We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, even better service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, even better service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was great, we were made to feel special by Anita Roihau who met us off the boat. We have to say that Anita went out of her way to help us. We upgraded to the overwater bungalow for the first 2 nights, and it was definitely worth it. All of the bar staff were very friendly as well, and even the manager, Didier stopped to say hello every time he saw us. The rooms were clean as expected, and the pool was good, if not the biggest pool, but there are lots of good snorkelling opportunities off the jetty. The location is good, with a couple of supermarkets close by. The only gripe we had was that the restaurant menu didn't change in all 7 days we were there. The food was good, but it would have been nice to vary the menu a little. The excursions offered are also very good, I recommend kite surfing and the Eco tour, which offers great opportunities to swim in the open sea with lemon sharks. Take a trip to Bloody Mary's restaurant, who pick up and drop off for free, and the meal is excellent. Overall we loved this hotel, and would definitely return. We even got a free bottle of expensive champagne....twice!! When we asked about it, we were just told not to ask any questions...we wouldn't be charged for it!! How's that for service. I've said it before, but the best hotel service we've ever seen was from Anita, she really excelled herself for us. Other thanks are for Fran, who tended to all our needs in the restaurant, Pipi at the bar, who makes great cocktails, and Tarou who is the most laid back guy you will ever meet. Thanks for making our holiday a great one, hope to see you again. Maruru.
Jamie & Fifi.....June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Marara Beach resort and for your great comments. Just to remind all our followers, Our diner plan provide many options ,
1- choice of dishes from our a la carte menu at the restaurant Latitude 16
2- special menu of the day and 3 times a week a show cooking with speciality on the terrace
3- Buffets 2 to 3 times a week
4- second card available at the Hurricane bar
5- Diner romantique at the private island onmonday, wednesday and friday (under conditions)
6- Diner a the private island at the Manu tuk restaurant (under conditions)

Anita is extremely happy with your review and she join me to thank you from the deapest of our heart for you So kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    248
    125
    94
    62
See reviews for
60
646
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

When we were there, there were many kids (from the way they were treated they seemed family of the staff) shouting and splashing water all around in the pool area. No one in the hotel told them anything so it lasted for hours

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments, on Mother day or on special sunday brunch entertained with local band to retrace the old time ambiance in Bora Bora, mainly on sunday we are happy to welcome our local people with their familly and kids. Sofitel Marara Beach is the place to enjoy the share of he local culture with life, entertaintment and singers with a lot of activities. That is the reason why to satisfy all our guest we also propose Sofitel Private island which is extremely exclusive. this Sofitel hotel is 3 mn away from the Marara Beach Resort, more family oriented and both options are available at Sofitel Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaia, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed the last week of June 2014. Fantastic welcome by Anita when we arrived, followed by a lovely introduction to the resort and check in. We were given another room to use until our room was ready as we had arrived early. Really unexpected and a nice touch. Our over the water bungalow was fantastic and I would recommend everyone to book one if you can (the garden room we saw was nice and tidy also but nothing could beat being able to swim immediately off your deck). Nice private deck area on the bungalow to lie in the sun or just relax.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Definitely want to go back again!
Only slight negative was the air conditioner in the room was very loud - either turn it off at night (and open all the rooms shutters - don't forget insect repellent) or bring ear plugs if you want to sleep with it on.

Room Tip: Choose an overwater bungalow. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
This is a great comment and Anita is really happy to have your feed back regarding her welcoming! I got your information regarding the noice from the A/C and we take care of it!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for about 5 days in May 2014. We booked the half overwater bungalow.
Looking at the price difference between full overwater and half overwater I would advice to go for the half overwater; most of the full overwater did not have a better view than our bungalow.
Service of staff is great, and location of the resort is good (there is small supermarket close and also some restaurants (restaurants do free pcikup).

They do charge for wifi (how annoying is that in 2014) but if you become a member of the accorr club it is for free.

We booked a lagun tour through the hotel, and that was fantasic. This included swimming with rays and sharks, and we had a great time. Our tour guide was called Ray and he was fantastic. Would advice going with him.

I did get the feeling in the hotel that they charge for everything and not at a cheap rate. The picking up from the airport is a perfect example; you need it and that is how they priced it. I know this is what all hotel do, but don't like that.

Still had a great time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your great comment regarding our "ambassador's service " and for your appreciation on our great location. Our boat shuttle from the airport is a service which is offered by Sofitel to come from up north of the island where is located the airport down to the south where is located the Sofitel, it is a half circle island tour of 20 mn trip. The choice is to take the air Tahiti transfert to Vaitape and then a taxi to come over to the hotel, so there is a alternative but the direct trabnsfert is such a great and convenient start to start your experience at Bora Bora! Thank you for your stay at Sofitel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach May 2014. The bungalows are wonderful and had everything we needed and were very clean. Ask for rooms 49 and 50. The mini frig is just a small college type frig with no freezer. The water outside your bungalow is not the 100% aqua but still a beautiful blue. Anita is the main person we dealt with and she was wonderful. She got us on all our excursions and was a big help. The Ecotour (with yummy lunch) was so much fun we went twice- ask for Alex. The 4x4 sunset tour- Ask for Daniel, paddle boarding and scuba diving are also highly recommended by us. The food in the restaurant and bar was ok, but they do need to hire more staff. The property and pool were beautiful. The fitness center is really old and only has a few old machines. You do not need a car, but there really are not that many places to eat and anywhere you go is about $55-80USD per person just for a basic meal. Good places to eat- The Lucky House, Pizza & Crepes(cheap and good) - both walking distance and Bloody Mary's- free shuttle. Also, there is almost no shopping on the whole island. It was almost impossible to find anything our kids would want for a souvenir. We never saw inside any other properties, but would totally stay at the Sofitel again if it was the best price. Don't forget a good underwater camera!

