We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An heaven inside a paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven Island

Save Saved
You added Blue Heaven Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Venere.com
Blue Heaven Island
Motu Paahi Faanui, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Bora Bora
Marcon, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An heaven inside a paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days with Elie and Topuna (his nice dog) in this pension, on its wonderful motu, surrounded by a superb coral garden.
The bungalow were simple but extremely refined, clean and spacious.
It was a pleasure watching Elie while cooking, ad expecially eat its dishes, simple and tasty. We really felt like at home :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

It's not the Intercontinental and that's why it's FABLOUS! Ellie is AMAZING and so is his cooking, he makes you feel so welcome. The place is trully like a dream come true! 5 rustic bungalows shadded by palm trees with a peak of the ocean with sweet touches like Ellie's original art works and ocean tresures perfectly placed throughout the rooms and communial areas. The coral beach to lounge, free kayaks, and FANTASTIC snorkling right out front could keep you entertained for weeks. Would be a great place to take families also.
IT'S JUST WHAT I IMAGINED PARADISE TO BE LIKE! Thank you Ellie much love Zoe & Mark.

Room Tip: The rooms don't sparkle you may have seen the comments on shower fittings and soap holders will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I made a quick overnight stop at Blue Heaven Island, and were very happy we did. What sold us on making a reservation was the free boat transfer to and from the airport. However, after arriving we had lots of other reasons to be happy.

Blue Heaven isn't a 5-star resort with marble bathrooms and big-screen TVs. If you want luxury, there are plenty of resorts on Bora Bora that will take (lots of) your money. However, if you are happy enough with the basics and a nice clean room, then this is a nice peaceful place to relax on the beach, go snorkeling, and get away from it all.

While we usually stay in higher-end resorts, Florence and Damien proved to us that the people matter just as much as the amenities. Within minutes, we felt like we were visiting good friends.

We enjoyed a delicious barbecue dinner prepared by Damien, and a wonderful breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. A morning snorkeling excursion was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were surprised that we were met by Damien and Florence at the airport and further surprised to hear that neither Elie nor Monique would be on the island ... and that we were the only two guests ! Having said that Florence is a good cook and Damien was good with the practical side of things.
The island is very small and there were only about six people in total (two locals who also lived on the island, Florence, Damien and us) so the experience was very different to what we expected.
Also, as the shuttle boat was only insured for trips to and from the airport (where you can get the Air Tahiti shuttle to the island) trips to the main island are very difficult. The alternative is to take a 'round the island' day trip, which includes lunch. Neither of these options appealed !
As there are no restaurants or bars on Blue Heaven Island the only option is to eat all meals 'at home'.
Whilst it is very isolated, Blue Heaven Island has a very good beach and great snorkelling, which is close to the shore. All the equipment you need is provided as are kayaks.
There are also loungers on the beach, although some of these are showing signs of wear and the backs have to be propped up with pieces of wood ! The cushions however are very comfortable.
The main problem with Blue Heaven Island is the quality of the accommodation. Although the website describes the bungalows as 'quaint' and 'cosy', they are in reality very basic and well below the standard of the other bungalows that we stayed in on small islands in French Polynesia.
The main problem appeared to be lack of maintenance. The shower head was dirty and rusty, the soap dish was broken, the toiletries consisted of just a large bar of soap !
The lighting was one single compact fluorescent and a table lamp (there was another wall light but it didn't work because, we were told, there was no light fitting in it !) The outside light didn't work.
The ceiling fan was rusty, there was a leak in the roof and the mosquito mesh was missing above the door.
When we complained about the bungalow we were offered a second bungalow but this also had the same kind of problems.
In summary the location of Blue Heaven Island is really lovely. If the accommodation was up to scratch then, and only if you don't mind the isolation, it could be the perfect holiday location.
My view however is that, considering the standard of the bungalows, even at Bora Bora prices, it is significantly overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our first time to Bora Bora We spent 4 nights at this peaceful retreat February 2012. Elie and Monique allow an experience that you create. We discovered the location right here on the web and tripadviser . All the reviews are correct ... except the mosquitoes -- not much anywhere --but we are Canadians. Be aware of the falling coconuts - if you seen the movie cast away you will know what we mean. Just it do it you will have a jamm'n time ..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We travelled for 75 days around the world, and found this place very special. Fresh fish from the fisherman to be served. Elie and Monique was very friendly, and they showed us places to go snorkling near the reef. Beautiful evenings in quiet surroundings. If you like to be for yourself some days, this is the place. We stayed for 3 nights, and travelled to Easter Island and Peru afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Me and my boyfriend spent 4 nights at Elie's Blue Heaven Island. Elie is such an outgoing character and he'll sure make you laugh during lunch and dinner by telling some interesting stories about his life. The bungalows are in the garden and you walk maximum 10-20m and you are by the shore. This motu doesn't really have the white sandy beaches, but instead incredible corall life which is great if you love to snorkel. We had great food that Elie cooked each night (chicken, lagoon fish and beef)- it wasn't local, but we enjoyed that since we'd had so much seafood already (been to other islands 18 days).

The only negative this about this place is the mosquitoes. This is however very common in French Polynesia and Elie seems to be doing everything that he can to decrease the amount of mosquitoes surrounding the bungalows and kitchen.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heaven Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Island

Also Known As:
Blue Heaven Island Hotel Bora Bora
Blue Heaven Island Hotel
Address: Motu Paahi Faanui, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest quarters are tucked away between Palm trees. Every room on the island is just steps away from the beach. Each quarter is the essence of simple island living. The cozy bungalows are made of indigenous bamboo and equipped with all the amenities for a comfortable stay, including private bathrooms, large closets, and ceiling fans. Our installation run on solar energy (photovoltaic roofs and solar water-heater) and the water system is feed with a well and rain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Blue Heaven Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.