We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Thanks to This Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Best Honeymoon Thanks to This Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just got back from our honeymoon and we loved loved loved this hotel. We would not stay at any other hotel in Bora Bora. The food was fantastic...the presentation of the food was our favorite part...everything looked so put together with such creativity. We spent a week in the overwater bungalow #14. It was beautiful and very clean everyday. The view was amazing and the water was pretty calm the whole time. The weather was beautiful everyday even though this is the rainy season. The staff was so helpful and many spoke English which was helpful for us. We felt so peaceful and taken care of at this hotel!!! We never even went to the Thalasso hotel because we loved our hotel so much. We want to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Corie and Nick,

How wonderful to read you! We’re very honored that the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort could participate to make your honeymoon so memorable. You’ll be very welcome ever. Maybe for a wedding anniversary… ? Truly yours,

Laurence Lévy
Genetal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    177
    41
    23
    7
See reviews for
57
677
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I just spent a wonderful 5 days at the InterContinental Le Moana Resort. From the moment Matilde greeted us at the dock upon arrival to the send off at the end of our vacation, the staff at the Le Moana was so pleasant and attentive. We stayed in an over water bungalow and had beautiful views of the lagoon. I don't think there is an unpleasant view from anywhere in Bora Bora. We were close to the dock, but the whole resort is very quiet and the boats were fun to watch. The Concierge, Laurent, was very helpful when we were making our choices for our excursions. We really enjoyed the snorkeling tour with Simon. Well worth it. We dined two evenings at the hotel and the food was amazing. Steeve was very attentive to the service and we appreciated all his efforts to make it a wonderful experience. We really liked the fact that you can shuttle between the Thalasso resort and the Le Moana. We preferred the Le Moana by far as the place to stay. It is smaller and more Polynesian which we preferred. There are also much nicer breezes in the afternoon and it is nice to be closer to town and the beach for the sunsets in the evening. It was heartbreaking to leave and we hope to one day return. We will FOR SURE stay at the Le Moana again. Thank you to Matilde, Laurent, Steeve and of course Laurence for the wonderful experience they provided! Matt and Stacie

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Stacie and Matt,

Your kind message reached all of us and we would like to thank you in return.
Whishing you all the best and a joyful sweet Valentine Day.

Truly yours,

Laurence Lévy.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A bit dated, but overall, lovely room and of course, beautiful views. The room was a bit warm although the A/C was on non-stop. Friendly, helpful staff. Location is great - recommend renting a bicycle and riding into town and around the island. We miss Bora Bora and want to go back - we'll stay here again or at the Intercontinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Definitely get an overwater bungalow - worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Ia Orana from Bora Bora,
Dear guests,

We are glad to read that you keep good memorie of your stay with us and that you will come back. The Intercontinental le Moana is part of Bora Bora history and the reputation based on a very tradionnal style. Yes it is one of the first hotel built on the island but we our proud to say that we do renovate all the bugnalows each year during the low season to maintain this lovely resort in the competition. Regarding the air condition we could have low the temperature you just need to ask to the front desk. Don' forget to tell us next time you come. We would be mostre than happy to welcome you back.

Best sunny regards

Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I chose this property because traveling solo, i wanted to be nearer Matira beach and the 'locals' instead of being isolated like its sister establishment (where being isolated would have been great if I was on my honeymoon i guess). Nothing prepared me for the sight as the boat approached the property. Pictures do not do any justice to the sparkling waters or the sight that I saw. I stayed at the OWB and had such a fabulous time feeding the fish from the glass coffee table to sitting on the deck reading and soaking up the sun. This bungalow was so homey and the view was breathtaking. Matira beach was stunning. The sunset was absolutely mesmerizing even though it was rather cloudy. I had room service and the steak was cooked to perfection...the sauce was heavenly. The lady who served my room service was such a wonderful soul. She was friendly and chatty and answered my very touristy questions about the wreath she was wearing on her head enthusiastically. What prevented me from giving this place a perfect score was the service. While there were two very sweet staff whom I met during my stay. the rest were rather aloof. I cut my feet while walking along the beach and asked the staff for a band aid. To my surprise she directed me to the gift store where I had to purchase a box of band aid for USD$10. For the price that I have paid for such an establishment, you would expect at least one complimentary band aid when your guest hurts himself/ herself. Other than some of the staff being aloof and the band aid issue, this property wows me by itself due to its strategic location and beautiful grounds and surroundings. I could easily walk to the local cafe/ restaurant and supermarket as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Ia orana from Bora Bora,
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments. We are very please to read that we have reach your expectations except for the band aid. I am the first to be very surprised as we do have some first aid box at the concierge and front desk for the hotel guests. I will pass on the message to our next manager meeting to refresh the team regarding this important point.

