We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise's here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Bora Bora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Bora Bora to your Saves list
Le Meridien Bora Bora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Motu Tape | BP 190, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
BARI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise's here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place is the ultimate proof that paradise do exist on earth. Dreamy landscapes, superior food (even when buffet), brilliant and always super kind staff are here making the difference.

Points of strength: a few of free of charge water activities (e.g. kayak, snorkeling equipments etc.), internal and easy to swim lagoon, courtesy.
Points of weakness: none.

To double mention the staff courtesy and expertise; just to mention few of them but not limited to MANU, DAVE, MOEATA, JAY (ROOMA), MATAIHAU, NEHEMIA, JEROME and TEAROUI.

Cheers from Italy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Ia ora na!

Maururu for sharing your experience at Le Méridien with suck kind and nice words.
Our team is delighted and can not wait to see you coming back in our small paradise.

Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    394
    128
    65
    28
See reviews for
123
1,306
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

From the time we landed and took the motor launch and whisked along brilliant turquoise to blue waters we were greeted with a ukele singing duet. Poema from the front desk whisked us to our overwater bungalow. With its huge glass floor it was overwhelming. Our last day we did not leave our bungalow and with our late check out went to the airport. The rooms in the bungalows are beautiful and have everything you need. The staff are amazing from the brilliant smile of the lady making waffles and crepes in the morning to Jay on the beach to help you with your beach needs. They have an outrigger sail boat that will take you for a short ride which is fun. Good restaurant choices. One of the hidden jewel hotels

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows are fantastic. The best ones are at the end- best view and most privacy- bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Ia ora na !

Thank you for sharing such a warm feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien Bora Bora.We are glad to read you have enjoyed our resort and have a great memory of our friendly staff.

We hope we will have another occasion to welcome you !

Sunniest regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Island, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently spent 5 very memorable nights in Bora Bora. What a spectacular place! We enjoyed an overwater bungalow which was very fun. While this hotel is clearly focused on honeymooners, we were a family (3 adults) and still really enjoyed our stay. This would be one of my suggestions, it is important to always make sure you understand your client. Many times I was confused as a couple with my father which provided us with some hilarious moments, we took it in stride but it could be more of a bother for other guests and shows a lack of customer service. Not everyone who goes to Bora Bora is on their honeymoon! We did have to change rooms after our first night, due to a overly full hotel, this was a bit of a pain but we were on vacation so we didnt make too much of a fuss although I would say to Le Meridien, try not to do that to your guests, it is unpleasant and a potentially bad start to an otherwise nice stay. I absolutely reccomend taking advantage of all the activities that the hotel offers and helps coordinate. By far the most memorable was swimming with the sting rays and sharks! What an amazing experience. The hotel location is absolutely stunning as well. You may miss out on island life, as it is located on one of the motu (islets) but the view is one of a kind. The dining room for breakfast is also spectacular and the buffet in the morning is very interesting and varied. They did unexpectedly close one of the restaurants one evening which forced us to take the dinner buffet, while it was delicious we would have appreciated a little warning and information. This is something at both Le Meridien hotels we noticed, a lack of information for the guests. We never knew what restaurant would be open or closed, when the dance show was or any information at all about the local Heiva festival which was happening during our time on the island. The service and staff were wonderful, much more service oriented than the Papeete hotel. I must mention Jean-Marie and his spectacular crown during the breakfast service, he always greeted me so elegantly with a genuine small and it really made my day. His sister Cathy, also a server, was equally wonderful. She took the time to ask about our stay, where I was from and we had a lovely conversation which made me feel very special and taken care of. Thank you Cathy and Jean-Marie for being genuinely nice people with attention to the real spirit of customer service. In general I absolutely reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants something very memorable. Again take advantage of all the activities, Bora Bora has so much to offer, dont just go lay on the beach! Also do go into town one evening for a meal at St. James, just amazing.

Room Tip: Choose an over wáter bungalow with a view towards the island of bora bora NOT motu view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Ia ora na!

We are thankful for sharing your feedback from your stay.
We are glad that overall you have enjoyed our resort, facilities and had a good time with our friendly staff.
We took well note of your remarks as regard as lack of information about our restaurants ' opening days and hours and will share it with our team .
As a favorite honeymooners ' destination , Bora Bora and Le Méridien Bora Bora are a great place as well for families.
We would be happy to welcome you again .

Sunniest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First of all, I would like to say that the only reason I gave this a 4 star rating is because of the food. Everyone complains about it and its true….the food is nothing to rave about. BUT I did an extensive amount of research on all the hotels on the island and was prepared for this. I also knew how expensive water & food would be so my husband and I decided to be smart and pack some bottles of water and snacks (granola bars, crackers, candy). Its Bora Bora we're talking about here not the Caribbean so OF COURSE everything is going to be expensive. Go prepared, do your research and you'll save yourselves $$$ and hungry moments.

