We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Matira
Save
You added Hotel Matira to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Beautiful place, clean and cute, the host is nice and helpfull, breakfast is just lovely. I will remember this place as it was so relaxing to be there. And I also had a chance to practise my French :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    81
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
119
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Thanks Miranda for our stay. Miranda is a wonderful and cheerful host. She is the one also bringing you a flowery breakfast tray in the morning. Wonderful. The bungalows are large and nicely decorated. It is a shame The terrace and chairs are 'burn' by the sun as visually it would be even better. The hotel is on the nicest beach in bora bora and there are plenty of restaurants and snaks around. Would definitively stay there again! We met wonderful people there.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow not on the road side as it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent four unforgettable nights in this little paradise. The Hotel is on the Matira Beach, the most beautiful beach of Bora Bora from where you can admire wonderful sunsets. The bungalows are located in a very beautiful garden among hibiscus and tiare. Big and nicely curated they have two queen beds and private bathroom. If you book one close to the beach you'll have a great lagoon view you can enjoy having your breakfast that is included in the price.With baguettes, butter, marmelade, croissants, juices, coffee, tea it's offered directly in your bungalow with lots of flowers Madame Miranda personally collect in the morning for you. They offer also half or full board you can have in the nearby restaurant Fare Manuia. Madame Miranda will give you also all informations and advices you need. Close to the Hotel a small shop and bike/scooter rental. The market is 10mins walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel offers very large private bangalows with view on lagoon - just in fron of. The staff is very helpful. U can book as well one night overe there without any problem. It is cheap, clean and sunset will just take your breath away !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Right on the beach and with the lagoon breezes, this is the idyllic place you've imagined about Bora Bora. It is a family run hotel, Mimi is a wonderful hostess as are her small band of friendly staff. It is good to know your helping a totally local busines and not some mutli-national chain.
It is not 5-star, but with its location and laid back, relaxed feel. We had a bungalow three steps from the sand, and sitting on the deck you feel like it is all yours. The bungalows are from Bali with an ingenious series of slding doors open open up the space to varying degrees and while the beach is public we never felt like we were exposed to passers-by as you are slightly elevated.
Don't expect fancy furnishings, linens or exotoc cocktails, this really is a place with a different and relaxed feel with no pretentious clientele nor staff. The grounds are immaculate and you can laze on the grass under palms if you prefer. There were no mosquitoes, apparently they don't exist, nor A/C, but who needs that with sea breezes all day.
Importantly, because it faces west, you can enjoy the sunsets every evening from your deck, and you don't get in the shadow of the mountains like places on the other side of the peninsula, nor the strong winds that blew up every afternoon from the east, it was protected from all that.
The perfect way to enjoy the real French Polynesia.

Room Tip: The two beachside bungalows must be the best, but all face the water and are surrounded by open gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel offers bungalows that are very large and located on a beautiful sandy beach which is excellent for swimming (shallow water). The hotel occasionally offers specials with one night free. Service is very good at this hotel. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago with a friend of mine. The room was okay but it was rather dark and there was no AC. The room did have full wall-sized doors on the two sides that faced the ocean which was great during the day but we were worried about bugs at night so we had to close them.

The breakfast down the beach was excellent. The lady at the restaurant and the service overall was excellent. The hotel is also located on a beautiful sandy beach, one of the best on the island.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for honeymooners but it was a great buy for friends that are on a budget. We spent a week here, a week in French Moorea and a few days in Tahiti so we had to stretch our money.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Matira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matira

Address: Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Matira Hotel Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.