Room Tip: Ask for overwater bungalows #49 and 50.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing Sofitel for your holidays at Bora Bora!
As you said there is a lot of magnifiques activities and Sofitel Marara is your perfect base to enjoy easily all of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have now stayed at the Sofitel Bora Bora twice the first time was in 2007 for hour honeymoon, where we stayed in a overwater Bungalow for 14 nights, and again this past May for 14 nights.
Now let me explain why I say that overall the Sofitel Bora Bora is the finest hotel and resort in Bora Bora by a sizable margin.
1. Sofitel Bora Bora Over water Bungalow price range is $400 to $600 dollars depending on season. The Four Seasons and St, Regis range is $1250 to $4000 plus depending on view. Both the Four Seasons and St. Regis resorts have larger bungalows no question, but the Sofitel bungalows all have direct ocean views (not lagoons) and are more then big enough for a couple.
2. Sofitel Bora Bora is on the main Island of Bora Bora, which gives you access to shopping, grocery stores, and bike rental for going around the island, or to town, and many local restaurants. Both the Four Seasons and St. Regis are off island on Motu's and you need to wait 20 to 30 min's to catch a boat to the main island.
3. Sofitel food and beverage prices are far less then both the Four Seasons, and St. Regis test the Sofitel has a world-class restaurant and chief on its private island, which is easy to get to.
4. Overall better staff at Sofitel. The Sofitel has almost all locals working at the hotel whereas the Four Seasons and St. Regis have almost expats French expats. My wife and I Find the locals of Bora Bora give you a feel of family, make your stay special, and are expertly knowledgeable of the island and what it has to offer
5. Management staff. I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world, not including every island worth staying at. The Sofitel Management is by far, the best. They treat you like you are their family. They planned all our events. Our wedding, tattoos dinner reservations, they bought us champagne 3 times, the manager a kind and wonderful man bought us dinner at their best restaurant. They gave us shirts, and even dress for my wife. As a example at the St. Regis where we had dinner at the famous Jean George (the Sofitel got us the reservation even though we did not stay at the hotel) the staff was kind friendly but treated us as any standard restaurant customer, even kicking us out of our table being we were their over a hour.
6. The Sofitel bungalows are large, and best of all, are 100% private!!!! No one can see you if your outside of your Bungalow topless or hanging out with little clothes. This was the most impressive part for us being at the Four seasons or St. Regis all the bungalows were right next to each other and you could see right in the next bungalows windows or deck, giving you no privacy! So if your honeymooners and want REAL privacy stay at the Bora Bora.
Summary: Look Bora Bora is expensive no question. So if you want a dream vacation and a 5 star resort without going broke, stay at the Bora Bora! By staying there you will save 70% on the room cost alone! Of course if you are a multimillionaire and like spending 30K on a 10-day vacation and you only stay at the four Seasons, or St. Regis, spend away! I am not a poor man, But I see the three hotels as being very similar yet the Sofitel is a 1/3 the cost!!!!
Please also note when in Tahiti ONLY stay at the intercontinental! It is by far the nicest hotel in Tahiti.

Room Tip: Ask for Bungalow 48 to 52 they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for being so much detail in your comment regarding your last stay at Sofitel Marara Beach resort!
Our hapiness is share our passion for excellence and to provide our "cousu main" service to make you feel part of Sofitel family.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in your paradise !
you have your second home at Sofitel Bora Bora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We started our 35th aniversary trip in Bora Bora at this hotel. It was the nicest hotel we had ever stayed in. We were in unit #63 which is one of those furthest out and most private. There is 20 to 30 feet of water under this unit making for great swimming. The unit has about 700 square feet plus the large deck area. We enjoyed spending a lot of our time on our deck. We had the breakfast included and it was very good. Lots of variety, good food and you can sit and watch the fish. There is a market just up the road going up the road to the left as you exit the hotel. We went there to buy wine, cheese and snacks for our lunches. This is much cheaper than buying meals at the hotel. The two dinners we had at the hotel were good and the portions were large enough to split. Further up the road from the market is the Maitai restaurant which is less expensive and you can sit at a table in the sand and watch the water. A little further, still within walking distance, is the best beach on the island. This hotel has a great location.

We talked with several other couples. Some were staying at the private island resort. The consensus was that the food was not as good there and more expensive. One couple kept taking the shuttle over to the main resort to eat. I recommend staying on the mainland rather than a resort on a motu. It seems the food is more expensive on these as there are fewer options. One guide book said the guests on the main resort at Sofitel could take the shuttle to the private island for free. That is no linger the case. A day pass from 11AM to 5PM is 7000 xpf per person. We felt this was rather expensive. There is a shuttle to Vaitape Monday through Saturday for 1600 xpf round trip. This is less than half of what a taxi costs.

We talked with one new groom who broke his arm and got scraped up in a bike accedent on the narrow island road. A dog ran out in front of him. I don't recommend bikes or scooters. One couple had a great time going around the island on a dune buggy. That looked to be safer.

If you walk up the road the other direction from the market you can see the native vegitation along the road. It looks like a dense jungle. You can also get a look at a large abandoned resort (Club Med).

Room Tip: Unit 63 was farthest out over the water and more private than most of the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
What better place than Bora Bora to celebrate your 35th wedding anniversary? All the team is delighted that you spent a Magnifique stay at the Sofitel Marara Beautiful Beach Resort in your over water bungalow.
See you again back soon at Sofitel Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.