We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Blues everywhere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maitai Bora Bora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maitai Bora Bora to your Saves list
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Blues everywhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This place is the right place for this island...as you can imagine not an inexpensive trip so finding the resort that was best price and met all expectations was fabulous!
The only downfall to this beautiful gift from above was food ...other than the fabulous fresh fish this island is refined sugar everything...due to size of island their fresh fruits/juices do not come from here they are shipped over and it's far from fresh - they have canned juices, and white flour items- this is not just at this resort...it's in the stores and it's the way of life there!
The location is perfect with a nearby store where you can pick up a bottle of wine or some fruit and French bread of couss.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    234
    98
    46
    26
See reviews for
68
399
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Maitai was everything we'd hoped for in a hotel on Bora Bora. We skipped the over-water bungalow (since we had one booked for later inthe trip on Moorea). Instead, we got a room high up on the hill...with the most amazing view of the lagoon you can imagine. The pure, azure-blue water was dotted with darker spots, which we later found out were patches of coral, in about 10 feet of crystal clear water. We've been diving and snorkeling all over the works, and I have to say, this place rates among the best.

The room itself was beautiful, clean, and well-appointed... it was a bit of a climb each time we went up there, but each time, it was well worth it.

Room Tip: The hiiltop rooms are an effort to get to, but the spectacular view more than makes it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

They have a lovely complex across from the water surrounded by tropical grounds and (some) a view of the waters! Over the water bungalows looked spaced well and being on the main island is the way to go for us!!
We actually had our moonlit dinner here and lunch a second day. White sand beach overlooking the water was fantastic, go there. Food was good and had American items included!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I admit I was jealous when I got off the plane and saw everyone getting greeted with lays by their hotel representatives, while we just got ushered to get our bags and board the boat. However, I wasn't so envious anymore, after I realized the Maitai is actually on the mainland and you have all the conveniences of being on the mainland. You can walk to a couple markets to grab snacks for cheap, even takaway Chinese and Rotiserrie Chickens for less than 1000xpfs!! you can walk to the Lucky House restaurant with a brick oven pizza grill and high end cuisine in a casual atmosphere and bar. There's also pizza spots and beaches easily accessed as well. So as far as location is concerned, I was happy, mainly because I wasn't stuck on a Motu and subject to only what the resort offered. My friends and I arrived and were offered a welcome drink and fresh lei greeting. They set us up in our OWB and loved them. It's not the four seasons but it's still awesome. There's an open water coffee table in your sitting area, a relaxing day bed, a comfy king bed, clean room and bathroom and awesome views from every point of our room. Bungalow 4, I am convinced, is the best OWB. The dock and deck face the open waters with an awesome coral reef that houses the most amazing tropical wildlife...it's a snorkel heaven, we never left our deck/dock! You can tell the functionality of the Bungalows were well thought out...down to the lighting, AC, and outdoor shower.

The resort itself is lacking a bit in a few things. There is no pool, the beach activities center didn't have paddle boards, and the bar area didn't have a pool table or dart board or just any games to play. The restaurant was good, but not the only place you have to eat at, since you can walk to other local dives. They did run out of beach towels everyday but you learned quickly to go early or late afternoon. The Wi-Fi isn't free in the lobby, but the price is less than $10 or 1000xpf's for an hour of time. Once you paid for Wi-Fi, it was excellent as the routers are right in your room.

I had a very pleasant time at the MaiTai, the service was great, even with the language barriers...

Room Tip: Stay in an OWB. Bungalows 4 and 5 are the best positioned as well as bungalows 109, 108, 107 and 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over New Years and we have to say that although Bora Bora was not our favorite island in FP by far, this hotel is the BEST value we got on any of the islands! Their OWB's were excellent, deeper water, but still amazing. The rooms were clean and kept clean, and they worked hard to make sure that we had everything during our stay. You don't need to stay at the Four Seasons and shell out 1000's of dollars a night, the Maitai Bora Bora was everything we needed and more. Front desk staff was super helpful in terms of setting up excursions and whatnot and the manager/owner was quick to assist if there were any problems (ie the one night there was no water, not the hotels fault at all, it was a main break that the "city" had to fix, he gave everyone free drinks and made sure that we were all okay!). We had a half board plan so breakfast and dinner were included and the meals were great. The first night we arrived we were able to grab dinner and the mahi mahi was excellent (not Villa Mahana excellent but still good!), wine was actually reasonably priced so that was nice and the special New Years Eve dinner/buffet was SO much fun! they had live music, dancers and then we went out on the dock and watched fireworks from all the other hotels. Overall, this was a great experience and the Maitai made our time in Bora Bora that much more fun!

Room Tip: Splurge on the OWB - you won't be let down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I read the reviews before deciding. I didn't want to spend the kind of money the big resorts were charging but I was a little worried about having an "inferior" experience. I can reassure anyone having those same kind of thoughts that there was absolutely NOTHING inferior. Now if you want one of those vacays where you never leave the resort and everything is elegant then this isn't really that - but it was a lot like those resorts, it really was. The over-water bungalows looked nice from the outside - they were over great coral heads. We took advice that we read here and made sure to get a 2nd floor room and the view just took my breath away every time I looked. The 'cafe' is pleasant and the food was decent. Nothing fancy or anything to celebrate (I got Mahi Mahi burger both times we ate there) - but an advantage of the Maitai is that you are close to lots of other places. Bloody Mary's will come pick you up. We rented a scooter and went lots of places. They'll make all kinds of arrangements for you at the front desk. We were really very pleased. A very good value.

Room Tip: If you aren't going for a beach bungalow or an over-water bungalow, the 2nd floor rooms have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you want to be able to access all the best places in Bora Bora and dont care about having total luxury - this is the place.

Easy walk to:
- Matira beach, an amazing place
- Small convenience store so you can buy cheap breakfast and lunch items
- Several restaurants/takeaway bars dotted around the area
- La Plage boat hire (you must do this)
- Bike rental right out front of the resort, you can get to Vaitape this way (8km)

This is a good place to take tours from as they can pick you up easily for free

You must hire a boat from Frank and visit:
- The coral gardens, amazing snorkeling
- The beach on Motu Piti Aau, the best beach on Bora Bora
- Anywhere else in the lagoon you want to go except private resort land

Finally, all the staff were awesome!
Room was fine with good AC
Tamaa restaurant was good value too, comparable with the local places

Room Tip: Go cheap as possible and spend your money on tours and hiring boats etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maitai Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maitai Bora Bora

Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maitai Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maitai Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maitai Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.