We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Best Honeymoon Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As if it couldnt get any better for newlyweds being in Bora Bora for our Honeymoon...not ony was the location beautiful, ALL of the staff was dedicated to making our honeymoon special. From the concierge giving great advice on dining (and the restaratns picking us up for free) to the restaurant staff being accomodating and eincredibly welcoming. This is a great spot for anyone that is interested in having a quiet, romantic time. Although we did take advantage of a Polynesian dance show with dinner (Tuesdays and Saturdays). We cannot stop telling everyone about our greta experience and how the trael time to get to Bora Bora for us was insignificant because of our great experience. We took about 1500 pictures of the scenic area and underwater for the fish below our bungalow. There is also a market that is in walking distance to grab some snacks to cut cost. We did have restaurants within a 5 minute car ride too, which other resorts lacked when we did our research. One thing that also took me by surprise was thta fact that we could check out snorkeling equipment, kayaks, canoes, and stand up surf boards for free everyday!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear MarioS,

We are very happy to learn to you enjoyed your stay with us from the room to the most imprtant to us the staff who make your honeymoon so special. No doubt that I shall share your comments with the team. It is nice to read that you enjoyed all the free facilities and that that you keep a pleasant souvenir of your trip in our lovely Resort. Thank you for your time writting this review and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best sunny regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    205
    45
    24
    7
See reviews for
68
750
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I returned recently from our trip to Bora Bora. We stayed at the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort. Our travel agent made an excellent choice. We loved staying at this resort because it was on the main island. This allowed excursions, markets, restaurants, etc. in our proximity without having to take a boat back and forth to the main island. The Le Moana is at the southern most tip which allows a constant breeze. This in turn prevented mosquitoes from biting and dissipated the tropical humidity.

If we visit Bora Bora again, my husband and I would definitely stay at Le Moana again. The bungalows are wonderful and clean, the breakfast buffet fantastic, and the Tahitian employees outstanding.

Room Tip: Our bungalow was located far away from the beach. If we had to choose again - we would choose a bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear valuable guests from Texas,

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to post your comments.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property. We shall share your kind mention to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Best sunny regards and Maurur roa

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fantastic experience at the Le Moana Intercontinental in Bora Bora. Overwater bungalow was fantastic. Location is A_+++. Considering it is one (of the only major) hotel on the mainland, the convenience was great. Being able to walk down the road to a few stores and restaurants was great, considering those staying at most of the other hotels have to take a boat to do anything on the mainland.

Hotel staff was very friendly and did a great job cleaning the bungalow and doing the nightly turn down service. The concierge was very helpful booking excursions. No complaints there.

The restaurant was OK. The overall level of service at restaurants throughout Bora Bora (and elsewhere in Tahiti for that matter) was rather poor, and the food was expensive and nothing special. Guess that's just the way it is.

I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to BB. The location is fantastic and it has the best, biggest beach!

Room Tip: Overwater bungalows can be a LONG walk out. Beach bungalows are much closer to the main hotel and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear guests from Houston,

We are really happy to read that you had a fantastic stay. It is with great pleasure that we shall share your comments with our team specially with the housekeeping one. It is not so often that they are mentioned even if they do a good job on a daily basis.Regarding the the food and beverage departement I think it is one of the most difficult to get everyone to agree about the quality.The tastes of each are so different. We can go from excellent to good and it helps us to improve every day.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your comments.

Best regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My new wife and I were met with so much attention our entire stay. From warm smiles to personal visits from all the staff. Special seating for the wonderful dinner show. A must for romantic get aways.

Room Tip: if you can afford it a bungalow over the water is a must for romantic stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear Craig,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to share your great comments with us.
We hope that you had a safe trip ack home and would be please to welcome you back in the future.

Best sunny regards
Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am pleased to relate our recent stay at the Intercontinental Le Moana on Bora Bora in Tahiti.

Over the last 30 years or so my wife and I have travelled to many fascinating locations around the world to partake in local cultures, the sights and wherever we could - stay in comfortable accommodation at interesting places that reflect the local atmosphere. This year was special.. French Polynesia ..Tahiti.

Our choice for Tahiti was to spend a most of our holiday on Bora Bora and at the Intercontinental Le Moana at Matira Beach was our final choice; simply because of its traditional Polynesian style and the choices in lodging.

The draw card for us was primarily the location at Matira Point (on the island proper adjacent to next to the best beach in the world) the traditional atmosphere (not all concrete and glass) and the food (5 stars is all I need say).

