We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rooms and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Rooms and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in an Overwater Bungalow and the room was amazing. Glass coffee table which you can open to see the fish around the coral underneath. The water just steps away from your porch, directly accessible from your room. The location is far from the airport, but it is located on the main island so it is close to excursion places or the main village. For all the other resorts on their own islands, you have to take a boat shuttle to the main island so it gets tricky with timing. You also have free shuttle access to the sister resort, the Thalasso, so that's a bonus.

Room Tip: Even the least expensive level of overwater bungalows are amazing so you don't really need to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TTO 218 Iaorana,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your overwater bungalow and that youfound . It is laso nice to read that you found the location very helpful and you enjoyed our sister property as a bonus. It is exactly the way it has to be taken.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our lovely Resort.

With our best regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    160
    40
    22
    5
See reviews for
51
612
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is the best place in the world, food, service, people, environment, accommodations. The best and my most favorite place. The rooms are so luxurious, the overwater bungalows are the best bang for your buck. The people at this particular resort treat you like family. And you absolutely feel like family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Joan4632013 Iaorana,

I have no word to thank you for this wonderfull review, specialy because your last stay was in october 2012. You still have such memories of your stay with us. Yes this is indeed a family for all the guests who have put their feet in the Polynesian "shoes" I should say flip flap. You did understand the different philosophy of their living and our people are so kind and friendly that you feel part of the family.

Thank you again, with the hope to welcome you backin your home away from home.

Warm regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our second spot after Moorea. The service was amazing. Our welcome and check in was perfect and laid back after the boat ride from the airport. Our over water bungalow was outstanding. The coffee table opened up to the planted reef below where we could feed the fish. The location was great just down the street from a market which sells all the supplies you need for the week. The other advantage we found is that being on the main island, you have easier access to the other great restaurants without having to take a boat over and then land transportation.

The service and timing of shuttles is spot on. The activities desk will arrange everything for you. Just use them because they have the connections to all the right people and will arrange all the transfers.

The water is something I've never seen in my life. The shades of blue are unreal.

The breakfast is great. Many options and hearty eating that will keep you satisfied until lunch. The dinner BBQ and show is also not to miss. They offer beef, chicken, and fish on the grill as well as many other dishes and sushi. The show starts around 7:45-8 and is pretty good. No fire show, but pretty authentic. They also offer pictures with the dancers after. Get reservations from the activity desk in advance for a table up close!

Get fish food from the goods shop to feed your fish though the coffee table in your room. It's also good when you check out some snorkel gear and snorkel under your bungalow while feeding fish. Bring an underwater camera/video camera or a waterproof bag to take some awesome shots as well.

The location is great to get to local restaurants outside of the resort. We visited La Bounty, Mai Kai, and Bloody Marry's. La Bounty is good and open on Sundays (not many open Sundays). They offer everything from pizza to a fish and meat table top grill. Mai Kai is also known as the Yacht Club offers great service and amazing daily specials made up by the Host's wife. Grandma's mashed potatoes are pretty good and sashmi is amazing. Bloody Marry's is all what you hear. Walk in and see the fish of the day. I got the lobster and tuna combo for 7500. It was good.

If leaving the IC Moana late, you can check out of your room and hang around on the property until your boat transfer to the airport. They offer travel showers to clean up just before departing this way you can still enjoy the beach all day until your flight and shower right before.

The spa is located at the other IC across the harbor. You have to take the shuttle over.

The shuttle to town is nothing special. You can get souvenirs but no cheaper than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Over water bungalows are AMAZING! the blue water is nothing I've ever seen before. The sand ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Miller 247,

We hope you hd a safe trip back home.

Thank you so much for your comprehensive and nice review following your recent stay. Such comments are indeed very appreciated and will be shared with our team.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Food was good. But service at the local Lucky's Pizza was better. First the waiter who bearly seemed a day of 18 got my drink order wrong. I asked for a gin martini, straight up, no ice. I got a glass full of ice with white sweet vermouth. Then he took our order including desert. It took a long time for the dishes to be cleared and we were asked 3 times again what we wanted for desert. They took away the desert fork, then after a long while finally desert came out. No cutlery. Finally they came out with a soup spoon for the cake and single small scoop of ice cream. Now the wait for the dishes to be cleared and the bill. Entertainment at the hotel. Well there is a billard table to use free of charge, but good luck since the staff are using it in the evening. Water skiing, no way. They are closed during peak season. DVD's are available, but none in English. Even English movies do not allow the option for English. Netflex does not work here, so besides wishing I was at the Sofietl hotel across the bay with flashing lights, obiously they have a DJ and blogging about the bad dinning room service here, there is nothing to do. Like they say in Moorea, Bora Bora, is Boring, Boring.

