We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maitai Bora Bora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maitai Bora Bora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of my best trip so far around the word. The water is really beautiful. We went there in March 2013. Went there for 5 days and it has only rain for 5 minutes. Food is very good and people are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    218
    93
    41
    25
See reviews for
62
374
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

First off, I just want to say how surprised I am at some of the terrible reviews here........were these people staying in a completely different hotel or did they just have some bad luck?! Some of the comments are not fair at all to this very nice hotel in Bora Bora. The user 'Marasko' is talking rubbish saying you cannot get fresh water in the rooms, yes you can. And there is mineral water available in both bars and restaurants so I have no idea what they are talking about. Also complaints about the food and fruit? What the hell....this place has fresh fruit every morning in the buffet breakfast - watermelon, pineapple, white grapefruit, papaya and melon.......did you conveniently miss that part? And complaining about having no swimming pool? You're in BORA BORA, you don't need a pool, there's a couple of private beaches at Maitai and if you're in an overwater like we were, you're surrounded by a giant swimming pool. The whole point is that you go into the sea not spend time in a boring old heated pool that you can get back home. The hotel never claims to have a swimming pool so if you wanted one, you should have booked elsewhere! I have quite high standards when I travel so was worried after seeing some of the reviews but it's literally like they're talking about somewhere else. (And they say that us British are uptight?!)

We stayed in an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora for 10 nights. We were transferred from the airport on the motu straight to the dock of Maitai without waiting around and we were greeted by the manageress with fresh flower leias. They let us check into our room early (10am instead of the usual 2pm) and they made us cocktails while we waited and the staff were polite always.

We requested the bungalow furthest from land and got what we asked for, we got bungalow 106 which has the best view of the sunset and a great snorkelling sport around some coral reef nearby. The room was clean and was cleaned everyday to a high standard. It was exactly what we wanted, perfect and romantic with the glass bottom under the coffee table to see the tropical fish. The room was very spacious and the shower was nice and large. The holder that holds the shower head had a crack in it and I told them about it at reception - by the time we'd come back from the town Vaitape, they'd fixed it!

The Haere Mai restaurant by reception does more gourmet style food (fillet steak etc) and the beach restaurant does more casual food with some local fish dishes etc and it's all lovely, cooked fresh in the open plan kitchen for you to see. We did half board but had a few lunches there. Meals are anything in between 1000-2500 pacific francs, depending on what you order. Even their starter sizes were enough as a main meal for me! Soft drinks are no more expensive than back home but alcohol and cocktails are quite pricy. A mocktail is about 1000 pacific francs, alcoholic ones from 1300 francs upwards. The food is good and the breakfast is nice, continental and plenty of choice. Drinks are included with the buffet breakfast.

Wifi is expensive (1000 francs for an hour) but your first hour is free. Access can be awkward at times but they refunded me when it went down and gave me another hour free.

Snorkelling gear available at reception for free, ok condition although we had our own. Overall I was really pleased with this place as it's quite economical for overwater bungalow prices in Bora Bora. Maitai also offer free transport for any activities that you book (either through them or your travel agent, just bring proof of you buying excursions from your travel agent with you) and transport to the main settlement Vaitape is 1000 francs each for a round trip.

We had a lovely time on our honeymoon. We even noticed they take great pride in keeping the place clean, one guy on the beach cleaned it several times a day. The only thing I'd mention is that the linen pattern is outdated (the design isn't very nice but that's not the end of the world) and it would be nice to do a nice fruit basket or something in the room complimentary for honeymooners (they did give us a Maitai pareo).

4 stars and well deserved, the staff here work very hard and were always very pleasant to us, despite all our questions!

