We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay @ Sofitel. Vacation of my dreams!! Pure heaven!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay @ Sofitel. Vacation of my dreams!! Pure heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Marara Resort on the mainland (not the private island) from April 1-April 4, 2013. I had previously stayed on the island of Tahiti for 7 days before this 3 day stay. I wanted to save the best for last and Bora Bora did not disappoint!

Upon arriving into the tiny airport at Bora Bora from Papeete, you will need to deplane, then head to the only conveyor belt to gather your checked luggage. Then, you will need to locate the stand with your hotel name on it to take a complimentary water taxi to your hotel. The Sofitel Marara Beach Resort kiosk/stand was very easy to locate. I gave my name to the staff member and he gave me a luggage tag already with my last name and room number on it. He told me to affix this to my checked luggage that I had collected, and then whisked me away to a small boat/water taxi and off I went to heaven for the next 3 days. The water ride was really pretty as it was around 530pm and the sun was setting.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was greeted by Muriel who served me a small, tropical drink and went over my check in portfolio/paperwork that all incoming guests have to fill out. She then gave me a small tour of the facilities and then lead me to my overwater bungalow 65. She was amazing, very warm, welcoming, good English. She remembered me when I checked out 3 days later and came by to say goodbye. I felt very welcomed and it's this personal one-on-one experience that the staff is known for. Everyone went out of their way to help out the guests.

Once I entered my overwater bungalow 65, I nearly died (in a very good way). I was like a kid in a candy store, very excited for my stay and extremely giddy. OWB 65 had a king size bed with a VERY, VERY comfy mattress; 2 dual sinks, a hairdryer, an open space rain shower (wow), a separate toilet. There was a small safe, a small fridge, a water kettle to boil water for the packets of tea/coffee in the room. The tv had about 2 English speaking channels (one was CNN), others were all in French. The Sofitel uses L'Occitane amenities (very high class and I love their products). The first night I had a "visitor" in the form of a white gecko that I named Gordon (Gordon the Gecko) that just chilled out in a corner on the wall by the tv. Previous visitors must have left the wooden window shutters open so he probably crawled in. **Tip: Please keep the wooden shutters closed so you won't get any more "visitors" otherwise, you might have a lizard problem or flying insects in your room. There is an A/C so the room remains cool even if you close the wooden shutters. Also, if you bring snacks, keep them in a tightly sealed ziplock bag!!**

In the AM, I truly was amazed at how AWESOME OWB 65 was!!! There was a small patio with 2 lounge chairs, a small platform to access the water to go snorkeling, and an outdoor shower of fresh water, not the sea salt water to briefly rinse off if you wanted to before entering the OWB again. The snorkeling/kayaking equipment is free to rent so have fun and take advantage of your platform to enter the water and play! Very colorful fish. Plus, the bungalow has a glass bottom section that at night, you can see colorful fish swim underneath you and it's also lit. **Tip: the metal ladder leading from the wooden platform into the water had algae/seaweed/plants growing on it. Be careful and try NOT to touch the algae/plant growth. I received a nice rash near my upper hip/thighs and shins for 3 days since my skin was freaking out from the algae and I had to take Benadryl for the hives to go down.** Also, bring mosquito or bug repellent. You're by the water so at night, the mosquitoes will eat you alive if not protected. My friends stayed in OWB 50 and OWB 66. I think my bungalow was the best. :) OWB 66 doesn't have a glass bottom view in the room.

I ate breakfast daily with fruits, juices, an omelet station, croissants/breads, coffee, bacon/sausage by an amazing view of the Bora Bora lagoon. The breakfast place is also located near the infinity pool so you really get a great view. There is also a very small 2 room spa where they offer facials/massages. I didn't go to the spa as I was busy exploring the island.

I didn't use the spotty Wifi as I was too busy snorkeling and enjoying my view from my bungalow and going on land excursions. On 2 occasions, there was a stingray that floated near my bungalow and I was able to follow it and view it while snorkeling, but I kept a respectable distance.

