We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel, great beach location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Matira
Save
You added Hotel Matira to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay hotel, great beach location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago with a friend of mine. The room was okay but it was rather dark and there was no AC. The room did have full wall-sized doors on the two sides that faced the ocean which was great during the day but we were worried about bugs at night so we had to close them.

The breakfast down the beach was excellent. The lady at the restaurant and the service overall was excellent. The hotel is also located on a beautiful sandy beach, one of the best on the island.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for honeymooners but it was a great buy for friends that are on a budget. We spent a week here, a week in French Moorea and a few days in Tahiti so we had to stretch our money.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

What a dream! This hotel was absolutely perfect. We had a beautiful, wood bungalow right on the beach. It was very clean and had a wonderful Polynesian feel to it. The staff were extremely helpful and the grounds were perfectly maintained. Breakfast was brought right to our door on days when the restaurant (located down the street) was closed). Breakfast consisted of fresh tropical fruits, fresh squeezed juices, and homemade breads. We didn't want to leave. This place provided us with the most relaxing honeymoon we could have hoped for. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Liked — The bungalow
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank world1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Matira during our honeymoon for three nights in September 2006, as a lower priced option to bring down the overall cost of the trip. This was probably a mistake. Matira was ok, but compared to the other places we were staying, it seemed more like camping than staying at a hotel.

Without AC, we were very hot, and with the windows open (with no screens) we were paranoid that bugs were going be coming in. It was very difficult to sleep ...too hot for sheets. The fan did nothing to help the situation since it was so high up in the room. After two restless nights, we actually left the hotel Matira and paid for a room elsewhere (even though we were charged by Matira for the night we did not stay).

The other BIG problem with the Matira was the lack of privacy. It's located on a beautiful, but very public beach. The locals were very loud all day long, and we couldn't really enjoy the peacefulness that we did elsewhere in French Polynesia. We found ourselves having to leave the hotel and find other things to do during the day.

Overall, I think this hotel is fine to stay at if you're not on your honeymoon. They bungalows are fairly attractive. For us, staying at the Matira was completely unromantic and we couldnt wait to get out.

  • Liked — The sunset and sitting room.
  • Disliked — The public beach.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank DiveLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2005

We stay in this hotel for 4 nights.
we've been welcome and the receptionist was very dynamic and helpful sorting things out (we were transfering from their hotel to the Meridien afterwards and she organised everything + a 30mn helicopter trip).

the room was big, clean and with a very nice view over the lagoon and you can easily enjoy the nice beach.

there is no safebox in the room but you can leave your wallet and administrative documents to the hotel safety. but they don't take your valuables (camera, etc.). this was the only bad thing.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank chastang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#15 of 18 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 18 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#6 of 18 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matira

Address: Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Matira Hotel Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing