We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip and wouldn't change a thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%!
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip and wouldn't change a thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach May 2014. The bungalows are wonderful and had everything we needed and were very clean. Ask for rooms 49 and 50. The mini frig is just a small college type frig with no freezer. The water outside your bungalow is not the 100% aqua but still a beautiful blue. Anita is the main person we dealt with and she was wonderful. She got us on all our excursions and was a big help. The Ecotour (with yummy lunch) was so much fun we went twice- ask for Alex. The 4x4 sunset tour- Ask for Daniel, paddle boarding and scuba diving are also highly recommended by us. The food in the restaurant and bar was ok, but they do need to hire more staff. The property and pool were beautiful. The fitness center is really old and only has a few old machines. You do not need a car, but there really are not that many places to eat and anywhere you go is about $55-80USD per person just for a basic meal. Good places to eat- The Lucky House, Pizza & Crepes(cheap and good) - both walking distance and Bloody Mary's- free shuttle. Also, there is almost no shopping on the whole island. It was almost impossible to find anything our kids would want for a souvenir. We never saw inside any other properties, but would totally stay at the Sofitel again if it was the best price. Don't forget a good underwater camera!

Room Tip: Ask for overwater bungalows #49 and 50.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing Sofitel for your holidays at Bora Bora!
As you said there is a lot of magnifiques activities and Sofitel Marara is your perfect base to enjoy easily all of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    221
    106
    81
    55
See reviews for
52
582
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have now stayed at the Sofitel Bora Bora twice the first time was in 2007 for hour honeymoon, where we stayed in a overwater Bungalow for 14 nights, and again this past May for 14 nights.
Now let me explain why I say that overall the Sofitel Bora Bora is the finest hotel and resort in Bora Bora by a sizable margin.
1. Sofitel Bora Bora Over water Bungalow price range is $400 to $600 dollars depending on season. The Four Seasons and St, Regis range is $1250 to $4000 plus depending on view. Both the Four Seasons and St. Regis resorts have larger bungalows no question, but the Sofitel bungalows all have direct ocean views (not lagoons) and are more then big enough for a couple.
2. Sofitel Bora Bora is on the main Island of Bora Bora, which gives you access to shopping, grocery stores, and bike rental for going around the island, or to town, and many local restaurants. Both the Four Seasons and St. Regis are off island on Motu's and you need to wait 20 to 30 min's to catch a boat to the main island.
3. Sofitel food and beverage prices are far less then both the Four Seasons, and St. Regis test the Sofitel has a world-class restaurant and chief on its private island, which is easy to get to.
4. Overall better staff at Sofitel. The Sofitel has almost all locals working at the hotel whereas the Four Seasons and St. Regis have almost expats French expats. My wife and I Find the locals of Bora Bora give you a feel of family, make your stay special, and are expertly knowledgeable of the island and what it has to offer
5. Management staff. I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world, not including every island worth staying at. The Sofitel Management is by far, the best. They treat you like you are their family. They planned all our events. Our wedding, tattoos dinner reservations, they bought us champagne 3 times, the manager a kind and wonderful man bought us dinner at their best restaurant. They gave us shirts, and even dress for my wife. As a example at the St. Regis where we had dinner at the famous Jean George (the Sofitel got us the reservation even though we did not stay at the hotel) the staff was kind friendly but treated us as any standard restaurant customer, even kicking us out of our table being we were their over a hour.
6. The Sofitel bungalows are large, and best of all, are 100% private!!!! No one can see you if your outside of your Bungalow topless or hanging out with little clothes. This was the most impressive part for us being at the Four seasons or St. Regis all the bungalows were right next to each other and you could see right in the next bungalows windows or deck, giving you no privacy! So if your honeymooners and want REAL privacy stay at the Bora Bora.
Summary: Look Bora Bora is expensive no question. So if you want a dream vacation and a 5 star resort without going broke, stay at the Bora Bora! By staying there you will save 70% on the room cost alone! Of course if you are a multimillionaire and like spending 30K on a 10-day vacation and you only stay at the four Seasons, or St. Regis, spend away! I am not a poor man, But I see the three hotels as being very similar yet the Sofitel is a 1/3 the cost!!!!
Please also note when in Tahiti ONLY stay at the intercontinental! It is by far the nicest hotel in Tahiti.

Room Tip: Ask for Bungalow 48 to 52 they are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for being so much detail in your comment regarding your last stay at Sofitel Marara Beach resort!
Our hapiness is share our passion for excellence and to provide our "cousu main" service to make you feel part of Sofitel family.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in your paradise !
you have your second home at Sofitel Bora Bora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We started our 35th aniversary trip in Bora Bora at this hotel. It was the nicest hotel we had ever stayed in. We were in unit #63 which is one of those furthest out and most private. There is 20 to 30 feet of water under this unit making for great swimming. The unit has about 700 square feet plus the large deck area. We enjoyed spending a lot of our time on our deck. We had the breakfast included and it was very good. Lots of variety, good food and you can sit and watch the fish. There is a market just up the road going up the road to the left as you exit the hotel. We went there to buy wine, cheese and snacks for our lunches. This is much cheaper than buying meals at the hotel. The two dinners we had at the hotel were good and the portions were large enough to split. Further up the road from the market is the Maitai restaurant which is less expensive and you can sit at a table in the sand and watch the water. A little further, still within walking distance, is the best beach on the island. This hotel has a great location.

We talked with several other couples. Some were staying at the private island resort. The consensus was that the food was not as good there and more expensive. One couple kept taking the shuttle over to the main resort to eat. I recommend staying on the mainland rather than a resort on a motu. It seems the food is more expensive on these as there are fewer options. One guide book said the guests on the main resort at Sofitel could take the shuttle to the private island for free. That is no linger the case. A day pass from 11AM to 5PM is 7000 xpf per person. We felt this was rather expensive. There is a shuttle to Vaitape Monday through Saturday for 1600 xpf round trip. This is less than half of what a taxi costs.

We talked with one new groom who broke his arm and got scraped up in a bike accedent on the narrow island road. A dog ran out in front of him. I don't recommend bikes or scooters. One couple had a great time going around the island on a dune buggy. That looked to be safer.

If you walk up the road the other direction from the market you can see the native vegitation along the road. It looks like a dense jungle. You can also get a look at a large abandoned resort (Club Med).

Room Tip: Unit 63 was farthest out over the water and more private than most of the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
What better place than Bora Bora to celebrate your 35th wedding anniversary? All the team is delighted that you spent a Magnifique stay at the Sofitel Marara Beautiful Beach Resort in your over water bungalow.
See you again back soon at Sofitel Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The water is great and right across from you is some of the best snorkeling. You can rent a pontoon boat right down the beach from the hotel and go all around the island.
The resort is really old and is in need of serious updating. We had purchased over the water bungalows, but found them dirty and not real appealing, so we moved to beach front. They were a little better but, the bath room had mold growing in shower and the room wasn't very clean. We were very disappointed, after staying at the Sofitel in Moorea, it was beautiful. The service was just
Ok, the food was ok, nothing to brag on. The only wonderful thing was when you got into the water, you forgot about the hotels short comings. We did eat at 2 good restaurants Lucky House and Bloody Mary's, the hotel have shuttles to take you and pick you up.
We will go back, but will stay somewhere else. It is the most beautiful water. A must is to go on a private snorkel trip with Moana Adventure Tours, ask for Vincent for a guide, he is a professional
Photographer too and will take pictures of you for an extra cost, but turn out unbelievable.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms were a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
In late 70’s Dino de Laurentis choose this place where is located the SOFITEL to build this property to host all the movie stars from Hollywood.
The resort is permanently under refreshing and maintenance. It keeps it’s traditional Polynesian ambiance and both over water, lagoon front and beach bungalow are in line with this design.
We took note about all your comments and necessary and proper actions have been implemented to avoid the problem to occur in the future.
Thank you for your fidelity to our brand, all the management and ambassadors working here are dedicated to make your holidays a true genuine experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The over water bungalows are totally worth the extra dollars. If you get the right ones. We stayed in two different styles of room over the water, the lagoon bungalow and the over water one. The lagoon ones are nice because you get your own private swim deck, but to have the room facing the ocean at the end of the pier, with no other rooms in view from your deck, it was almost perfect. The place was needing some updating. But the overall sensation of the place was amazing.