At check out, it was very fast, no long lines around 11am. The Sofitel really has their act together and it was a seamless check out. Denise checked out my account and I had a million questions for her and she was gracious enough to try to answer me in her broken English, that's when Muriel (who checked me in on night #1) helped out. Seriously, these ladies are on top of their game and FABULOUS! There is a $2 USD/daily (200 Pacific Franc/daily) charge as a contribution to Sofitel's ongoing Lagoon Project to protect their corals in the lagoon. It's not mandatory so you have the option to remove that charge at check out. I didn't remove it as I thought it would be gracious and nice to give back to Mother Nature. C'mon...$6 USD isn't a lot for a GREAT cause! I totally believe in karma.

Overall, this was a trip of a lifetime. Muriel and Denise were fantastic. The gentIemen at the beach equipment rental hut were also very helpful and friendly. I felt very loved here. OWB 65 is THE room to book. I also saw many sun rises from my large window in front of the bed. I took so many pictures. I will definitely come back! Bora Bora was awesome and I actually cried/got teary when they escorted me back onto the water taxi to leave for the airport and when the porter (young man that takes our bags from your rooms, I forgot his name) blew the conch shell as I was leaving as a gracious farewell....I actually got sad and teary!! I'm in love with the Tahitian culture and their lovely island spirit.

Merci and Mauruuru to the entire establishment for a splendid job well done! Until we meet again, my new found friends. Thank you again for a superb stay. For those reading this review, any hotel on this island will have great views of the lagoons, but it's THE PEOPLE and the STAFF that can make or break your stay in paradise. The Sofitel really trains their staff to be attentive and caring. There's a Sofitel in Beverly Hills, CA (close to where I live) and their service is no where close to what I received at this Sofitel on Bora Bora. The customer service here is amazing!! Thank you again for the beautiful, inspiring, touching memories. XOXOXO

Room Tip: Splurge on the overwater bungalows (especially #65). Worth every hard earned penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Maururu for your great comment regarding your experience at Sofitel Marara Beach Resort ! All Ambassadors and the "Mother Nature" would like to thank you for your Lagoon Project's contribution. You are right it's little for a GREAT cause !

As you know, they are very important for us to make sure we are fine tuning all our standards to provde the service that all guet expect from Sofitel. Thank you for your stay with us at Bora Bora.
We wait for you to come back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    209
    98
    76
    52
See reviews for
48
551
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The reasons for my visit were not ideal, but everything I encountered made me feel that a return trip is in my future. Family is great, but... come on. The hotel location, it's grounds and my room were idyllic. The staff were all friendly, warm and welcoming.
The hotel can make arrangements for every available activity, but my family used the contacts of local friends for such things. The sights, though not directly attributed to the hotel were spectacular.
When a friend of mine asked me to describe Bora Bora, my response was simply: Ridiculously beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment. As you know, they are very important for us to make sure we are fine tuning all our standards to provde the service that all guet expect from Sofitel. Thank you for your stay with us at Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not ready for heaven..the winner get to Bora Bora.
Here is What's What according to me: Clarification:
Regarding arriving by plane from Papeete
(Pronounced Papa ette tay, repeat several times slowly and then speed it up).
After landing, Scoop up your bags.
and its a stone's throw walk to the boat dock where you
can get a free ferry to the one block town of Viatape, and then
pay for a taxi (around $20) to your hotel IF its located on the main island.
Or put yourself on a clearly marked boat with the name of your Luxury Hotel
Some hotels are located on the separated vegetated reef called a Motu on the east side
of the main island and facing it ( St Regis, Four Seasons, etc)
Other hotels are on the main island( Intercontinental, Sofitel etc),
(the Hilton is on its own little motu island)...
As far as I can tell, the difference in price between hotels is: the amount of luxury
based on the bluer and the turquoisey the water and the more privacy,
(along with the bigger bungalow,attention and better bath products)...
Hotel sight seeing for comparison walks is not
encouraged or easy here...and next to impossible between the motu, and island
unless you rent a boat.

