We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and just above average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maitai Bora Bora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maitai Bora Bora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good location and just above average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location near Martira beach is a great one. The hotel is basically divide in two, the main buildings with garden and sea views. We stayed in a sea view room which had great views ( we couldn't stop looking at the over water bungalows). I would really recommend to get sea view. The room was spacious enough and the bathroom had shutters opening to the room so you could look at of your balcony which was nice. On the other side of the roads are the beach bungalow and over water bungalows. Personally I would not pay for the upgrade as the beach bungalows are overshadowed by the overwater bungalows and sun loungers. Same for the over water bungalows, I wouldn't pay as they are just to close to the beach so you do not have a secluded feeling and there are not lounging space on the desk but just a chair which we feel is not enough. The reason we find this hotel average is because the breakfast was poor, food just average and the beach in front of the hotel quasi inexistante. It was nice though to be welcomed with a necklace if flowers and waved goodbye with a necklace of shell.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the top of the building right next to reception as the views are better
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    200
    80
    37
    25
See reviews for
54
345
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just returned from Tahiti, Moorea and Bora Bora, I have a number of tips for people who have limited time and money.
Plan your flight so that you arrive in Papeete during the day so you can catch a flight straight to Bora Bora. We spoke to a number of people who were not impressed with Papeete, although we did not have any trouble. If you do have to stay in Papeete, the Tahiti Airport Motel is OK for an overnight stay. It is directly up the hill from the airport, a short walk if you don't have too much luggage.
Moorea is OK but it is difficult to get around unless you hire a car. With limited time, head straight for paradise (Bora Bora). We stayed at the Hotel Maitai and it was great. They pick you up from the free ferry from the island where the plane lands (1050 XPFs each), give you a welcoming drink on arrival and leave a fruit platter in your room.
The beach is so relaxing, the water warm and the breeze is like being enveloped in velvet. The hotel restaurant on the beach has very tasty "chicken club sandwiches and chips", which is enough for two after the included buffet breakfast at the hotel.
There is a little supermarket down the road and if you want to swim with the stingrays and sharks, ring Raanui tours. The number is on the map of Bora Bora. Fantastic trip. We swam with stingrays and sharks and saw manta rays and a moray eel. Hotel Maitai could have done with an electric jug in the room, but otherwise, great value for money. Really enjoyable trip. Bora Bora is a taste of paradise.

Room Tip: You don't need to be in an expensive overwater bungalow. The garden view rooms were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two nights here, one in a "classic" room and the other one "on stilts" (pilotis).
The first night was bad : the room had no charm and was not 100% clean. We thought that we could enjoy a nice meal at one of the hotel restaurants to forget that : it was a bad idea. We left the restaurant on the beach because of cockroaches crawling everywhere, which forced us to go to the second restaurant which food and service were awfully bad (fish was not cooked, butter was not fresh, portions were very small, had to wait 10 minutes to get a menu).
The second night "on stilts" (pilotis) was better. It is always nice to be on pilotis. But there is a reason why Maitai has the cheapest pilotis in Polynesia...they are not the best. Fortunately, the view was nice.
Our advice : if you have enough money, go somewhere else, otherwise, Maitai is a cheap way to spend a night "on stilts" (pilotis) with poor service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had to spend one unexpected night here, when a ferry schedule change kept us from traveling to Maupiti and the Intercontinental was booked for an extra night there. Although we had reserved one of the garden view rooms, we were upgraded to a beachfront bungalow, which was first class. It had plenty of room, air conditioning that probably was not necessary for our trip, nice bath, and comfortable bed. We would normally give a place like this 5 stars, but for two things. First was the charge for Internet, which equaled the charge at the Intercontinental. Second was the buffet meal and Polynesian show which we were talked into taking. It was the worst—and most expensive at about $75 per person--meal we had on the island; they had even run out of some of the dishes when we ate. We would have been better off with a pizza from one of the nearby snack places. And the show, with local young people in costumes, was disappointing, to say the least. And the house was packed with fellow travelers, so this dinner and show either are very well promoted or impressive to others. Perhaps we were there in a very bad off night.

That having been said, If you want a place almost next door to the Intercontinental at much lower cost, good view, good facility, and decent service, avoid the Internet and dinner/show and you will have spent your money wisely at the Maitai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Absolutely horrible experience...... DO NOT stay at this hotel..Service was TERRIBLE! Dinner took forever to get and any extras were ridiculously expensive! A birthday cake cost us $60.00 US. If you have to stay here DO NOT stay in a garden view room especially 26 to 31, no view and old and dated rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms 26 to 31 no view and poor condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel Maitai did not disappoint. It was very clean, well maintained, comfortable and affordable. It did not have the "extras" other hotels did but we spent most of our time in or on the water. I didn't need a lounge with pool table. I can play pool at home. I liked staying on the island vs a motu because we walked to to store for drinks and snacks, went to other places for dinner and shows and didn't feel "trapped" at one location. I read somewhere to bring a flashlight. This is a must! I am glad I did. There are no street lights and it is DARK at night. The kind if dark that allows you to see every star in the night sky. The desk was extremely helpful in arranging daily outings. I do not have one negative comment. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Davis, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Service sets this property apart, and the friendly, competent staff are so welcoming and accommodating that it is easy to overlook some minor maintenance issues. The flowers and landscaping are lovely, and we had a garden view room. I expected that to have a marginal view, but on our second floor, we could see the lagoon easily. The walk to the beach was minimal, the breakfasts were sumptuous, and the bar restaurant had a good selection of foods priced reasonably for the area. Frankly, you pay the same price for a Best Western in the oil fields of west Texas, so you get no complaints from me. I hope the company has set aside funds for some decor upgrades in the bathrooms, because with some relatively minor fixes, this can remain a wonderful place.

Room Tip: The second floor garden view actually was better than I expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maitai Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maitai Bora Bora

Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maitai Bora Bora 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Maitai Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maitai Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.