We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it a paradise?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Blue Heaven Island to your Saves list
Blue Heaven Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Motu Paahi Faanui, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Berlin, Germany
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Is it a paradise?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent 14 nights in Blue Heaven Island. The focus of this review is trying to use facts, not trying to bring any emotions into it.

PRICE: The price per night for two persons is CFP 24000 / € 201. That does not include any of the meals or transports to the airport from which a ferry leaves to the main island. There is no possibility to purchase any food on the motu and you are not allowed to cook in the kitchen anyway. Full board would be CFP 6 500/ € 54 per person (breakfast CFP 1500, lunch CFP 2000, dinner CFP 3000). Transfers to the airport to reach the main island are CFP 2000 return. The entire price for the nights has to be paid in advance, which is very unusual.

BUNGALOWS: The bungalows are very basic and old. They are not spacious like to be read in other reviews. They are open, so mosquitos can come in, and dark, no air conditioning. The electricity is a bit unstable, so the lights flicker from time to time. The mirror in the bungalow we stayed in was blurry. The showers of all bungalows are kind of rusty. The water in the shower and the sink is salty, because it is from a well and not, like on other motus, from the main island.

CLEANINESS: There is no housekeeping on Blue Heaven Island. We did not have a cleaning or new bed-linen for the entire time. You also cannot flush the toilette paper in the bowl; there is a basket next to it.

MOSQUITOS: There are a lot of mosquitos on the motu, there is no spraying like everywhere else and the candles do not help a lot.

FOOD: The food is highly overpriced, even for Bora Bora!
There is a breakfast with defrosted baguette, butter, jam, nutella and honey on request. You will get instant coffee (with milk powder) or tea and juice. Fruits come on request again if there are any. There is no cheese or ham, etc.
Lunch is usually based on the leftovers from the night before. Water is free of charge.
Dinner varies, on Monique’s and Elie’s choice (the owner and manager), between one and three courses. You could just have a pasta dish or get a tuna steak with entrée and dessert. Since Monique is American and Elie French, there is no traditional Polynesian cooking. Since they are not trained chefs, the meals are average at max. and so the price of CFP 3000 per person is disproportionate. Beverages are not included in that price.

BEACH AND LAGOON: The property is nicely located right across another motu with a lot of coconut palms. The beach consists of nice coarse grained sand. It is usually cleaned every morning. Four of the seven beach loungers are broken.
There is free snorkeling equipment, but it is recommended to bring your own. The kayaks are in a proper shape and are also free of charge.
The lagoon is beautiful. You have the coral garden right in front of you and the snorkeling is nice in there. There are boats which bring other tourists to snorkel there.

CONCLUSION: This self-called “family pension” is highly overpriced. There are better placed at a lower price on the main island or of course in other places on the Society Islands.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Atwood, Kansas, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I can not say enough good about Blue Heaven and its hosts, Monique and Elie. They are beautiful people who live in paradise. My husband and I travelled through many islands in French Polynesia, always staying at pensions. bLUe HEAVEN was the most beautiful, secluded and unique place we found. We choose pensions over hotels and resorts because at a pension, particularly this one, you feel the rythmn of the island, while at resorts, you feel a displaced Americanized vibe. The food that monique and elie prepared was delicious-----fresh red tuna, lightly seared in seseme seeds....bananas flombay...coconut milk infused fish...yum, yum, yum! The beds were plush. The snorkeling was unbelieveable! Nowwhere in French Polynesia will you find better FREe, self-guided snorkling. The island sits between the big water and the lagoon, so there is a nice current running in front of the place. All you have to do is get in, let the water guide you and observe the amazing corral and fish. I also became scuba certified while staying there because elie and monique had the hook up with an instructor. When i got certified, elie and monique made a big deal of it, opened wine and made me feel very special! I truly feel like i made a couple of friends and when---not if----i return, i will stay at no other place in French Polynesia than with elie and monique.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcon, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days with Elie and Topuna (his nice dog) in this pension, on its wonderful motu, surrounded by a superb coral garden.
The bungalow were simple but extremely refined, clean and spacious.
It was a pleasure watching Elie while cooking, ad expecially eat its dishes, simple and tasty. We really felt like at home :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

It's not the Intercontinental and that's why it's FABLOUS! Ellie is AMAZING and so is his cooking, he makes you feel so welcome. The place is trully like a dream come true! 5 rustic bungalows shadded by palm trees with a peak of the ocean with sweet touches like Ellie's original art works and ocean tresures perfectly placed throughout the rooms and communial areas. The coral beach to lounge, free kayaks, and FANTASTIC snorkling right out front could keep you entertained for weeks. Would be a great place to take families also.
IT'S JUST WHAT I IMAGINED PARADISE TO BE LIKE! Thank you Ellie much love Zoe & Mark.

