We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hill Lodge
Save Saved
You added Sunset Hill Lodge to your Saves list
BP 58 Vaitape | BP 58 Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€59 (EUR)
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Gerard's Sunset Hill Lodge for four nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. We used this as an excellent opportunity to explore the island. Gerard was great in recommending activities, restaurants and where to buy pearls. Although Gérard recently had a landslide destroy some of his property the room we stayed in was very accommodating. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed having a full fridge and used the stove to make breakfast in the morning. The food store is within walking distance. We also borrowed bikes one day and rode down to Matira beach. The best part of staying at Gérard's is the knowledge he has of Bora Bora and his willingness to share this information with all his guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    22
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
25
85
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Simply excellent. The owner is really nice and helps you to make the most of your experience. He picked us up at the dock when we arrived and took us back when we left. The apartment is on the hill, but really close to the sea at the same time, so you can see wonderful sunsets.
The apartment has all the amenities, kitchen full equipped, air conditioning (we did not need it), comfortable bed and a big nice terrace. Everything on the apartment worked perfectly, there is free WIFI.
It is very nice to discover the island by bike and Gerard can lend you a bicycle for free. He is very professional and welcoming, he made us fantastic recommendations we really enjoyed, like the lagoon tour. Bora Bora is an small island and the main sites are close to this place, Matira beach is amazing, we got there by bike through an awesome landscape.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed a week in Studio 2 and had a wonderful time. The studio is really large, the deck/terrace is almost the same size as the apartment itself and the lounge is just beautiful. You can spend your evenings there with a drink, enjoy the view of the sea during breakfast and still be outside when it's raining as it is covered. The apartment has a fully equipped kitchen so you can save a lot of money by cooking for yourself. The supermarket is 5min by foot. But what's best about the Sunset Hill Lodge is Gerard, the owner. He knows good and cheap places to eat, has good connections for the trips and buying pearls and really does everything to make your stay perfect. He brought us fresh baguette a few times in the morning, did some washing for us (free of charge) and gave us a lift to the beach so we only had to cycle back (we had no problems with the bikes). You are not located near the beach but it's an easy ride by bike and for a self contained unit the location near Vaitape is perfect. I have just read the last bad review and would like to state that of course there are dogs on the island but none of them seemed to be aggressive. We experienced Gerard to be helpful in every way, so the service was awesome. It is one of the few budget options you have on this expensive island and we were so glad we booked this accommodation, which left us enough money to spend on Lagoon trips. Thank you Gerard for a week that we'll never forget. Greetings to lovely Rapunzel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in studio 2 for a week in May 2014. The studio was spacious and clean, there was a table in the large covered terrace where we could eat breakfast and dinner while enjoying the view of the lagoon.
Gerard is a very devote host, attentive to the need of his guests. He showed us around the island and booked us on a great boat tour of the lagoon. The tour guide Steven was a hilarious bon-vivant very attentive to the comfort of the tour guests.
There are restaurants, stores and supermarkets at walking distances from the lodge. We did not like the food at the Chinese carry-out close to the lodge because it was very greasy.

Room Tip: Studios 1 and 2, large and comfortable for families, provide a view of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had an excellent experience at Sunset Hill Lodge. Firstly, the lodge has the best Internet service in all of Bora Bora and I have been to Four Seasons and St. Regis. Recently there has been a landslide and so the garden has been temporarily distroyed, but even so the accomodations are still very comfortable. The Lodge is also near Mai Kai Marina & Yacht Club, which allows guests of the lodge to go swimming in their pool. The GM, Gerard is a superstar. He picked us up from Viatape and then took us to the day activities. He also lent us the bicycles to get around the island on our own. His friendly and engaging attitude was really a breath of fresh air. I would stongly recommend Sunset Hill for anyone who is on a budget, but still wants to enjoy all that Bora Bora has to offer.

Room Tip: All room are excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

i read many positive reviews on this accomodation and decided to book a studio for 6 nights for our HONEYMOON! It was a terrible mistake! my husband and me are not used to go to 5* star hotels, we rather prefer traditional hotels/b&b...but for me some kind of service are essential everywhere! we were in bora bora but far away from the sea!yes it was possible to rent bikes for free but they were in very poor conditions and on our way for the beach the bike' wheel blew out and we had to came back by foot! in vaitape there are many many stray dogs and its not so safe going around by bike or by foot above all during the night! then, Sunset Hill is not close to any bar/ restaurants and also to reach shops and roulottes you have to walk for 2 km! theres no privacy in the room cause there are small curtain and mantainance works were in progress so it wasnt relaxing at all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetHillLodge, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
I envy you a lot, if the stay at the Sunset Hill Lodge is for you a nightmare , you must otherwise have a fabulous life ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Thank you Gerard for helping make our trip to Bora Bora a remarkable one! We had a very comfortable stay at the Lodge, and the rooms are spacious, well appointed and have a beautiful view of the bay. Gerard is a great host, most helpful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Lodge

Address: BP 58 Vaitape | BP 58 Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished accommodations close to Vaitape's village. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.