We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 502 Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia (Formerly Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to $150/night
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose the Hilton Bora Bora Nui to celebrate our 10th year anniversary. We also chose it because of the trusted Hilton brand.

AIRPORT/TRANSFER-
When we arrived in Bora Bora, we arrived at the Hilton desk in the airport. We were greeted by a nice lady and given a flower necklace. It was really a nice touch (all resorts seem to do this). She told us to go get our luggage and put on the Hilton tag (check the tag as you will know your room allocation right away!!) We were then escorted to the boat which was the biggest hotel boat in the water. We did have to take our own luggage which was a bit difficult. When we boarded we just wanted to go upstairs in the boat and look at the view. Instead we were asked to fill in paperwork and received complimentary water bottle. We finished quickly and walked up to the top. The view was really nice. We were ready to go but were informed that another plane was about to land and they wanted to wait (this was a disappointment as we were excited). Once we got going, we were seeing the amazing views. The boat was a bit run down and smelled like exhaust but we were in paradise. From a distance, the presidential suite was hard to miss and it was exciting getting close to the resort.

RESORT ARRIVAL-
Once we arrived at reception, we were serenaded with live music. They have seats and they provide you with a drink and hot towel. It was a nice touch. Then they started taking a few people to their rooms in golf carts. One of the ladies came up to us and said she would be back for us in 10 minutes. 10 minutes turned into forever. I was anxious as I had requested a certain set of bungalows and wanted to know where we ended up (didn’t realise when I put my luggage tag on that it had the OWB number on it). I knew it could take some time to get checked in but it seemed like forever. Plus, she said 10 minutes so we didn't want to go swimming in case she came back. She should have told us about the complimentary "hhonours " wifi in the reception area but she did tell us to go make dinner reservations. Eventually, we were taken to our room by golf cart. She arrived back at reception and we made our presence known. We ended up staying in OWB 113 instead of the requested 300's. They reviewed the room with us but we were ready to check it out by ourselves. I was disappointed that we weren't even remotely close to where we requested and there were so many regular OWB options to choose from in that area.

OWB 113-
Once they left and after the wait, it was about time for the sunset. They have left some bubbly in the room that had a note to the effect of "Thanks for choosing the Hilton." We had a toast on the balcony and it was an exceptional sunset that night. We were grateful to be in Bora Bora. The OWB was amazing. The bathrooms are massive and they are so spacious. I was very aware of what the amenities were like and was so pleased. Make sure you have an open air feel and open up the doors and windows. There really isn't a bad bungalow either. I was going to request a room change and came to realise how great our location was. We really loved where we stayed. You can’t go wrong with the OWB.

FOOD-
We had a half board (brekkie +lunch) and ate at the restaurants the whole time. Our favourite restaurant at the Hilton was the French restaurant Iraitai. It was the best food on the resort and had nice decor. If you’re a foodie then you will be disappointed. But for the South Pacific it was really good. Brekkie was wonderful and we ate outside most mornings. If you sit near the bar area, you can get free wifi. We loved catching up on the world and eating a great breakfast. Don’t forget to order personally made omelettes, eggs waffles etc… Restaurant reservations were really easy as well. You can also do last minute bookings so there is no fuss. We ended up eating later and later as time went by so there was no rush to get to dinner.

We did eat at the Tamure Grill one night. We weren't extremely hungry and the portions were very sizable. The food seemed really delayed and we were there for 2 hours. We were relaxed and okay with it but later in the week it took around 2 hours to order and then finish. Additionally, there were 2 nights when we had to go up and request the cheque. From what we read, in French culture you need to ask for the bill but in previous nights they brought it over. There were minor consistencies like this at the resort but it never bothered us.

SPECIAL NIGHTS
We attended the Polynesian Night and the buffet at Iraitai with live music. The Polynesian night was fine. The musicians were really good. The dancers seemed a bit unsure of themselves. We were also surprised that there was no fire included in their routine. They got the audience involved and people really loved it. The buffet at the Polynesian Night was vast and had many options.

We enjoyed the live music at the Iraitai restaurant. However, we were disappointed that during peak customer hours they went and had a break. We only enjoyed a few songs even though the restaurant was packed. Additionally, they didn't play French Polynesian music which was a bit of a disappointment.

RESORT SIZE-
The resort is large but it never felt overrun with people. You could always find a hammock, lounger or a quite place. We enjoyed how vast it was and loved taking walks.