Room Tip: The rooms don't sparkle you may have seen the comments on shower fittings and soap holders will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I made a quick overnight stop at Blue Heaven Island, and were very happy we did. What sold us on making a reservation was the free boat transfer to and from the airport. However, after arriving we had lots of other reasons to be happy.

Blue Heaven isn't a 5-star resort with marble bathrooms and big-screen TVs. If you want luxury, there are plenty of resorts on Bora Bora that will take (lots of) your money. However, if you are happy enough with the basics and a nice clean room, then this is a nice peaceful place to relax on the beach, go snorkeling, and get away from it all.

While we usually stay in higher-end resorts, Florence and Damien proved to us that the people matter just as much as the amenities. Within minutes, we felt like we were visiting good friends.

We enjoyed a delicious barbecue dinner prepared by Damien, and a wonderful breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. A morning snorkeling excursion was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were surprised that we were met by Damien and Florence at the airport and further surprised to hear that neither Elie nor Monique would be on the island ... and that we were the only two guests ! Having said that Florence is a good cook and Damien was good with the practical side of things.
The island is very small and there were only about six people in total (two locals who also lived on the island, Florence, Damien and us) so the experience was very different to what we expected.
Also, as the shuttle boat was only insured for trips to and from the airport (where you can get the Air Tahiti shuttle to the island) trips to the main island are very difficult. The alternative is to take a 'round the island' day trip, which includes lunch. Neither of these options appealed !
As there are no restaurants or bars on Blue Heaven Island the only option is to eat all meals 'at home'.
Whilst it is very isolated, Blue Heaven Island has a very good beach and great snorkelling, which is close to the shore. All the equipment you need is provided as are kayaks.
There are also loungers on the beach, although some of these are showing signs of wear and the backs have to be propped up with pieces of wood ! The cushions however are very comfortable.
The main problem with Blue Heaven Island is the quality of the accommodation. Although the website describes the bungalows as 'quaint' and 'cosy', they are in reality very basic and well below the standard of the other bungalows that we stayed in on small islands in French Polynesia.
The main problem appeared to be lack of maintenance. The shower head was dirty and rusty, the soap dish was broken, the toiletries consisted of just a large bar of soap !
The lighting was one single compact fluorescent and a table lamp (there was another wall light but it didn't work because, we were told, there was no light fitting in it !) The outside light didn't work.
The ceiling fan was rusty, there was a leak in the roof and the mosquito mesh was missing above the door.
When we complained about the bungalow we were offered a second bungalow but this also had the same kind of problems.
In summary the location of Blue Heaven Island is really lovely. If the accommodation was up to scratch then, and only if you don't mind the isolation, it could be the perfect holiday location.
My view however is that, considering the standard of the bungalows, even at Bora Bora prices, it is significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our first time to Bora Bora We spent 4 nights at this peaceful retreat February 2012. Elie and Monique allow an experience that you create. We discovered the location right here on the web and tripadviser . All the reviews are correct ... except the mosquitoes -- not much anywhere --but we are Canadians. Be aware of the falling coconuts - if you seen the movie cast away you will know what we mean. Just it do it you will have a jamm'n time ..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heaven Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Island

Address: Motu Paahi Faanui, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heaven Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest quarters are tucked away between Palm trees. Every room on the island is just steps away from the beach. Each quarter is the essence of simple island living. The cozy bungalows are made of indigenous bamboo and equipped with all the amenities for a comfortable stay, including private bathrooms, large closets, and ceiling fans. Our installation run on solar energy (photovoltaic roofs and solar water-heater) and the water system is feed with a well and rain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Heaven Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heaven Island Hotel Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.