The Intercontinental has a counter at the Bora Bora Airport. Staff coordinate and assist you with your luggage and boat transfer to the hotel. Le Moana additionally have scheduled boat transfers their sister hotel the ICH Thalasso Spa with its relaxation treatments.

All aspects of transfer, check-in and guidance were well managed. We spent 5 nights at the beach Bure and 2 nights in the overwater. This exposure gave us a unique experience at the resort.

Le Moana - The Resort

A traditional hotel in an absolutely wonderful setting. Where does one begin to describe a heightened state of comfort and enjoyment ....maybe the island and beautiful water at Matira Point...... blue and very clear water right at your bungalow or surrounding the overwater room.

Rooms were well sized and comfortable which contributed to the tropical feeling.
The amenities were excellent and the lodgings had both air-conditioning and ceiling fan. Rooms were well serviced and always offered pleasant views of the the surrounding landscape and mount Otemanu from most private decks.

I've already mentioned the food in the restaurant; some of the best and well balance meal choices we have encountered. Especially in such a remote location. Le Moana provided a well balanced traditional/American style breakfast with snacks and lunch available throughout the day.

The staff were always considerate and courteous. The manager Laurence Levy and her staff were committed to making anyones stay a pleasant experience. Judging by the amount of new arrivals from all over the world --during our stay --- it's certainly a full time commitment.

We stayed there for 8 days and experienced every aspect of a most wonderful location, hotel service and stunning views......A return is inevitable !

Room Tip: All rooms are great. All have unique views of the island, reef and lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear Peter from Melbourne,

I hereby send you a cordial greeting. Thank you for taking the time to send comments regarding your satisfaction regarding your stay with us. This positive comments motivate us to continue improving our quality of service and believe us it is genuinely appreciated.

I would like to inform you that this review will be share to all staff to continue the process and quality of service.

Again, receive our thanks and we look forward to your visit in the future.

Sincerely yours

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon in July 2012 (after coming from Moorea). My main complaints with Bora Bora have nothing to do with the hotel, which was lovely.
Similar to the I/C on Moorea, this property was beautifully designed, had excellent service, and a great breakfast.
Our bungalow was one of the furthest out on the property (there were only two further). And the views were spectacular!! (see photos). The walk really wasn't all that horrible, and actually helps digest all the heavy food!
For dinner, the concierge was very helpful with showing us menus, making reservations, and organizing free pick up and drop off to and from the restaurants.
We took the free boat shuttle over to the other I/C property on Bora Bora (the Thalasso) to use the spa. We did not get a chance to see the other rooms, but the rest of the property was nice (not sure it would be worth the price to stay there, though).
The spa was great - the services, the set up, the ability to use the facilities for the remainder of the day. Really worth it.
The "beach" at the I/C Le Moana wasn't anything spectacular (very small, not a lot of pool/beach furniture), Moorea was much better, but it was also very rainy/windy for the majority of our time on Bora Bora.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valuable guests from Miami,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your review on tripadvisor. I feel sorry that you did not enjoy Bora Bora under the sun. I would like to mention that the IC Moorea being much bigger the pool and garden can of course appear more confortable wih more space. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I will forward your kind mention to my team.

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 10 days at this lovely resort. We could not fault the service we received from management and all the staff. The position is fantastic. If it was windy you only need to walk to the other side of the resort to the beautiful public beach. Or go to the sister resort, (15 minute boat ride) to get out of the wind. The lagoon water was so warm but I would suggest you wear reef shoes when swimming as there are bits of coral which are quite sharp. We stayed in a beach junior suit which is located right on the beach. They were beautifully appointed with two TVs a seperate lounge, king size bed and double sinks in the bathroom as well as a bath and seperate shower. We had two sun lounges on the deck plus table and chairs as well as 3 lounges on the beach which can be situated under palm trees for shade. There are 5 restaurants, a supermarket and a couple of shops only 10 minutes walk away. As there are no street lights a torch would have been handy. TV is mainly French speaking but there were free DVDs available. We would like to thank all staff members as we throughly enjoyed Bora Bora and very glad we chose this resort.

Room Tip: We were pleased we chose the Beach Bungalow as it gave us more options in relation to weather condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear Sue,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. We are please to read that you appreciated the facilities, the service from all the staff as well as the location despite the wind and that you followed our suggestions to still enjoy your time with us. We shall share your thanks to the team who will be delighted to read it. It wasa real pleaudre hosting you.

Hope to see you next year.

Warm regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.