AMENITIES-
The beach was extremely nice (seemed like raked sand) especially since FP isn’t known for its beaches (mostly coral + shells). The snorkelling is really good at the resort. We were so shocked that we saw rays, heaps of diverse fish and varied coral colour. You should still go on excursions (check with the concierge) but for resort snorkelling it was not bad at all. Good on the resort for trying to improve its coral and for advising guests not to step on coral in their room book. We only used the pool once since we had OWB. But it was nice. Additionally, the pool boys were great and helped us borrow equipment. It’s really nice that you can borrow paddle boards (although we almost died ), kayaks, snorkels etc…

We walked up to the “million dollar view.” It was stunning. We couldn’t believe our eyes at the water colour. It was also extremely warm that day so we went swimming right after walking up the hill. When we come back, we would really like a hillside villa. I don’t think they can be undervalued from the looks of it.

We really enjoyed the complimentary wifi. You have to be patient at times but it’s not a big deal. I would suggest to management to offer different types of packages. What they currently provided convinced us to just use the free option. But if they had better options we would have purchased it.

The grounds are super clean and well kept. They have beautiful landscaping and was very creative with their landscape designs.

MUSIC-
The music was really annoying. My husband and I found ourselves really upset about the selection. It felt like someone in a corporate office somewhere had never been to FP and didn’t get the culture. Many songs mentioned “Hawaii” and we weren't there! We stayed at other resorts on this trip and they had a much better selection. Additionally, it seemed like they were only paying for copy write on 5 songs. We heard the same songs over and over and over. It was really eye rolling.

AMBIANCE-
The resort was a bit too commercial for me. It really has catered to its main customers – Americans. No one spoke French to you because I believe they assume you don’t want that. Whilst I appreciated the staff’s ability to speak English well, it was missing a bit of the authentic Polynesian feel.

SERVICE-
I was shocked with how good the service was at the Hilton. In the South Pacific things tend to be slower. Whilst they had a few moments where they struggled, the service was really good. They clearly are trained well as a staff. However, I will say for a 5 star resort, they are probably understaffed in the restaurants. Many staff were “hustling” just to help everyone. Housekeeping was really good and came twice a day. Additionally, we loved “La Orana” by all staff. They were so welcoming and this seemed in keeping with their culture (Vaitape we were randomly greeted on the streets by a local).

SPECIAL OCCASIONS-
Whilst I realise that mostly everyone is in Bora Bora for a special occasion, the Hilton didn’t do anything special for our anniversary. We stayed at other resorts that brought us a special something. Perhaps with the bubbly they provided they could provide a personalised letter. They wouldn't even have to give something extra but just go the extra mile with what they are already providing.

Overall, this was the best holiday we ever had. Bora Bora is fantastic! The Hilton is wonderful! We would definitely go back and from what we can tell, has the facilities to compete with higher end resorts. It sets itself apart with amazing coral right on the grounds, amazing lagoon views and having multi-coloured water (which we preferred). You won't regret doing this trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: 100's are very nice snorkeling with views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Ia Orana Heathluvsing!

We are very pleased to see that we played our part in your "Best Holiday Ever"!

Thank you for your detailed feedback. Please be assured that your comments will be addressed with our team to further improve the experience we offer our Clientele.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Mauruuru Rua!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    784
    282
    83
    51
    17
See reviews for
148
938
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Nui 9/1/13-9/8/13 for our 25th anniversary and came to absolutely love this hotel and it's surroundings. We were in deluxe OWB #322 which is near the presidential suites near the end of a pier. It's a long walk to the restaurants, beach, etc. but we enjoyed the walks each day and if we didn't want to walk, it was a short & friendly golf cart ride.
Our trip had a glitch at the beginning: we pre-arranged for transportation from the airport to the Hilton via their "luxury" boat. Instead, we were picked up by their Vaitape shuttle boat - even though there were 7 people + luggage being transported. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were seated in the lobby & offered a small drink and cool scented towels to freshen up. Our room was ready before we expected it to be which was a nice surprise. OWB #322 is in a perfect location - excellent snorkeling off the dock and faces the leeward side of the motu so the water is very calm. The room is large and well laid out, AC works beautifully, bathrooms are large & well equipped. The king size bed was very comfortable. Two televisions in the room and a DVD player. We could only find 1-2 English channels on the TV. DVD's are available for rent from the front desk for 1000 xpf each. We used the water activities a lot - stand up paddle boards, kayaks, hobiecat sail trips. All complimentary. We ate the continental breakfast every morning & ordered from the hot menu 4 times - their eggs benedict is one of the best I've ever had! We liked the Tamure grill - especially the chicken club sandwich which I think we ate 4-5 times while we were there. We ate in the Upa Upa restaurant - my dish was just ok, but my husband's tuna was excellent. We made reservations for their weekly Polynesian show & buffet - the food was good. It is a buffet so the food is not going to arrive at your table piping hot, but for a buffet, the food was warm and there was a very large selection of choices. The food & drink service to the beach and pool was wonderful. I know people have complained about the service being slow here but honestly we never once felt that way. You're in paradise so it's best to just slow down, relax and enjoy the view. Hilton Gold members get the continental breakfast complimentary, plus complimentary WiFi in the bungalows. The Spa is ...... AMAZING! The receptionist was incredibly warm & sweet and the massage therapists were wonderful! My husband and I had the full body polish followed by a couples massage at the "million dollar view" hut. It was worth every penny! We completely enjoyed our stay here and plan to return in the future. Everyone at the hotel was so warm & friendly and called us by name after just the first few days. We left the Hilton to stay another 6 days on Moorea and regretted the change. We really wish we had spent all two weeks at the Hilton Nui!

