We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, great beach location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Matira
Save Saved
You added Hotel Matira to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Okay hotel, great beach location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago with a friend of mine. The room was okay but it was rather dark and there was no AC. The room did have full wall-sized doors on the two sides that faced the ocean which was great during the day but we were worried about bugs at night so we had to close them.

The breakfast down the beach was excellent. The lady at the restaurant and the service overall was excellent. The hotel is also located on a beautiful sandy beach, one of the best on the island.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for honeymooners but it was a great buy for friends that are on a budget. We spent a week here, a week in French Moorea and a few days in Tahiti so we had to stretch our money.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    74
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
16
112
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

What a dream! This hotel was absolutely perfect. We had a beautiful, wood bungalow right on the beach. It was very clean and had a wonderful Polynesian feel to it. The staff were extremely helpful and the grounds were perfectly maintained. Breakfast was brought right to our door on days when the restaurant (located down the street) was closed). Breakfast consisted of fresh tropical fruits, fresh squeezed juices, and homemade breads. We didn't want to leave. This place provided us with the most relaxing honeymoon we could have hoped for. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Liked — The bungalow
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Matira during our honeymoon for three nights in September 2006, as a lower priced option to bring down the overall cost of the trip. This was probably a mistake. Matira was ok, but compared to the other places we were staying, it seemed more like camping than staying at a hotel.

Without AC, we were very hot, and with the windows open (with no screens) we were paranoid that bugs were going be coming in. It was very difficult to sleep ...too hot for sheets. The fan did nothing to help the situation since it was so high up in the room. After two restless nights, we actually left the hotel Matira and paid for a room elsewhere (even though we were charged by Matira for the night we did not stay).

The other BIG problem with the Matira was the lack of privacy. It's located on a beautiful, but very public beach. The locals were very loud all day long, and we couldn't really enjoy the peacefulness that we did elsewhere in French Polynesia. We found ourselves having to leave the hotel and find other things to do during the day.

Overall, I think this hotel is fine to stay at if you're not on your honeymoon. They bungalows are fairly attractive. For us, staying at the Matira was completely unromantic and we couldnt wait to get out.

  • Liked — The sunset and sitting room.
  • Disliked — The public beach.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

We stay in this hotel for 4 nights.
we've been welcome and the receptionist was very dynamic and helpful sorting things out (we were transfering from their hotel to the Meridien afterwards and she organised everything + a 30mn helicopter trip).

the room was big, clean and with a very nice view over the lagoon and you can easily enjoy the nice beach.

there is no safebox in the room but you can leave your wallet and administrative documents to the hotel safety. but they don't take your valuables (camera, etc.). this was the only bad thing.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matira

Address: Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matira 4.5*
Also Known As:
Matira Hotel Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;