Room Tip: Some of the bungalows face the pool and have very little privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
A great thank you for your feedback. Our bungalows offer you indeed a Magnifique view and allow you to enjoy the lagoon in all privacy. See you soon at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Such a great experience! Tanya at reception was very friendly and helpful and the rest of the staff followed suit. Beach front bungalow was spacious, well appointed, and perfectly kept. Five steps out front and my toes were in the sand!

The Sofitel restaurant is pricey, but there are many options for cheaper eats within 10-15 minute walk. Check out Faremanuia down by Matira Beach - delicious food, free wifi and excellent service at a great price!

I highly recommend the Polynesian massage at the spa, so relaxing!

The beach is beautiful, the pool is beautiful, the views are amazing. Overall, I have zero complaints about my stay here, everything was just perfect. Merci Sofitel Marara, a bientot!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
What a Magnifique experience sharing! What nicer feeling than to wake up a few steps from the water with a beautiful view on the lagoon.
Our Resort has 2 restaurants (Latitude 16 ° and Hurricane), 1 bar, 1 fitness room, 1 shop, 1 pool and offers all kinds of activity. You have the choice between staying in a bungalow overwater or in garden. We are glad you had a Magnifique stay at the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle Heights
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the fifth Sofitel I have stayed at. I agree with some of the other reviews about the need to update the rooms (namely the bathroom area and associated furnishings) as well as revamping the food options. However, I don't think those things detract from an overall pleasant and relaxing stay in Bora Bora.

The coral around the bungalows and beach are great to check out a wide array of fishes and you may see an occasional sting ray too. Our partial over the water bungalow was clean, had a comfy king size bed, and a great deck to relax on while viewing the stunning scenery around the area.

The staff was very hospitable and kind, especially our favorite, Sarah, who ensured we had the best experience in Bora Bora with the various activities available (rec: do the Eco tour and swim with the sharks!). The staff will also provide a bungalow on the day of your checkout to shower, etc. an hour before you depart so you don't have to spend additional money on extending your reservations beyond the normal check out time at 11am.

While the food at the hotel was a disappointment, there are some great restaurants on the island that Sofitel will help make taxi arrangements (which are free) and reservations. Mai Kai and also the Yacht Club were the best we dined at. Amazing food and service at both.

You get free wifi which is a huge plus. But no free mini bar which is a departure from the other Sofitels we have stayed at. There is a small store about a five minute walk from the hotel where I would recommend you stock up on beverages, fruits and other snacks for your room.

In sum, we had quite a lovely stay at the Sofitel and one of the best vacations due to the stunning beauty of the island. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save some money and can't quite splurge at the Four Seasons. You will still have a great stay in Bora Bora.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this nice feedback. It is true that our hotel is aging, which is why we do at the moment refreshment work.
About our restaurant, our Chef Régis Bruillon developed a new card which was set few weeks ago. We also started a new “A la carte” for our bar on May. Our bungalows offer stunning views of the lagoon and are located close to the coral garden, allowing you to admire a large number of fish with equipment (mask, fins, snorkel, ..) that we put at your disposal. You can even see Magnifique manta rays if you are lucky.
We attach very close attention to guest relations, to ensure you have a Wonderful stay at the Sofitel Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.