The difference between the Sofitel Marara Beach and the Sofitel Private Island
is that originally they were two different resorts,
..The Marara Beach was owned by Dino Delaurentis and is on the main island of Bora Bora. The Private Island is in the middle of the water separated by a two minute motor boat ride. Both look at each other, and are administered by Sofitel. My husband and I stayed at both resorts. Both resorts have over the water bungalows (OWB's )and land bungalows,good beds, good pillows, very soft soft towels, hair dryers, irons, and superb service of people who go out of their way to try to please you. The delicious french bread, and food is very good is similar and served on soft table linens in both resorts: pricey but not totally outrageous in comparison to any luxury hotel in any major international city.
If you stay on the Private Island which has bluer more turquoisey water, bigger bungalows(double sink bathrooms), then you can -if you choose to, take the
shuttle motor boat to the Marara, vice versa requires a reservation request for dinner or additional priced pass. Both resorts provide free snorkeling equipment, and the snorkeling is great in one part on the Private Island. On the other hand, it's possible to pay for a day pass from the Marara beach to a nearby island to go snorkeling and have a super experience. The Marara has a swimming pool and is somewhat handicap accessible. The Private Island doesn't and isn't. If you have bad knees or are recovering from hip surgery the Private Island may not be such a good idea for you, because there are A Lot of uneven lava stone steps....
Either way we were thrilled to be on Bora Bora, And the Sofitel worked within our budget ranges. We originally booked the lagoon view bungalow, which was fine, right on the beautiful beach of the Marara Beach and I think it was a good choice for us. Because it was January- low season ( not a good time to go but we were unusually lucky having only one day of constant non stop pouring rain) and they were in the process of refurbishing rooms, we were upgraded to an over the water bungalow, ( definitely nicer, especially for my husband who liked feeding the fish over the balcony railing, and hanging out on a lounge chair on the private covered balcony, if that's important.) All bungalows of every price range have outside lounge chairs. Over the water are more private,and yes nicer. About two blocks from the Marara ( turn left leaving) is a small but adequate supermarket.Wifi throughout the island is run by a private company and therefore you log on thru them(anytime minutes can be used as wished $5 per hour, but its slow so don't plan on working here unless you're a real workaholic or on an expense account.
Summary:
Sofitel Marara Beach Resort: The main hotel, has more people more variable price choices of accommodations, has some bungalows close to the road,but also OWB's , good congregating swimming pool, and nice beach,( you can do a little snorkeling especially if you take some bread, you don't necessarily need rubber shoes on this one. It has easier access-and a little more happening.
Sofitel Private Island: A Very Deluxe Luxury hotel, quieter, bigger bungalows, more fancy no swimming pool, ( most people swim off their private bungalow balcony ladders in shallow getting deeper outrageously gorgeous turquoise water, there are a couple of small sand beaches, and one very good snorkeling area on rocks, tuff terrain for bad knees, no handicap access. Both Resorts have good food good drinks, and people who want to please you. Almost everyone here is trilingual (Tahitian,French,English).
One more thing don't pack as many clothes as you think you need. , hold-on strap type sandals for swimming, sunscreen, 2-3 bathing suits, 3 sundresses,2 cover shirts/pareo, teeshirt and hat. For guys Tommy Bahama type lite wear works well here 2 bathing suits, 2 shorts, 1 long kakis, nylon fishing shirt, Hawaiian shirt, polo and two tea shirts sunscreen sunglasses and cap should do it.And be prepared, for not wanting to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they are all very valuable for the hotel and will help to maintain our standards and quality at the highest level to make you all enjoying a true and genuine experience in our paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just left the Sofitel Bora Bora and can honestly say it was the best holiday ever!
From the welcome we received on arrival to the smiling faces of ALL the staff.
Thank you to the wonderful guys at the beach equipment hut, nothing was too
Much trouble. We will certainly be back soon.
Mauruuru xxxxxxx

Room Tip: Our Bure was half way along the beach and one back from the sand. We had a view of the beach, water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Maururu for your great comment regarding your experience at Sofitel Mraara Beach resort! We wait for you to come back !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I took our honeymoon here in late Feb and early March 2013.

