rooms on the Private Island so we had to wait our turn. There were discarded beer cans and other garbage on the beach (only a few pieces, but still) that remained during all four days of our stay. There was no water in the gym during the four days of our stay. One morning we awoke to an employee scrubbing the stairs leading to the water from our balcony at about 7 am. Despite the above, we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was great. There were baby reef sharks everywhere. The snorkeling trip we took when we were in Bora Bora on the Paul Gauguin took us to a spot on the other side of the Private Island (just past room 114), so you should venture over there if you are into snorkeling. The view from the lookout point is breathtaking. The best room in terms of a view and privacy is room 129 at the end. We had the best view of Mount Otemanu, and saw the sunrise and sunset. The balconies of rooms 128 to 114 are exposed to the constant breeze and only see the sunrise. They face out and are very private. Rooms 130 and 131 face in towards the resort and have a view of the sunset. They are less private because the balconies face the resort’s beach area. Lori Evans at Heavenly Destinations was the travel agent that hooked us up with the best room in the place, and we recommend that you contact her to help you book. Overall we had an amazing time and can’t wait to return on our anniversary.

Room Tip: Room 129 is the most private with the best views. Rooms 130 and 131 see the sunset and are sheltered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
your comments are really important and valuable for us. Thank you for sharing your experience about the romantic room, the magnifique snorkling place with us and we will really focus more on all the other points.
Maururu to have been our host at Sofitel in Bora Bora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    62
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
221
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Price, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to Bora Bora for our honeymoon, and are so glad that we did. We stayed at the Sofitel Private Island in one of their overwater bungalows. Let me just tell you, the water is so clear, blue and amazing! Our bungalow was perfect and everything, from the bed to the shower to the fridge, were all perfect. Upon landing on the island we were greated by the most wonderful and helpful people. Our bags were delivered to our room for us as we sat and sipped coconut water from actual coconuts, and dapped our faces and arms with vanilla cool cloths. Everything is beautiful, the dining area has a coy fish pond with waterfall, and giant glass windows that overlook the ocean and the bungalows. In the morning, it is great because you can watch the sunrise while you eat breakfast. Our bed was nicely decorated upon arrival, completely comfortable, and always made up nicely. Showers were amazing with a rain head feature and a handheld feature as well. Spacious showers and bathroom space as well. Fridges are stocked daily with delicious fruit and mango juices as well as local beer and water. You go out the patio and have a covered poarch area or an open area to lounge in the sun. You can also access the ocean right off your back porch by jumping in or just by walking down the stairs and using the ladder entry. There is also a shower head situated for washing salt water off after you leave the ocean. We used this quite a bit as we spent a great deal of time snorkeling around the private island. Food was delicious and breakfast was included with our package. They had a great variety of everything, and you could have omlets, pancakes, waffles, etc. all made. Sometimes it was difficult to find someone that could run the omelet station for you, but they would come around after a while. They also have a spa and other activities that you can do on the private island. There is a boat that will take you to the main island and that goes back and forth most all day. We never had any issue getting over to the main island. I will say that I am so glad we stayed on the private island even though there is less beach area. The main island had more trash on the beach, and the Sofitel on that side, while still nice, just could not compare to the private island. I can't wait to go back, and am so gald that we chose Bora Bora over Hawaii for our honeymoon. We met many couples that agreed.

Room Tip: I would definately choose the overwater bungalow as it provides much better access to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
great to read your experienec and to see how you highlight this boutique hotel to be the perfect place to stay for honeymooners. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your magnique wedding. we wait for you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We wanted to do something special for our 40th anniversary.
Going to Bora Bora and staying as the Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island resort was just certainly that. Our overwater bungalow was very nice and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. It had a great view of Mt. Otemanu, Mitira beach, the breakers, and best of all the incredible turquoise colored water of the bay. The staff at Sofitel were great. The did all they could to make our stay wonderful. The provided breakfast was enough to last most of the day. The hotel food was very good, too. Snorkeling and kayaking during the day, or maybe just laying out and taking in the incredible view. It was all fantastic. Best vacation ever. We were sad to leave.
Thanks to Jackie at Custom Tahiti travel for the recommendation.