Thank you again for sharing it with us, it will not happen again.

Best sunny regards

Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have just enjoyed 3 nights in an overwater bungalow at this lovely property. Our accommodations were beautifully decorated, spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We booked a horizon bungalow that was a way out on the walkway. Again, it was rather quiet as it is the "rainy" season, but we were lucky enough to have all but one day of beautiful sunshine. We loved being able to swim right off our own deck in the aqua-colored water and even discovered we had been adopted by a fish we called Oscar who seemed to like swimming with us as he shadowed us whenever we were in the water (we prefer to think he enjoyed playing with us rather than think he was looking for food treats!).

The grounds were well maintained and we enjoyed swimming in the infinity pool. Beach towels, snorkel equipment, kayaks and canoes were available at no cost. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The check-in process was delightful and we enjoyed meeting Cedric who did a great job of checking us in, taking us on a tour of the hotel and explaining about all the hotel's amenities.

We had one dinner at the hotel which was very good and included a charming Polynesian show on the beach right in front of us. The hotel is located within a quick walk of several other more casual restaurants and snack bars, so it is easy to sample several other restaurants for lunch or dinner. Also most of the restaurants on the island will pick you up for dinner, so you can try other places if you don't rent a car or scooter while in Bora Bora.

One thing we really loved was the ability to use many of the facilities at the other Intercontinental property (the Thalasso Spa Hotel) on the motu. A boat shuttle takes you between properties at various times during the day and evening. Again, we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who welcomed us to the hotel and provided us with information about the facilities available to us. We enjoyed their larger swimming pool which is located with a great view of the white sand beach.

Our plan included an American breakfast and the selection was very good. Don't miss the crepes done to order as well as eggs, pain perdu (French toast) and pancakes. Great selection of fruits, yogurts, juices and cereals for those wanting a more healthy start to the day.

The overwater bungalows are expensive, but it is a wonderful splurge that everyone should experience at least once in their lives. Perfect weather makes it even more special. We hope to return some day. The friendly staff, lovely location and beautiful accommodations make this property a perfect choice for a delightful stay in Bora Bora.

Room Tip: Horizon bungalows further out on the walkway are quieter, although it is a little walk back to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your feelings about our Resort.

We’re very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property. I forwarded your kind mention to my team who will undoubtedly appreciate. Yours sincerely,

Laurence Lévy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I enjoyed 5 fabulous nights in an overwater bungalow. What a gorgeous location and facility! The staff were so friendly and we enjoyed every moment. The facility was very nice and the food was good. We signed up for the 1/2 board and were very pleased we did as we were able to enjoy the amenities of the Thalasso as well (a romantic 20 minute boat ride away, complimentary). Some of our stand out experiences include: daily snorkeling right off our own dock, renting a boat and going around the island, jet skiing (wave running), feeding the fish that were under our bungalow through the coffee table hidey hole, dinners at the Thalassoa and Bloody Mary. Overall though it was terrific trip and the staff were charming and sweet.
Note: Don't bother with the ATV excursion, it was a disappointment although the views were beautiful. Also, we had some difficulties with overcharges that checkout staff did not know how to adjust, and calls were not successful, so we were forced to go to the credit card to adjust.

Room Tip: The bungalows farthest from the pathway (i.e., last bungalow on the pier) offer the most privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Ia orana from Bora Bora,
Dear valuable guests,

We are taking the opportunity to thank you for your great comments. We are very pleased to get your feed back. I would like to apologises for the inconveniences caused during your check out and shall see with the team what had happened. I will also contact the excursion that did not reach your expectation for our future guests.

We wish you all the best for 2012

Best sunny regards

Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed over Christmas through New Years. Resort is a great spot on the island. Stayed in an overwater bungalow. Waist deep crystal blue water. The kids loved it. Nice pool and restaurant. Breakfast buffet was exceptionally well stocked and delicicous. Dinner was great too. Our room was great and the staff knocked themselves out to please us. Bora Bora is an expensive destination and you need to understand your resort is everything. Think "chill", not "spring break". And if you want to chill, you will love this place!

Room Tip: Get an overwater bungalow, you only live once
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Ia Orana from Bora Bora,
Dear Valuables guests,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to writte such nice comments. We are happy to read that we have reach your expectations and that you enjoyed the New Year's Eve with us. We wish you all the best gor 2012.

Best sunny regards
Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.