We booked through a travel agency and chose a Lagoon Front bungalow for the first 5 nights of our trip and the second 5 nights of our trip we moved to a Deluxe Overwater bungalow.

We arrived and were greeted and welcomed with many smiles and friendly people. We were then seated by Tania (one of the Activities Desk attendants). She tells us we have been upgraded from a Lagoon Front to a Beach Front bungalow for the first 5 nights. My wife and I were surprised by this, because we chose a Lagoon Front for a couple of reasons...
Lagoon Front bungalows are half over water and are larger than Beach Front.
The beach is nice, but the bungalows there are not very private. The Garden bungalows are directly behind them.

The Lagoon Front bungalows have an amazing deck and a private ladder to go in and out of the water.

So we tell Tania that we booked a Lagoon Front, and that we would like what we booked. She then tells us again that the Beach is an upgrade (which still makes no sense to me). We AGAIN ask for the room we booked. She then tells us it's not ready and brings us to a transit room to wait for the room to be cleaned.

This was not the expected welcome we had hoped for on our honeymoon.
After waiting a couple hours, we were checked in to our Lagoon Front.
It was a great!!!! We jumped in the water and went snorkeling right away. There was a ton of fish around the coral and the water was crystal clear! The Lagoon Front bungalow was delightful.

We then moved up to the Deluxe Overwater. This made the Lagoon Front look bad. WOW! What a great room. We had one of the best Overwater Bungalows. It was amazing.

While we were there we took a couple tours that were organized by the Activities Desk.

Anita from the Activities Desk helped us book a Jet Ski tour, she gave us a voucher with 11:30 AM written on it and told us to be waiting for the pickup at 11:30 AM the next day. 10:30 AM the next morning they are calling us in our room to find out where we are. We rush out and arrive late, causing the whole tour group to have to wait for us. Our tour guide was apologetic and awesome about it, once he saw our voucher had the wrong time written on it.

The next day we decided to eat Bloody Mary's (which turned out to be a mistake). We also decided to book the Eco-Tour (sharks and stingrays). We stopped by the activities desk and Anita is there. We ask about the Eco-Tour and book a half-day (highly recommend!!!). Before we can mention we wanted to eat at Bloody Mary's and need to have them pick us up, she try's to hard sell us on the "Romantic Dinner on the Motu" which is like a 5 hour dinner experience on the private island. We had read enough reviews of this to know it was not for us....so we declined the hard sell.
We then asked Anita if she could arrange a reservation for us at Bloody Mary's and if not, what did we need to do. She says with a slight attitude "Oh, you have to ask reception desk for that."
We were a little bit surprised by this, and she could probably tell from the looks on our faces....and she quickly changed her story and picked up the phone and made the reservation for us. It was a very strange way to be treated.

The rest of our stay and the other staff was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed being greeted by Pipi and the other staff every morning at breakfast. The guy who helps with the towels and kayaks, Taaroua, was really amazing and helpful. Every time we saw him he was always so very nice and he really showed us what the people of Bora Bora are like.

All the staff at the bar and restaurant were wonderful. The breakfast was really great. It's a true breakfast with eggs and crepes and waffles all to order. The restaurant dinner food left a lot to be desired. We ate dinner there twice. If the food were better we would have eaten there a lot more, we chose to go across the street to La Bounty to have some amazing meals.

