We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in a perfect place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in a perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed in Le Moana for 5 nights in March 2011. Our bungalow was the last one on the left side (#12) with horizon views in both directions (east and north). The views were amazing each day. I requested this bungalow because this is where the water in the lagoon becomes a little steeper and you can jump from your deck on the one side (the water by the other bungalows is too shallow and jumping is not allowed). The water color by #12 also changes, so great views are guaranteed. We kajaked one day to Corral Gardens (directly across from the hotel nearby the motu -- it took about 15 minutes to get there) and the snorkeling was amazing. We also rented electric bicycles one day and biked around the island -- beware that although they tell you that with a battery change in Vaitape, it will last you the entire trip, the last few kilometers the battery died (and it is hard to pedal on an electric bike). The trip is definitely worth it though -- you get to see how the locals live. We also did the 4x4 with Tupuna Safari -- the hills that those jeeps can climb are unbelievable! And the views totally worth it. And we highly recommend the shark and stingray feeding tour! Our guide was Alfons and he was great! We were a bit worried before the trip, but he made us feel completely at ease and we swam with sharks all around us. Bring an underwater camera -- we ended up buying a disposable there, to keep memories from this unique experience. The tourguide takes you around the island in the boat, so you get to see the whole lagoon.
Food is great in the hotel - we had dinner one night and the romantic dinner (part of the Costco package -- that was amazing! Great wine and the food was delicious - wait till you see the desert plate. We also ate twice in La Bounty -- great restaurant 10 minute walking distance from the hotel -- fish and meat is very tasty there. Bloody Mary's is not worth it -- too hyped up -- the staff is rude and the food is bland. No recommended. There is a pizza shack around the corner, great pizza for lunch.
We visited Thalasso one time -- it is a much bigger hotel, the lagoon around is not as nice (deeper waters and the color is much darker), but nice views overall (go see the reef and ocean behind the hotel - take the path behind the spa that says "staff only"). We also spent a lot of time on our deck and in the water which is just amazing, you cannot have enough! To sum up, Bora Bora is the most beautiful place in the world and Le Moana is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    172
    41
    23
    7
See reviews for
55
656
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san luis obispo, california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

we loved the owb, we stayed in the family suite but just the one side. very quiet place, view was wonderful. everyone was very nice. we went to the Thalasso resort for the day. wow what a place... they had free sting ray feedings at 2:00 every day. that was the best they swam up to us and we were able to pet them and feed them. the people that worked at both resorts were awesome. we had a great time. yes it is expensive but so worth it. we had the breakfast buffet. enough to choose from. go to costco travel if you want a better deal. I'm sure there are other nice high end places, but we were happy here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Can't wait to go back. We had the over-water bungalow. The coffee table table is a glass cube that slides open so you can feed the fish. We stayed at the same hotel in Tahiti and Moorea. I would definitely avoid Moorea.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We believe the maid stole my wife's purse from the room - according to the electronic lock, she was the only one with access. Also, nothing mechanical worked in the room - air conditioner, telephone, coffee pot, DVD player. Greatly overcharge on their "seafood extravaganza" dinner and show after the concierge refused to tell us the price. Fees for internet access too excessive. Mattress was not comfortable. Maid would take dirty towels when she cleaned the room and not replace them with clean ones. Also, did not replace the toilet paper when needed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My husband and I just recently went to the InterContinental Le Moana and everything exceeded our expectations! This resort is GORGEOUS....white sand beach, very comfortable bungalows, we stayed in the white villa. The water and snorkeling are unbelievable...fish everywhere, conchs, stingrays, etc. The service and food is also amazing! Everyone is super friendly and caters to anything you need.