Room Tip: I think any of the overwater bungalows have a good view, We were in room 130, which I think had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Maururu roa for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island. All our dedicated ambassador share only one wish, to be your private concierge to make your stay unforgatable. Thank you for exeriencing true luxury experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We looked at every hotel online before selecting one. When we arrived we were so excited it was absolutely perfect. The service was great, the rooms were perfect, the view was absolutely incredible. When we awoke in the morning, we walked across the lagoon to go to breakfast. Being out in the water we were able to see all of the wildlife right from our bungalow. It was the perfect mix of solitude and activity. We met couples who stayed at other hotels. We never once regretted our choice. When we go back, and we will, we will pick the same hotel and the same bungalow!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Maururu roa for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island. All our dedicated ambassador share only one wish, to be your private concierge to make your stay unforgatable. Thank you for exeriencing true luxury experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I came here for 4 nights and stayed in an overwater bungalow. In summary, we were very pleased and would recommend this to others and come back ourselves. Would give them a 4.5 if possible. Felt like I couldn't give them a 5 based on the price you pay and a few of the downsides of the resort.

Pros:
-Located on its on private Island with an incredible view of the main island and mountain, and of the intercontinental by Matira Beach.
-Gorgeous Blue waters and white sand beaches
-Full access to the main island through the free and frequent shuttle service to the other Sofitel.
-Great restaurant - Breakfast buffet was delicious. Lunch and Dinner were great as well.
-Restaurant prices were very reasonable for being on Bora Bora AND on a secluded island. We went to a hole in the wall restaurant on the main land and paid similar prices.
-Service is very friendly and fair in dealing with any issues.
-Overwater bungalows were excellent and very roomy and luxurious.
-We visited the Sofitel on the mainland and the one on the private island is much nicer. You get access to all the amenities of both sofitels and can charge back to your room from either. The Sofitel on the mainland loses the view of the iconic mountain of the mainland of Bora Bora.
-Amazing romantic dinner feature. You get sticker shock from the price, but I highly recommend doing it after actually going through it. It is worth the money.
-Phenomenal snorkelling just out back of the island. You can walk over and start snorkelling in an amazing coral garden that tour operators have as one of their stops on excursions. Recommend going early to get their before the tours to see more fish.

Cons:
-You are a bit secluded being on a separate island. Shuttle service is frequent, but for some this could be considered a pain. We personally liked the secludedness of being on our own island.
-I felt some of the front desk people were a bit awkward and fake. Although they were very nice and accommodating. We don't generally go to luxurious hotels, so maybe we are just not used to it??
-Once instance I have to mention cause it was very weird. I ordered Salmon in the restaurant for dinner. I thick white fish came out (looked more like Mahi or Swordfish) instead. It was very delicious but when I questioned why it was white (because I have NEVER heard of or seen WHITE salmon) the server said it was local. I afterwards noted PINK salmon at the same restaurant for breakfast, and also ordered PINK salmon at another restaurant for dinner. Feel like I was fed a load of [--] and think the server should have known better.
-Shuttle service to and from the airport is REDICULOUSLY overpriced. Think its [--] to overprice the shuttle service for people to get to/from your secluded establishment. Especially when you consider that they are shuttle 8-10 people from the same hotel!
-No gym on the private island and the on the mainland was lame and half the machines were broken.
-No pool on the private island, but the one on the mainland Sofitel was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Maururu roa for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island. All our dedicated ambassador share only one wish, to be your private concierge to make your stay unforgatable. Thank you for exeriencing true luxury experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here after spending 4 nights in Moorea and were greeted with music and fresh coconuts. They have a high level of customer service and some of their staff really hustle. We enjoyed taking the kayak around the island. The polynesian buffet at the marara resort had better food than the other ones we tried and the Mama's show was a lot of fun. The view from the top of the private island is the best in Bora Bora, it's a shame that the area isn't utilized much more.

As a hint, the coral gardens everyone snorkels are right behind the island. Easy snorkel, but honestly the corals are a little damaged probably from all the tours. In the pass between the islands, the corals are a bit more lively.

Room Tip: We stayed in the overwater bungalow, but the treehouse rooms might have better views in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Making you experiencing a unique moment of truth is our only wish!
sense of details, "cousu mains service" is our credo in one of the most magnifique location in the world at only 7 hours from LA ......
Thank you for your great comments! It will be our pleasure and our honor to welcome you back in our paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Address: BP 516, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world, Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is located in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay, nestled on a private islet facing the main island of Bora Bora. A secret hideaway where you can enjoy a peaceful and romantic retreat, regenerate yourself and savour the exquisite feeling of being at home on your own private island. This boutique hotel is emphasizing privacy and intimacy to create a unique experience in the heart of native vegetation surrounded by turquoise water and beautiful coral gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.