Room Tip: Deluxe OWB #322 great for snorkeling, sunset and swimming off the deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear HavKidsWilTravl,

Ia Orana!

Thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa!

Additionally, I am happy to see that you were fortunate to enjoy massages in the "Million Dollar View" Hut or Fare as Polynesians say! This is indeed an incredible feature of the hotel and there is not better view of the Lagoon!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, this time, for two weeks!

Mauruuru Rua!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wonderful location, thoughtful design and features in the over-the-water suites, romantic views from everywhere at the resort. But some extra cost to get the shuttle to Bora-Bora mainland. Everything is pricy, but that is typical of Bora-Bora.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Ia Orana Joseph!

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback...

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future!

Mauruuru Rua!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

No extra words need to be written here about what a paradise Bora Bora is. But we do want to say a few things about Hilton.
We went to Bora Bora for our honeymoon (of course!). We stayed there for a week. Three nights at Sofitel Marara and three nights at Hilton (two nights in a delux overwater villa, and one night in hillside villa).
Well. We liked Hilton better. For one, it's got a hill of its own, which means you get the super breath-taking view of the colors of the water. And that's the exact reason why the mister booked a night in the hillside villa. And because of that, we found the "one million dollar view" (by spa, on top of the hill) by surprise. I mean, if we stayed in the overwater villa all three nights, we'd probably never find out on our own that there is this "OMG, it's so beautiful, I think I'm gonna cry" place on the resort.
For two, we had the most serene yet spectacular sunset on our overwater villa balcony. The mister also did quite a bit research on that to make sure we got one of the two best sunset-viewing villas on the resort. And many thanks to the staff who handled reservations to satify our needs as much as possible.
Talking about staff and services. Not that Sofitel's service is bad (it's great by all means), but Hilton somehow managed to create a full atmosphere that welcomes every guest. It's smiles and greetings everywhere you go. So when we filled out the survey before leaving, we wrote "every and each one of them" when asked "is there an employee you want to name for praise".
There are some flaws, too. 1)We did wait like half an hour in our room for the luggage to arrive. 2)And since Hilton is quite a big resort, it might take a bit longer to wait for the cart pick-up to get to you. 3)Out of safety concerns, you are not allowed to kayak out of the buoys (I totally understand, but it was quite disspointing as we were planning to go further).
However, they are no biggies compared to the overall service and facilities of the resort. We totally loved it. Thank you. And we hope we can return on our 20th anniversary to savior every bit of the paradise again.
Honeymooners, Hilton, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Ia Orana Newbie,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa!

Thank you particularly for your kind words on our team...We are indeed fortunate to have such a great staff! Please be assured your comments will be shared with them!

However, I must confess that I have one problem with one of your comments....Why would you wait for 20 years to come back to Bora Bora??? just kidding obviously! We certainly hope that you will get a chance to visit again the Pearl of the Pacific in a not too distant future!

Again, Mauruuru!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Bora Bora is beautiful and amazing. We really enjoyed our time there. The overwater room was amazing, we loved our time there.

The first room we were in faced a dock that had loud construction going on on it and was later used as a pier for bad weather. The Hilton was really accommodating to help find us a new room. They literally took us around in a golf cart to all the open rooms to see if we preferred it.


Though it was amazing, we did enjoy the Hilton Moorea more. Maybe it was because we got married on the grounds so everyone knew us, but the staff in Moorea were more warm and welcoming. Bora Bora's service was good, but it just wasn't as good as there.

Room Tip: It cost extra to get a room that faces only the water. Our travel agent didnt tell us! We would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Ia Orana Christina!