We will definitely go back to this spot, it is more "Polynesian" and authentic then some of the other resorts in Bora Bora! We are from LA, so if you want LA or a Cabo feeling then stay at the Four Seasons or somewhere like that! BUT THIS IS THE BEST PLACE TO VACATION IN BORA BORA or anywhere!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Le Moana in bungalow #26 in mid November, 2010. We had a "horizon view"bungalow that was one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. I rate the room and it's location a 4 out of 5 only because at close to $1,000 usd a night there is a question of value for your dollar. Otherwise it would rate a 5. There are a ton of reviews that rate the bungalows high and I would agree. They are superior. However I would like to focus my review on the food service/restaurants/bar part of the resort. We stayed at the resort for 6 days and 5 nights and had many opportunities to try the restaurants multiple times. As such , I would rate the food etc. below average - a 2 out of 5 for the following reasons: Value for money. Most dinners w/o wine were in the $125 plus usd for 2. Dinners with polynesian show were closer to $200 usd per couple without wine. Quality of food. Our experience at the BBQ buffet night was not very positive. Our fish was over cooked and tough. The steak was less than 1/2 inch thick and was also over cooked. The lamb was no better. Impossible to eat. Again, when you spend $200 + for a meal at a 4 star resort you should expect much better. Service. Don't expect the wait staff to "hover". If we wanted anything we had to look around and wave to get their attention. They seemed o.k. at the morning breakfast buffet but I don't think they had much training for "fine dining".
The resort location is a plus. An 8 to 10 min. walk from the front desk you'll find 3 or 4 casual places on the mail road (the road that circles the island) that serve wood fired pizza, beer/wine etc. 15 minutes away is a small neighborhood store. Handy. Pick up a bottle or two of wine to have on your deck. A bottle of wine from the resort is very expensive. Near the store is an AVIS location. My rate (November, 2010) for a small car with a/c was +- $175 usd for a 24 hour period. It's a great way to see the island. One main road circles Bora Bora - about 15 miles door to door. You'll appreciate the a/c! You can't walk to town. Take a taxi. Take advantage of happy hour at the hotel bar. Certain drinks 2 for 1. Movie rentals from the little shop in the hotel will set you back $16 per video for 24 hours. Keep in mind French Polynesia is one of the most expensive places to vacation. You MUST have dinner at Bloody Mary's. They will send a van to pick you up. They have a killer selection of fish and steaks (New Zealand beef) that you pick out and they cook. Wear your flip flops - sand on the floor and pretty lively bar action.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Before I left I had read a number of reviews on this hotel. Some positive, some negative. Alot had commented that other hotels were so much 'nicer' ra ra ra. We went to Bora Bora for our honeymoon and could not have been more impressed with Le Moana resort. On re-reading some of the reviews about poor snorkeling - this was probably my favourite experience. The water at the resort is crystal clear as it gets and the beautiful tropical fish swim with you as if you are one of them. I have also read about the grumpy staff. These were hands down the nicest staff we experienced in Bora Bora. They could not do enough for you and were exceptionally welcoming. We travelled to other resorts on day trips and found that the staff, whilst friendly, were not like the staff at Le Moana- whom provide an atmosphere of a cosy small community within their resort. Other resorts may appear more grand, but they are also BIG and grand and you become just another face in the crowed. Le Moana has 30 something bungalows and by day 2 the staff members knew us by name. One even invited us to their house for dinner, wanting to give us a full Bora Bora experience. The moment we got to the resort our jaws hit the floor. It's beauty is astounding. Every single day my husband and I commented "this place does NOT look real, it is like a beautiful post card". The food served both at the resort and eateries near by was delicious. One huge benefit of staying at LE Moana was that it is part of the main land. You can walk to a supermarket, restaurants etc. So while yes, this resort may be older and less modern, the feel you get once you get there is one of welcome. The view when you look out your bungalow window, breath taking. In fact a month later we are still catching our breaths at the beauty. We could not speak more highly of this resort. As for the weather, I was very nervous reading about various DEC/JAN forecast. Being the 'wet season' we were either very lucky, or people exaggerate in their reviews. We were there for a total of 2 weeks and had 2 days of rain. We loved the weather. There was a breeze most days, some days stronger than others, but we really enjoyed this breeze considering the temperature is quite warm, it made the temp much more bearable. You get free transfers to the Thelasso, and we also highly recommend going there for the most heavenily day spa experience of your life. We took the romance package. It was devine.

Thank you to Le Moana resort, for making our honeymoon above anything we could have dreamed of. (We are already promising ourselves we will go back there for one of our anniversarys within the next 5 years!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.