We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Bora Bora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bora Bora Yacht Club

Bora Bora Yacht Club
BP 123 Vaitape | 98730 Bora Bora, French Polynesia
+689 67 60 47
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 restaurants in Bora Bora
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of Bora Bora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Brilliant location with tables on the dock right on the water facing the sunset. Clear sky above, peaceful and serene outlook over the water. Far superior to Mai Kai where the main eating area is a cavernous roofed restaurant with a boardwalk in front and with the view of the water permanently obscured by moored vessels which destroys any sense of being on the water.

We stayed at St Regis and a driver from the restaurant picked us up and dropped us back at the resort dock to match the resort boat schedule.

Food was simple but delicious and serving sizes were large. My husband pronounced his grilled mahi mahi to be the best fish he has ever eaten, high praise from a former commercial fisherman. Well priced also. Serving staff were the friendliest we experienced anywhere in Bora Bora.

If you want to rub shoulders with rich yachties, go to Mai Kai. But if you want a great fish meal under the stars in a picture perfect location, Bora Bora Yacht Club is the ticket.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    111
    55
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and a perfect sailing pit stop while filling up with water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well executed classic dishes. Good value for money and a perfect place to watch the comings and goings of yachts and ferries. Unfortunately most of the view was obscured by our catamaran as we filled up with water while we ate. Well placed to get a taxi to/from the supermarket for supplies too. We had lunch there and enjoyed it so much we might have gone back if there hadn't been too many other good alternatives when we returned to Bora Bora later in our holiday.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunset and Dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place was reccommended to us by Nickolas from Bora Bora Photolagoon (highly reccommended). The sun sets directly out from the place, and we timed our dinner just perfect. You sit on the deck out on the water, open air, and it was absolutely breath taking. All the sailboats located around you, clear shot into beautiful sunsets. The service was the best we had on the island, and the food was great too. After the sun sets they turn the lights on in the water and the sharks and rays (even some manta) come up to get food. It's very neat! Very good experience here, highly recommended (especially to watch the sunset), and we will definitely come again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great sunset view + wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We made dinner reservations for Bora Bora Yacht Club through the Hilton Nui. Originally we were told by the Hilton concierge that they only pick up for dinner at 6:15 pm. Sunset in Bora Bora is at 6:00 pm and we really wanted to see the sunset from the yacht club. After some insistence, the hotel concierge made a call to the yacht club and they made arrangements to pick us up at 5:15 from the Hilton boat dock. The restaurants provides shuttle to & from the Hilton boat dock. When we arrived at the restaurant we were told they pick up early upon request and were happy to have us for the sunset. They don't serve dinner until after 6:00, but the bar is open for cocktails during sunset. As soon as we arrived, we were taken to a table that sat right at the edge of the dock with the most amazing and clear view of the sunset. We had cocktails and watched the sun go down. After the sunset, the stars overhead were incredible. Our waiter was so gracious and offered wonderful recommendations on the menu when we had questions. The food is outstanding - tuna carpaccio, seafood, an amazing tenderloin filet and the best crème brule with orange whipped cream. The food was so good the first night, we went back again 2 days later for our last dinner in Bora Bora. Again, exceptional service and outstanding food. We will definitely return to Bora Bora Yacht Club on our next trip to the islands!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Bora Bora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

After a recommendation from another couple staying at our resort we decided to give Bora Bora Yacht Club a try since we had tried another local "must do" spot and were terribly disappointed.

Let's just say, Bora Bora Yacht Club was by the far the best meal we had while on vacation. So, good we went back twice and told everyone else at our resort to go here, which they did and loved it too. Everything we had here for dinner was delicious and prepared perfectly, our waiter, believe his is name is Victor, was amazing and very attentive. Also, you can't pass up the sunset view with some cocktails.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bora Bora Yacht Club also viewed

Vaitape, Bora Bora
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Bora Bora Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bora Bora Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.