Our Overwater bungalow had a minor issue of power surging, like the power going on and off rapidly. It happened a few times. Nothing major.

One must is to grab your snorkel gear and take the kayak over to the Motu, then swim over the Coral Garden...best snorkeling on Bora Bora!

Overall we are very happy with our stay at Sofitel Marara, though it did feel slightly commercial with the hard selling of the "romantic dinner" package.

Room Tip: Lagoon Front Bungalows are actually half over water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, your comment are always highly appreciated. they will contribute to maintain at all time, the quality level we commit at Sofitel for all our guets.
Thank you for your stay at Sofitel Marara Beach in Bora Bora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It has been a few years since my visit to the Sofitel Motu Private Island resort now. We stayed for four nights in two rooms: a garden bungalow and an overwater bungalow both. This was part of a trip around French Polynesia where we also stayed on Moorea and Tahiti. While I preferred Moorea, as an island, to Bora Bora (for cultural reasons), the tranquility of staying at this hotel was immeasurable and an experience unto itself. Let me list a few reasons it was exemplary:

- the rooms were immaculate, but most particularly, the bathrooms
- the service was outstandingly good and friendly at all times, very personable since it's a small hotel on an island with a boat that takes you to and from the mainland
- the food was good although a bit limited (this could have changed since we were there), but it was easy to get to the mainland and find other fare as well; the restaurant itself is lovely and there's something special about the roof although I can't recall what it was, but there was a story to it. It's ideal for drinks with a view and reading in the evenings
- the hotel provided every tour option you could possibly desire
- staying in an overwater bungalow was everything you imagine it will be
- the hotel is on the most gorgeous bit of property I saw in all of the Society Islands, period. The sand is whiter, the volcanic rocks black and stark against it, the drama of the lagoon is right in front of you, snorkeling is the best I've yet experienced with an incredible variety of fish, and the botanical gardens and seclusion of the motu are unparalleled... I spent most of my time just hiking around and then coming to the far side of the little island to watch the hermit crabs and sea urchins on the rocks facing the private island not far off. Photographs cannot capture how beautiful this is. Look hard enough and you can find the grave of someone unexpected up there.

It would be ideal, obviously, for a honeymoon or a gift to oneself. I think this, to me, represents the height of quiet luxury vacations. It's nice to combine this with a trip to Moorea, which is a bit less expensive and has more jungle interior than Bora Bora, if you like hiking, and a bit more cultural experience as well. But I can't think of a single thing that wasn't amazing about the Sofitel Motu, and it IS worth the extra money to stay here over any other hotel in Bora Bora. What an amazing place. It's a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for recommanding Sofitel Bora Bora Marara and for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor readers.

We really want to be at the top to provide the pure and traditional local entertainment at night during diner time with sea food buffets or traditional tahitian oven . Our goal is to share our culture in a great way.
This experience is to make you feel like in a desert island with a five stars luxury service.
Your are right, there is a story, the location resort was choosen by Dino de Laurentis for his movie "Hurricane" with Mia Farrow because it is the best spot and he build the bungalow for the movie star, then he became a Sofitel.It was a real pleasure tio host you and e hope you will come back to our paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights on the private island of the resort. Beautiful over water bunaglows and our room was really great. The "on demand" boat service to get you to the main island was very convenient and is great that it is included at no extra charge. The only thing I missed was the warmth of the Polynesian people. I guess as they bill themselves as a luxury resort it is all very formal with the generous use of "madam" instead of one's name. I suppose some people who stay in these types of locations expect that - but personally I find it takes away from the warmth of the islands and felt very cold and removed to me. The big exception was Tita who always had a great smile and a most welcoming hug.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at Sofitel Private Island. We really want to make everyone coming over to stay with us, feeling a great and unique experience in our beautiful island.
Thank you for your 4 days with us and all Ambassadors (Tita included) are happy and proud to make your holiday a real success in our paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Tingo, Prestigia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.