Room Tip: Bungalow 106 overwater. It's the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in an overwater bungalow and I would strongly recommend that if you're going to stay here, you do the same, or stay in a beach bungalow.
I was very nervous about staying here after reading some of the negative reviews, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Our accommodation was very clean and we had the most amazing views out over the lagoon. We were in one of the bungalows further out, so we were able to dive in from the balcony, and the snorkelling was amazing; so many tropical fish, and we even saw a ray and a reef shark.
I wouldn't go as far as to say that the service was bad or the people rude but they very much leave you to your own devices, which actually suited us.
There is a small supermarket a short walk from the hotel and a couple of snack bars and restaurants in the area.
Overall, we had a great time and that was largely due to the fact that we spent a lot of time in and around the bungalow, hence why I would recommend that rather than a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The MaiTai is clean and has good spacious rooms with fridge and tea point.
However the views aren't great and the staff are positively unhelpful.
We stayed in a few different places and compared to similar price competition we felt that the MaiTai didn't real feel value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Britain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at the airport in Bora Bora and were stunned by the beauty of the island. A short water taxi ride, then a short van rise and we arrived at the Maitai. Words cannot describe the hotel-the absolutly stunning gardens, the beautiful beach and the bungalows on stilts over the crystal clear lagoon. It was heaven on earth. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to make sure that our stay was perfect in every way. The hospitality offered was outstanding, they looked after everything from booking dives, arranging transport, booking dinners, tours, just whatever we needed was taken care of. We would certainly reccomend anyone looking for a great vacation to visit Bora Bora and stay at the Maitai

Room Tip: Garden rooms in the upper building have a fantastic panorama of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

True, it was my first trip to Bora Bora (though certainly not the last one!) so in terms of points of reference my review may not be the best source. No need to pre-arranged shuttles to and from the airport, which is located on a motu (essentially a sand bar). There is a free boat that takes you from the airport to Vaipete, the largest settlement on the island. I was wondering how to notify the hotel of my arrival, but I was told with a smile by some driver just to relax and wait - and sure enough a shuttle van pulled up in a matter of 10-15 minutes. The hotel is well situated, close to Matira public beach (which is simply breathtaking), clean and comfortable, and the staff is very kind and helpful. Please remember that the formal language here is French and Tahitian - the staff is really extending themselves to speak English (and most are doing great job at it). The grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate - I saw the maintenance guys raking the grounds and picking up debris few times a day. Food was great, and priced rather fair. There are two restaurants and two bars (beware that the beach bar opens only ;) at 11:30 a.m. The service also closes at rather early hour of 10 p.m. There is a narrow paved road that circumnavigates the island, and thus runs near the hotel. If you prefer to sleep with your patio door opened (which you should as the weather is simply out of this world there!), you may want to invest in a pair of ear plugs - it's not the traffic on the road, which is negligible, but the proud roosters that stroll around the premises :) and crow at the sunrise. The hotel has it's own two beaches, but you may want to walk about a quarter mile to Matira beach - you will not be disappointed. About 300 yards in another direction there is a general store where you can get some groceries and alcohol (which is VERY expensive. Exploit Duty Free to the allowable maximum, else you'll be paying 60 USD for a small bottle of Absolute!)
Hotel offers free snorkeling gear at the reception desk, and there is great small reef at the hotel beach with tropical fish. But for the real experience go to my friends at Bora Bora Diving Center (arrange that at the reception desk). I also would suggest doing a Safari Tour instead of biking around the island (traffic is occasionally hairy - not congested, but the road is REALLY narrow). In addition to safer alternative of circumnavigating the island, you get taken to few elevated points overlooking the island...

Room Tip: Water bungalow are cool, and you may want to stay in one for a couple nights, but the building rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Beach, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to add BoraBora to our itinerary last minute. I was nervous about staying here after reading bad reviews so i set my expectations low. I figured it was for a night and really wanted to visit the island. We stayed in bungalow 109 and i don't know what these other guests complained so much about? Its not a five star resort but you get a beautiful clean suite. It fulfilled my "bora bora over the water bungalow" fantasy and was affordable. The beach was very nice to relax on too. Definitely a good deal for your money.
Only bad thing i can say : don't waste your money for several hours of wifi, the signal is not strong enough to reach to the bungalows so u have to stay in the lobby to use it ,not so bad though lots of seats and a bar. Also the green and blue bed spreads are simply ugly! Wish the place spent the $$$ to upgrade theses... But those are honestly my only complaints. Clean & affordable

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maitai Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maitai Bora Bora

Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maitai Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Maitai Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maitai Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.