We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The water is beautiful, but resort is in need of updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The water is beautiful, but resort is in need of updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The water is great and right across from you is some of the best snorkeling. You can rent a pontoon boat right down the beach from the hotel and go all around the island.
The resort is really old and is in need of serious updating. We had purchased over the water bungalows, but found them dirty and not real appealing, so we moved to beach front. They were a little better but, the bath room had mold growing in shower and the room wasn't very clean. We were very disappointed, after staying at the Sofitel in Moorea, it was beautiful. The service was just
Ok, the food was ok, nothing to brag on. The only wonderful thing was when you got into the water, you forgot about the hotels short comings. We did eat at 2 good restaurants Lucky House and Bloody Mary's, the hotel have shuttles to take you and pick you up.
We will go back, but will stay somewhere else. It is the most beautiful water. A must is to go on a private snorkel trip with Moana Adventure Tours, ask for Vincent for a guide, he is a professional
Photographer too and will take pictures of you for an extra cost, but turn out unbelievable.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms were a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
In late 70’s Dino de Laurentis choose this place where is located the SOFITEL to build this property to host all the movie stars from Hollywood.
The resort is permanently under refreshing and maintenance. It keeps it’s traditional Polynesian ambiance and both over water, lagoon front and beach bungalow are in line with this design.
We took note about all your comments and necessary and proper actions have been implemented to avoid the problem to occur in the future.
Thank you for your fidelity to our brand, all the management and ambassadors working here are dedicated to make your holidays a true genuine experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    231
    116
    87
    59
See reviews for
53
609
19
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The over water bungalows are totally worth the extra dollars. If you get the right ones. We stayed in two different styles of room over the water, the lagoon bungalow and the over water one. The lagoon ones are nice because you get your own private swim deck, but to have the room facing the ocean at the end of the pier, with no other rooms in view from your deck, it was almost perfect. The place was needing some updating. But the overall sensation of the place was amazing.

Room Tip: Some of the bungalows face the pool and have very little privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
A great thank you for your feedback. Our bungalows offer you indeed a Magnifique view and allow you to enjoy the lagoon in all privacy. See you soon at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Such a great experience! Tanya at reception was very friendly and helpful and the rest of the staff followed suit. Beach front bungalow was spacious, well appointed, and perfectly kept. Five steps out front and my toes were in the sand!

The Sofitel restaurant is pricey, but there are many options for cheaper eats within 10-15 minute walk. Check out Faremanuia down by Matira Beach - delicious food, free wifi and excellent service at a great price!

I highly recommend the Polynesian massage at the spa, so relaxing!

The beach is beautiful, the pool is beautiful, the views are amazing. Overall, I have zero complaints about my stay here, everything was just perfect. Merci Sofitel Marara, a bientot!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
What a Magnifique experience sharing! What nicer feeling than to wake up a few steps from the water with a beautiful view on the lagoon.
Our Resort has 2 restaurants (Latitude 16 ° and Hurricane), 1 bar, 1 fitness room, 1 shop, 1 pool and offers all kinds of activity. You have the choice between staying in a bungalow overwater or in garden. We are glad you had a Magnifique stay at the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle Heights
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the fifth Sofitel I have stayed at. I agree with some of the other reviews about the need to update the rooms (namely the bathroom area and associated furnishings) as well as revamping the food options. However, I don't think those things detract from an overall pleasant and relaxing stay in Bora Bora.

The coral around the bungalows and beach are great to check out a wide array of fishes and you may see an occasional sting ray too. Our partial over the water bungalow was clean, had a comfy king size bed, and a great deck to relax on while viewing the stunning scenery around the area.

The staff was very hospitable and kind, especially our favorite, Sarah, who ensured we had the best experience in Bora Bora with the various activities available (rec: do the Eco tour and swim with the sharks!). The staff will also provide a bungalow on the day of your checkout to shower, etc. an hour before you depart so you don't have to spend additional money on extending your reservations beyond the normal check out time at 11am.

While the food at the hotel was a disappointment, there are some great restaurants on the island that Sofitel will help make taxi arrangements (which are free) and reservations. Mai Kai and also the Yacht Club were the best we dined at. Amazing food and service at both.

You get free wifi which is a huge plus. But no free mini bar which is a departure from the other Sofitels we have stayed at. There is a small store about a five minute walk from the hotel where I would recommend you stock up on beverages, fruits and other snacks for your room.

In sum, we had quite a lovely stay at the Sofitel and one of the best vacations due to the stunning beauty of the island. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save some money and can't quite splurge at the Four Seasons. You will still have a great stay in Bora Bora.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this nice feedback. It is true that our hotel is aging, which is why we do at the moment refreshment work.
About our restaurant, our Chef Régis Bruillon developed a new card which was set few weeks ago. We also started a new “A la carte” for our bar on May. Our bungalows offer stunning views of the lagoon and are located close to the coral garden, allowing you to admire a large number of fish with equipment (mask, fins, snorkel, ..) that we put at your disposal. You can even see Magnifique manta rays if you are lucky.
We attach very close attention to guest relations, to ensure you have a Wonderful stay at the Sofitel Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here for our honeymoon in a beach bungalow. We loved all the birds and lizards we saw. Many came to visit us while having coffee on our deck in the mornings. The grounds are beautiful, as is the entire island. This was a very relaxing and romantic experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
A great thank you for this nice comment. Lizards and birds are in fact at home in Bora Bora, and wanders as they wish within our hotel. They are of course harmless. Sofitel Marara Beach Resort is decorate with flowers and maintained at local colors throughout the year. By hoping to have the occasion to welcome you again in Sofitel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel was a bit disappointing. The service and food quality was average at best. The service was very slow, it took over an hour one evening between an appetizer and our main course to arrive. There was one restaurant and one bar, so choices were rather limited. The lock on our room door as well as the fish viewing light were broken and never fixed during our stay- despite requests to fix each. We only had wash cloths the first day and never received any more on subsequent days- despite requests for them. . If I return to Bora Bora, I would not choose this resort to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We thank you for your feedback, your comments are very important for us. On the day, when the service was too long we had one “F&B AMBASSADOR” but he had a very important problem which did not allowed him to come and it’s why you had to wait during this service. Now, he is always here and in “on call” Ambassador is ready to come in case of emergency. There are 2 dins services at night at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort with various meals: tapas menu at Hurricane Bar, menu & “A la carte” at Latitude 16° Restaurant. In addition, themes buffets (Polynesian, Seafood..) are proposed 3 times a week, with traditional show. You are also the possibility on demand to have diner at Manu tuki Restaurant at the Sofitel Private Island and on Romantic Diner 3 times a week at our Private Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Ok, for starters, YES the location and sites were AMAZING!!!! Water unbeleivable and more then I could image. But I am rating the hotel so here it goes.....I had been in contact with the resort many times in regards to WHAT over the water bungalow I wanted. Confirmed though emails, I was set for the VERY end one facing the Main island of Bora Bora. After we arrived, they took was to ours, NOT the one they said I had!!! We had one with ZERO privacy and asked to be moved, NEVER did they move us, or even explain why they couldn't, as far as I saw NO ONE was in the one we had asked for, so for that, I rate their service LOW! Now for the food, OVER PRICED so be prepared! Take the boat to the main island and go shop in town and bring extra food back. And stay at a different resort! Service was NOT as I expected for this Private Island Resort!!

Room Tip: Don't ask, because you won't get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We thank you for your feedback and we take your comments into account .
It is true that the island of Bora Bora offers fabulous landscape. Hoping to welcome you again in the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.