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa even if your comments show that the Hilton Moorea has won your heart!.
Glad as well to see that you were fortunate to enjoy two Hilton Properties in French Polynesia. Moorea is certainly different from Bora Bora and this gave you the opportunity to experience two of our finest Island.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!
Mauruuru!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanwal, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wow. As if Bora Bora isn't beautiful enough on its own, staying at the Hilton takes it to a whole other level. My husband and I spent 6 nights here for our honeymoon. We had a deluxe overwater bungalow (325) and it was AMAZING. Right from the airport we were met by friendly Hilton staff who laid us before carrying our luggage to the boat. Once onboard we were presented with ice cold bottles of water. On arriving at the resort, the staff stood waving on the reception deck, singing and playing music. Once off the boat, we were taken to a lounge area and presented with fresh juice and a cool face washer. This was just the first 30 minutes and this type of royal treatment continued throughout our whole trip it was fantastic!
The hotel itself is postcard perfect. White sandy beaches, palm trees, the clearest blue water ive ever seen! You can literally just walk out your bedroom door and dive into the ocean it was heaven. Great snorkelling either from the beach or your bungalow, the fish are so friendly and u can hire snorkelling gear (for free) if u need it.
Our package was half board which included buffet breakfast (try the Tahitian pineapple AMAZING) and a 3 course dinner at our choice of the 3 restaurants. The main one we used was the bar and grill by the pool. Its reasonably priced and the food is great. General menu of burgers, pizza, steak, seafood ext. The bar does great cocktails and will bring one to you in the pool or to your deckchair if u give them a wave!
On Tuesday nights they did a Polynesian buffet and show, this was GREAT make sure u do it.
The other restaurant we loved was the Upa Upa, VERY romantic and great views as its up high. Bit more fancy but delicious food. Didn't try the French one as nothing on the menu we really fancied.
Another huge highlight is the day spa. I had the Nehe Nehe which was 4 glorious hours of body scrubs, wraps, massages and a facial. Hubby had the hot stone massage and said it was the best hes ever had. After we enjoyed a spa Jacuzzi together complete with champagne, strawberries and a selection of cakes. Perfect honeymoon activity people!!
We had planned to do heaps more but once we arrived it was so relaxing to relax we just did that! It is THE best place in the world to do nothing! Our typical day was sleep in, buffet breakfast, wander over to a day bed under a palm tree, float around in the pool, have a cocktail, lay in the sun, have lunch, snorkel, arvo sleep ;) dinner, more cocktails then sleep. SO GOOD.

Negatives? Only 2 and they are small.

1.Coffee. We are big coffee drinkers usually and blame it on the climate but they really don't know what they are doing where coffee is concerned. The breakfast coffee is instant from a jug, the one u make in your room has to be done with powdered milk and when I asked for a latte or mocha at the bar they had no idea what I was saying. Great cocktails made up for it but if your like me and love your coffee, best take your own and order fresh milk from room service.
2. TV. Its all in French or Japanese so as English speaking Aussies we had nothing to watch. You can hire DVDS from reception but its a hassle and when we finally got one it didn't work anyway. We ended up paying for WIFI and watching youtube on the ipad. Now I know TV should be the last thing on your mind in a place like this but sometimes it is nice to just chill out and watch a movie. So if your the same TAKE DVDS WITH YOU.

Other than that, this place is breathtakingly beautiful, the staff treat you like gold and it really is honeymoon heaven. We will definatley be going back to bora bora one day and I wouldn't bother staying anywhere else but the Hilton.

Room Tip: We had bungalow 325, very deep out in the ocean and on the sunset side which was great. (also 4 up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Ia Orana Amanda!

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed our Resort!

Thank you as well for your kind words with regards to your experiences at the Tamure restaurant and on the Upa Upa Restaurant (did you try the Tampura of Tuna?)...I just regret that you did not try the Iriatai, our French Restaurant...You can order there some amazing dishes such as the Pumpkin Creamy Soup (one of our clients favorite), the Small fresh Glazed Vegetable Tart, the Mysterious deep fried egg, the Tahupoo Shrimp Risotto, the Confit duck rolls, the Mahi-Mahi and carrot declinations....(I'll admit, all these are as well my favorites!).

I was sorry to hear that you did not receive any english channels on your TV. I will have your room checked as we normally have several channels in English (CNN and Movie Channels). ...Additionally, I will have our DVD selection reviewed.

Finally, I am pleased to let you know that we will organize next week a Coffee making training session!

Again thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to be part of the success of your Honeymoon!

Mauruuru!

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like many other honeymooners, when we decided on a honeymoon destination, we decided we wanted the picturesque over-water bungalow experience that is always shown in travel magazines under the headings of "Paradise", and the Hilton really does deliver in that area.

When we first arrived into the airport, all of the hotels had little booths lined up at the airport, where we received a lei and were able to tag our luggage for the porters that would handle the luggage to the hotel. We booked through an agency, so the hotel transport was included.

Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by staff musicians playing music and singing, and was amazed by how beautiful the bungalows were over the water. While the water was not as turquoise as the water at some other resorts (water was deeper), it was still very beautiful picturesque.

The Hilton sits on Motu Toopua, and is situated facing AWAY from Bora Bora, whereas most of the other resorts that reside on motu's face the island itself. While you don't have the view of the Island (only a couple bungalows have that view, through a small channel between motu's), the view of the lagoon and ocean is really great, especially during sunset hours.

The property itself is pretty expansive, and the staff rides around in golf carts. There are 3 restaurants to eat at, two always require reservations, and the third, on the beachfront, next to the pool, is casual. There is a two-level infinity pool that faces the lagoon, and the lobby and reception area is located off the main dock to the property. The bungalows are situated all around, connected to the land by docks and bridges, and the larger royal bungalows (with private jacuzzi's on docks), and the presidential bungalows (made famous by the Kardashian's), are situated at the ends of the bungalow blocks.

The service was good, but like other reviewers note - it can be slow at times. The water activities/towel station is manned but goes long stretches without a worker there as they are also responsible for poolside food service and other things too. The staff has a good attitude, and the housekeeping is some of the best I have ever had - the housekeeper actually arranged luggage and toiletries on the sink and even folded some clothes I had accidentally left out!

The over-watever bungalow itself was a great size! with a sitting area and bedroom, an expansive bathroom with large soaking tub, double shower, and WC with bidet and two sinks, it really had everything needed. There was even two TV's and a DVD player (you can borrow dvd's from the front desk). The outside had a large deck, with some steps down to a smaller deck that had a ladder into the water. The sitting area had windows in the side table's and there was a viewport in the outside deck so you can see the water. There is also a narrow strip that opened up in the bathroom next to the tub that served as a window to the water. The decor was very polynesian, with wood grains and a canopy bed, but it had modern luxuries. Personally, I think I would have preferred the modern look on the inside, with the Polynesian look on the outside, but that is a matter of personal taste.

We had a massage with the "Million-Dollar View" and I have to say, it was one of the best massages of my life. The view was magnificent, the massage itself was perfect - perfect pressure and technique, and I was super relaxed after, in one of the most relaxing places on the planet!

The restaurants were only ok. The two restaurants that required reservations were a French and Polynesian restaurant, but they essentially shared the same space. The only way to differentiate was that the table settings were different. The food at each was good, but not spectacular, and the service was slow - a common theme that we found in French Polynesia.

There was a shuttle that would take you to Vaitape, but it wasn't complimentary. The good thing is, this resort is one of the closest to Vaitape, great snorkeling/diving and other activities, so if you do any activities you will likely be the last to be picked up, and first dropped off before and after the activities. We did a couple of excursions, and the proximity to these locations from the Hilton was great! If you want to get water/groceries for your room, go to the market in Vaitape - it's really a lot cheaper. The concierge can arrange dinner reservations on the property as well as on Bora Bora, as well as activities. Activities seem to book up quick so reserve them as soon as you can!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. It was beautiful and convenient, and a relatively good deal in comparison to some other resorts. I would be curious to check out the other resorts, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hilton to anyone visiting Bora Bora. As a bonus, if you have a late flight out, they can provide you a free transit room for 30 mins to change/shower or full day for around US$50 - definitely good for all those people wanting to maximize their stay! The only knock that I had was that there wasn't more convenient ways of getting across the property (bikes would be nice!), food staff was a bit slow, and the decor could have been more "luxurious" but it really was better than a very good stay, just under excellent, and I would return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanGuillaumot, General Manager at Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Ia Orana Derek,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments on our Resort!

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa and that we created for your Honeymoon trip a superb memory.

I do agree with you that the massages in the "Million Dollar View" Fare is an unforgettable experience!

Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with our team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Mauruuru

Jean Guillaumot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa

Address: BP 502 Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia (Formerly Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bora Bora… it’s possibly the most glamorously famous island in the world. Bora Bora’s legends, mysteries and romance lend an almost mystical dimension to its very name. The island rises up from the middle of the crystalline, multi-colored waters of its celebrated lagoon which is protected in turn from the ocean by a string of tiny coral islets.Suspended between turquoise waters and limitless skies, the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa nestles in a sacred cove of white sand and majestic lava rock. Here you will find a sensitive blend of authenticity and luxury - the very best of Polynesian tradition combined with sumptuous comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bora Bora Nui Hotel Bora Bora
Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort And Spa
Hilton Bora Nui Hotel
Hilton Bora Nui Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.