Room Tip: Bring your own DVD's, Ipod player, go elsewhere for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Karen K,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you’re having a safe and comfortable trip back home.

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience, and I sincerely apologise that we have fallen short your expectations on some points.

The matters you have raised will be discussed with the Department Heads concerned and are receiving my personal attention.

Whereas those matters you experienced are not common in our property, we’ll seriously consider it for improvement of our services.

Please accept again our sincere apologies about the misadventures that you encountered during your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are avid travellers and tremendously enjoy beach locations. I was a little apprehensive about staying in a water bungalow and not a beach. After staying at the La Moana in a water bungalow, I don't think I can enjoy a vacation without a water bungalow anymore.

Recommend getting the Ambassador membership. It gets you the upgrade to the water bungalow. The La Moana is very charming and old world Polynesian. It is very close to the only beach in Bora Bora for stunning sunsets. We visited the Thalasso and enjoyed the spa but prefer the La Moana facility. It is cozier and warmer.

The bungalow was very comfortable. We had sting rays go by our bungalows on multiple days. The star studded skies are unbelievable. We slept on the deck a couple of nights just to enjoy the stars, the water and the breeze. The experience is hard to relate in words.

The hotel had numerous vegetarian options which was very important to us. There is also a restaurant right outside the hotel entrance where Sam will cook you Indian food if you have a taste for it.

We loved it and can't wait to be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Charu J Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the property. It seems that you did catch up the real spirit of Le Moana and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us.

We would be very happy to welcome you back, shall we book now for next year ?

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were so glad we splurged on a private overwater bungalow here. It was beautiful and the views from our room and the whole hotel looked fake--the kinds you're used to seeing only on posters and screensavers. The hotel was quiet, not crowded, and the staff was very friendly and helpful in setting up activities you wanted to do. There was a slight mix up where they gave us the "family" bungalow, and so we had to switch bungalows part way through our trip, but they were very apologetic, and our new room was even better than the first and we were comped a dinner buffet for our troubles. It's also very convenient to be on the main island and not one of the motus. Our bungalow was situated so we had an unobstructed view out onto the open ocean which was really cool. It's also nice that you're right by Matira Beach, which is the only public beach on the island, but still pretty secluded and beautiful. It was really, really windy the whole time we were there, which limited our water activities, but we still had a great time. Definitely do a snorkel trip, SCUBA diving, and bike around the island. What a magical, unique experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Brett M,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time toshare your experience on this website.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoying the scenary, the location of your bungalow (the second one), the location of the property, the sunset and more....

Regarding the wind no need to say that as previously replied this bad weather was really exceptionnal and unusual. Would you believe me if I tell you that we have a wonderfull weather since bearly two weeks now ?

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For general information about French Polynesia, see also my review of the Kia Ora Hotel, Rangiroa.
The Le Moana is on a small spur at the southernmost tip of the main island. Be aware that this is the windy side of the island; if you look south, the next stop is Antarctica, so expect there to be a cool breeze much of the time. Our over-water bungalow (74, at the end of the smaller spur and as far from the main buildings as possible) seemed to be the windiest spot on the island, and the day we arrived (27th July) it sounded as though there was a gale blowing through the wooden shutters!

Arrival was a little shambolic. We arrived with 2 other couples on the early morning flight – around 8am – as most of the guests must do. (Note that, being FRENCH Polynesia, nothing is open at Papeete airport when several hundred people arrive on the daily 4:30am flight). The hotel provided us with a non-alcoholic drink on arrival and took us on a tour of the hotel, which lasted literally 2 minutes (once you’ve seen the bar and restaurant, there’s not a lot else). They then told us (individually and with almost a smug smile) that our rooms would not be ready until 2pm. The lounge/bar is quite small and basic, we were not entitled to a breakfast as part of our package, and it seemed difficult to order up anything a la carte except cold, over-priced coffee and left-over pains au chocolat. We didn’t really relish the idea of sitting there for 6 hours, so we took up the offer of a transit room. This was the size of a large cupboard, but at least gave us the opportunity to change out of our travel clothes into something more appropriate for the (small) pool and beach. Then we were told around 12 noon that our room was ready, so we were able to settle in properly.

