We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vavau 4x4 Adventures

Vavau 4x4 Adventures
98730, French Polynesia
+689 87720121
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$71*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bora Bora’s beauty is breathtaking, and Vavau 4×4 Adventures is the very best way to take it all in. Our off-road vehicles are comfortable and safe, and will transport you to Bora Bora’s most secluded spots. Experienced multi-lingual guides share stories of our island’s history from ancient legends of Polynesian gods and chiefs to the lure of Hollywood filmmakers and seafaring adventure seekers. Historic World War II canons remind of us the social and economic impacts, and international influences on our island home. Stroll along Matira’s sunny shore, voted as one of the world’s top ten beaches by Tripadvisor. Enjoy the cool breezes at Bora Bora’s highest vantage points and marvel at the world renown lagoon bordered by the Motus — offshore isles afloat in a turquoise paradise.There’s no better way to come to know Bora Bora than by spending time with our family at Vavau 4×4 Adventures. Come enjoy the beauty of our island home. Ia Orana!
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We took the Tour on the morning of 10 July 2012.

The tour was really good, really informative, and took us to a number of different places in Bora Bora. Some of the places we visited were really hard to get to, and it took some immense driving skills to get there!! The trek in the Landrover 4x4 was loads of fun, and well worth the money. Also, the views from some of the stops on the tour were spectacular, and will live with me forever.

I booked the tour well in advance of our stay via email (check out the website for more info), and the service I received was extremely courteous and professional. This tour should be considered a MUST on any visit to Bora Bora.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    52
    5
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent way to enjoy a beautiful Bora Bora Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This 4x4 was not at all what we expected. It was far better. We were picked up by our driver and brought to a narrow pathway up a hill. At first I was scared we were going to fall off the hill because of how small the passage way was. But as we neared the top, our driver told us to close our eyes, as we opened them again we saw the most beautiful view of Bora Bora. There we had champagne while watching the sunset and to our surprise, our driver begin to sing for us beautiful Bora Bora Songs. Overall this tour is great for couples who enjoy a unusually delightful tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royse City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Driver Daniel was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Daniel picked us up just as it began raining... we assured him we would be ok, so off we went! We picked up 2 other couples along the way, a total of 6 riders in the back, and had a terrific time! Daniel told of many interesting things throughout our tour, and answered every question with such patience. We went up the mountainside in 3 different locations, each offering a different yet wonderful view of the island! Seeing the cannons from WWII was pretty interesting.
The rain subsided, and we had a most entertaining safari!! We circled the entire island, which helped us get an even better feel for Bora Bora.
The excursion was to last 3 hours, but due to the rain and delay of 2 of the riders coming from a resort off the mainland, ours last closer to 4 hours. Even at that, we were sorry to have to say good bye to our excellent driver, Daniel! What a nice person! I recommend this adventure highly as a way of actually seeing the whole island up close as well capturing many pictures from above that you aren't going to get any other way!
Probably NOT a good idea for younger kids as the roads are VERY steep!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very beautiful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The trip on the main island is a really good experience. It is interesting to see how the locals live on Bora Bora with their culture. It is something different from the usual hotel days, so I would advise everyone to take this trip. The views from the mountains are truly beautiful, when you see them, you understand why people call this place a paradise!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great guided tour by Joe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed both the tours perspective and our guide Joe's comentary. He was the best guide we had during our stay on Bora Bora. The tour offered mind blowing views, steep trails, historical context, and a good look into Polynesian culture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vavau 4x4 Adventures also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Vavau 4x4 Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vavau 4x4 Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.