Now for the good stuff! I have to mention that this amazing trip would not have been possible without Jennifer and everyone at Pacific For Less. They planned absolutely everything and have the BEST prices out of all the travel agencies we looked at. From the moment we got off the airport everything went smoothly & I knew there was nothing I had to worry about but sit back and relax. If there was any issue with the excursions or tours all I had to do was send out an email (wi-fi is not free but for $130 you had unlimited service almost everywhere on the resort) and someone would reply back quickly or call the hotel and have it sorted. Their customer service is top notch! Jennifer was extremely patient with me after sending so many quote requests in the beginning and I just can't rave enough about them. DO NOT book a trip here without PFL!! You'll be making a huge mistake. We had breakfast included in our package which was the best meal of the day. Lunch was ok and I found that eating in Vaitape at the Aloe Cafe was even better. Boat transfers to the main island are 30 min each way so keep this in mind if you plan on eating outside every day. Boat transfers are also not free but who cares when you have the best view on the island! Vaitape is definitely worth a few visits, its nice to see the real Bora Bora and if you don't want to pack drinks or water with you, there's supermarkets there where you can buy all that.

Excursions you must do: Shark & Ray Tour, Jet Ski's & ATVs. Both were all planned by Jennifer and they were absolutely amazing! A lot of the water activities are free which is great if you're bored in your bungalow (joke). The service is exceptional for the most part. Everyone was very helpful and kind even if their English wasn't. I had a glass makeup bottle which had broken and spilled everywhere on our flight. I ended up throwing out an eyelash curler as it was completely covered in water proof foundation. We got back to our bungalow late that day and sitting on my sink was the eyelash curler…so clean it was shining in the light. I couldn't believe it. Our bungalow was awesome, the furthest out with some boat traffic but still very very peaceful. I know this is a crazy long review but I just have to talk about it all because this was my go to place when I was planning our honeymoon and reviews are very helpful. Keep in mind that places like this are full of snobby people who have tons of complaints over ridiculous things like termites(??) and how the food is soo bad blah blah. Don't let this stop you from staying here! We were able to see the other resorts up close and they did not have the same perfect view of the mountain and the space that we had to walk around. If you walk out to the back where theres a helipad you can hear and see the ocean hitting the reef just before the lagoon. It is absolutely gorgeous! Again I have to thank everyone at Pacfic For Less and all the Le Meridien staff for making this the trip of a lifetime!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Overwater Bungalow #338 being the second furthest out in the lagoon. Felt like the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guests, Ia or ana!

Maururur roa, thank you for taking the time to write a complete and fair revieuw of Le Méridien Bora Bora and thank you for choosing us as our honeymmon destination.
It was a pleasure to read how you have enjoyed our location, friendly and helpful staff and took the time to discover a bit further of the resort.
We hope you will have another opportunity to come back to our small paradise.

My sunniest regards,*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for my honeymoon in January 2013.
A great experience.

Very friendly staff and service.

We stayed in the Overwater Bunglow and it was gorgeous.

The glass bottom floor , makes it even nicer :)

Would recommend it to anyone who visits Bora Bora.

Room Tip: Overwater Bunglow is the way to go :) Its the best experience in Bora Bora
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I ao ra na,


Thank you for recommanding Le Méridien Bora Bora and we hope we will have another occasion to welcome you in a future.

Sunniest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First of all, avoid staying in overwater bungalow as it is simply waste of money and over priced. You have nothing great in an overwater bungalow. There is just a small cut-out of about 4 feet x 2 feet on the floor with double glass placed. If you thinking that you will be able to see marine life below your room, then simply forget it. It will only remain your dream. Overall, its just a waste of money to stay in overwater bungalow, instead stay in standard garden villa in half the price.

Secondly, the hotel doesn't live upto its name. In today's time, every international hotel provides atleast 2 ltrs. of complimentary water in the room but this hotel doesn't do so. Maybe 2 ltrs. of water is very expensive for the management (sarcastic). Common we pay more than USD 1500 per night, atleast we can expect this much from the hotel.

Thirdly, also avoid staying in overwater bungalow because all the rooms are affected with termite and even if it is cleaned by the housekeeping, soon within 5 minutes they come up.

You can also try Intercontinental which is right next to this hotel.

Room Tip: They also do not provide free wi-fi in rooms. You can also avoid this hotel for this reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guests,


Thank you for taking the time to review our resort .
We took well note of you remarks and are sorry if our resort and particularly our rooms were not up to your expectations .That is said, our glass floor remains the widest and largest that can be found in any resort of French Polynesia and we regret if you were disappointed on that point.Underneath our bungalows, it is sand bottom mainly ,which explains there is not as many species as in a coral garden, however fishes, such as rays for example regurlarly swim under.

We hope we will have another occasion to welcome you and give us an opportunity to show some improvments.

Sunniest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great place to have a relaxing vacation. The folks here are the best. Have fun learning some of the native language. It is much appreciated if you just try to speak a few words. Rented the Hobie Cat, and enjoyed the free outrigger canoe.

Room Tip: over water with glass floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Ia ora na!

Maururu roa for your kind and warm review .
We hope to see you again soon here !

Sunniest regards, Nana!

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bora Bora
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
Hotel Maitai Bora Bora
#13 of 18 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tape | BP 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Bora Bora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.