The water-bungalows are quite large and really nice, though designed by someone who has never stayed in a hotel before, so storage space is very limited. The bathrooms are a good size and have a full bath in them, though as a result, the shower area is fairly small and has no screen, so you can get a lot of the floor wet.

The key features are the coffee table and the 2 decks. It’s somewhat bizarre to be looking for fish under the coffee table – it sounds like something from an Alan Bennett play – but the glass gives a great view of the coral under the water bungalow (mostly placed there by the hotel) and the many colourful reef fish. If you want to get up close and personal, head down to the lower deck and down the steps into the water, which is about 2 ft deep, put on your snorkel and mask and go looking. One day we swam out along the main line of water-bungalows past all of the coral outcrops that the hotel has carefully arranged, and saw loads of different species, including small yellow morays, Picasso trigger fish, wrasse, parrotfish and many other species. We also took a kayak and our snorkel gear across to the Sofitel motu, a few hundred yards across the lagoon, where the snorkelling was some of the best we had in French Polynesia.

The Le Moana site is small – the bar/lounge and a restaurant area built in a ring around a small circular courtyard. There’s also an outdoor dining area facing the sea with a glass screen to minimise the impact of the wind. Food and drink are quite expensive – you’ll pay 600 francs (around £4:50) for a 33cl local beer (that’s around £9 a pint for UK readers), with cocktails at around 1,500 francs (£10:50), although at happy hour (5:30 until 7:30) you get a 2nd cocktail free when you buy the first. That's not the same as a 2-for-1 offer; if there are 2 of you, you each have to drink 2 cocktails. We bought beers and tonic waters from the local shop at around two thirds the price in the hotel and mixed our own G&Ts with a bottle we’d brought with us. (We understand that there’s a cheaper shop a little further away from the hotel).

The food is good, and the nightly chef’s specials are well worth trying, but the service can be a little erratic, although the Le Moana is better than some other hotels in the islands in this respect. There was a good buffet twice while we were there, both times with entertainment; the Le Moana seems to provide more of this than other hotels we stayed at. Breakfasts include a reasonably good selection of food for most tastes. We were on the half-board scheme here, so we didn’t explore restaurants outside the site, but people we met who did seemed to rate La Bounty and Bloody Mary’s.

While we were there, it was my wife's birthday. I'm also an ICH gold-card holder. However, we got only some fruit skewers in our room and a cake (in lieu of dessert) on my wife's birthday itself, and we were told that our stay would not count towards points for my card. I wanted some flowers, but as these were £65 a bunch and we would be moving on the next day, I chose not to buy any. Interestingly, at the Intercontinental on Moorea they gave us fruit and a half-bottle of champagne, just because I'm a gold-card holder. I've complained to ICH about this disparity between 2 hotels in the same group.

The hotel runs a shuttle across to the Thalasso Resort and Spa, which is free if you go in the morning, and you can stay until 10pm if you like. The Thalasso is a much larger site, with more facilities and feels more luxurious. (Oddly, the beer’s significantly cheaper and we liked the service). It’s well worth the day trip, though we found the snorkelling to be better at the Le Moana. The other excursion we took was the 4x4 trip around the island, which took us up some seemingly-impossible tracks and gave some spectacular views across the lagoon.

Overall, Bora Bora lived up to expectations, and the Le Moana is a nice place to stay. It’s small and fairly simple, as opposed to sophisticated and luxurious. One thing to be aware of is that the exchange rate for UK pounds is much poorer than for Euros (around 124 CPF to the £, vs 119 CPF to the €) – outrageous in our view. Unfortunately, you can’t get francs in the UK, and there are few working ATMs around the island. (On our 4x4 trip I finally got cash from the 3rd ATM in the main village, the other 2 being ‘hors de service’ – an expression normally accompanied by a Gallic shrug). Apparently you can get francs at LAX, or alternatively, take Euros. One thing to note is that tipping is not expected - the guy who took us to the airport seemed genuinely surprised when i gave him a tip of a couple of pounds. As we'd just travelled via LA, this was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Our room (74) was about as far from the restaurant and reception as possible, and was the only '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Happy Hobbit,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your experience. You may be assured that your valuable suggestions have been taken into account.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Prestigia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.