We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bora Bora Ecolodge

Save Saved
You added Bora Bora Ecolodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bora Bora Ecolodge
PK 12 | ANAU, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The most perfect holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

From the minute we got picked up, and garlanded, at the ferry dock, I knew this was going to be a special holiday.
The Passerieux family run the Bora Bora Eco Lodge and it truly is a family affair with Mum and Dad and the daughter and son-in-law who will ensure that your holiday in paradise is all that and then some!
I'll start with the bungalows in Anau - they're comfortable, charming and, if you choose the full board option, you'll get the healthiest breakfast and dinner delivered to your bungalow. Up to you to decide whether you eat in bed or outside. Trust me, the fresh food will make you feel 1000%!

The bungalows have their own private pontoon and most afternoons, the fisherman drops by with tuna or marlin or whatever le poisson du jour is. And you'll get to eat this within three hours for dinner. Do I need to say more? I'm salivating just remembering!

However, the highlight of the trip is the private island, or motu. This island, about 10 minutes from the airport by boat is a time-warp! The energy is from windmills and solar panels, for the eco-conscious. You can spend the day wandering around the lagoon (because it is seriously shallow) and even walk out to the reef barrier and marvel at the Pacific Ocean. Or you can just hang in the shallow lagoon (paddleboarding, kayaking or just being) and watch the rays glide past majestically while the mists overhanging the volcano swirl. Did I mention that the water is 27° in winter?

You will eat Michel's simple yet glorious food, while he serenades you with his ukulele, and retire to your fare (house). And once there, you will hear the gentle lapping of the waves, the wind rustling in the trees, and, I hope, you'll venture outside in the blackness. You'll look up and see the stars, devoid of light, noise and sound pollution, you'll see the colours in the sky, you'll see distant galaxies, nebulae etc and you'll understand that this holiday can never be replicated.

You could go to Bora Bora and stay at an all-inclusive and hang out by their chlorinated swimming pool and drink sanitised cocktails. Or you could experience the real Bora Bora with a family at a fraction of the price. What will you do?

PS In case you aren't convinced already, how about goin swimming with stingrays and sharks? Check out the photos :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you ever dreamed about staying on your own little island in the beautiful lagoon of Bora Bora, and you want to avoid the overpriced luxury hotels, come to Michel´s Motu Ecolodge. This is a really special place, there are only 2-3 bungalows on the island, they are clean and simple, you hear the waves splashing on the beach while you are asleep.

Michel is the owner of the island and he will take splendid care of you. He will pick you up from the airport in his little boat, he is the only person staying on the island with you and will attend you with any help you might need. He also cooks some really great food for you at night, local yummy fish dishes, very nicely done with lots of love. He is the soul of the place, and living the dream.

All of this at a nice small price... couldnt ask for more!!! We would love to come back soon (if it werent so far from home)

Thanks for a wonderful time, good luck in future endevours.
jenSos and Miriam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the EcoLodge& Spa on Bora Bora. Olivier met us on the pier and took us to the lodge which is near the Matira beach. It is a little long to walk to the beach, but Olivier was very helpfull and could drive us to were we wanted to go. But it would have been great if there had been bicylces at the lodge for the guests to use. We thought it was a bit expencive, but Bora Bora in general is expensive. So to be near the Matira Beach I guess its the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

$ 93 per night! feel free at this price for this lodge renovated. We spent a weekend with my wife and my two childrens. Pick up free to the beach of Matira, huge breakfast, free jacuzzi ... The only problem: no half board and only few stores

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bora Bora Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Ecolodge

Address: PK 12 | ANAU, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Ecolodge & SPA is the first establishment of the network of the same name. This is a guesthouse with 6 bungalows plus a private island with 3 bungalows. Our rates are the lowest in Bora Bora! From 7900 cfp per day per bungalow. The all inclusive is possible from 9900 cfp / person / day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bora Bora Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bora Bora Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.